We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great setting, food, service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tango Bar & Kjokken

Tango Bar & Kjokken
Ranked #13 of 185 Restaurants in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $37 - $149
Cuisines: European, Scandinavian, Norwegian, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great setting, food, service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

We have received a very nice welcome and as the restaurant had no more tables in the shade downstairs we got welcomed at the top floor. We had a beautiful view over the harbour of Stavanger and had a great experience. The meal, can recommend Ceviche av Laks, was delicious, the ambiance very pleasant and a friendly waiter who could recommend us some dishes we were very satisfied with.
Overall we had a wonderful lunch.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Noa-Schmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    63
    30
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Decent food but too pricey.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Food is okay but very small portions and it's expensive. Was not too impressed. Service was poor and the waiter was arrogant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor service - good food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014

When dining at Tango July 2014 we recieved poor service. The waitor was arrogant, did not ask us once if we liked the food and did not let us taste the wine before pouring it. He also made comments like "Should I just present the menu to you now, so we can get it over with?".

In addition we, a couple in our mid-twenties, were systematichally given less attention and poorer service than the older couple sitting right next to us who was served by the same waitor and who had the exact same menu as us.

It is a shame that a lousy waitor overshadowed the good food - aspecially since we have recieved much better service when being served by the Restaurant Manager on previous occasions.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelling_Siddis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good but small portions food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

I noticed that some other reviews said that for the portion size it should be Michelin star and I agree, food was great but portions too small for what you pay. A friend of mine of who isn't so worried about money ordered another meal as soon as he could after receiving the first.

We sat on the roof terrace which is the best place in Stavanger to sit in my opinion. On a hot day the view is excellent. The seating could be a bit better and more comfortable. The staff were nice, next opportunity I will go back, but not for food, just drinks.

Helpful?
1 Thank NeilGolspie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tango 4ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

It takes a lot to impress a snobby food freak.. But I must say, Tango is my first choice restaurant when eating out in Stavanger. The food is spectacular and always at its best! The selected wines are most amazing! I love this place, the attitude and the fact that the crew creates an experience you will never forget. Respect!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Tottlemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tango Bar & Kjokken also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Tango Bar & Kjokken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing