We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Reasonably Priced”
Review of Myhregaarden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Myhregaarden Hotel
Ranked #13 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Considering how horrendously expensive everything in Norway is, the price of the Myhregaarden Hotel was a pleasant surprise. The location directly in the center of town next to the old town is great, though there isn't a harbor view. The room was nicely furnished, including a fireplace, but rather small. The bathroom was especially tight, though stil nice. There was almost no room to stand between the sink and the shower, and the shower had no surface or holder for shampoo and toilietries, which meant I had to place them on the floor of the very narrow shower. It's good that I'm not fat or I would have had a real problem. The other minor irritant was the bathroom door that had a closing mechanism that kept it from staying open, even if you wanted it open. Otherwise, the room and the hotel were quite nice for the price, and breakfast was also good. The bed and pillows were very comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel, though the double room would have been somewhat cramped for two people. It was barely large enough for one.

Room Tip: Any floor but the top (5), which requires taking the elevator to the 4th floor and then walking up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ExilAmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

141 - 147 of 346 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2012

Situated in a central position in Stavanger, the hotel looks pretty good. Staff at reception friendly. Somehow stylish, room was clean and big enough. Forniture seems recent. Wifi connection working fine and free. Breakfast ok with a wide range of choices. The price was reasonable, unfortunately Norway is quite expensive. Close to the Petroleum Museum (I suggest to visit) and to the ferries for trips in the fiords and visit the Pulpit Rock.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aurelio_marchesini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Room was not ready when we arrived (1730ish) had to wait for 1 more hour - Blood stains on the bed, holes in the door, lamp torn of the wall and not very clean. When we checked out the next morning they messed up and tried to do a double withdrawal from the creditcard.

Not impressed at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weluv2travel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

There was no airconditioning, so the windows had to be open and the sound from the street was extremely loud and made it impossible to sleep longer than 6:45 AM.
The staff could not help with timetable for the bus to the airport. Instead they suggested that we should go out in the street in good time, and "there would probably be a bus eventually."
The breakfast restaurant was quite amateurish and we ended up buying breakfast across the street.
The hotel is quite overprized.
I would not recommend it although the room was clean.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlfBrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Nice hotel rooms very spacious with great beds , some rooms have a balcony but not a lot of them. Very clean and the bathroom is very good, The hotel is right in the middle of the town and you can walk to most places in 5-10 minutes, car parking is at the bottom of the road in a multi storey car park.

Braekfast is really nice with lots of hot and cold options , cereal , eggs, fruit, bread, cheese etc.

Overall a very good hotel in Stavanger well located and very comfortable.

I wil use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a Balcony if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve061162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

We almost decided to pass staying in Stavanger, as we could not find a hotel we liked. The Myhregaarden had some mixed reviews on Tripadvisor and other websites, but still stood out as the best choice. By booking a business double room with a fireplace, we were hoping we would not get one of the rooms facing the humming exhaust fans in the back of the building. As it turned out, we had a large and beautiful fourth-floor room facing the small square in front of the hotel. It was well appointed, although we could not make the gas fireplace work (maybe this is not envisaged during the summer months). The room was complemented by a very spacious and warmly-lit bathroom. The wireless Internet was free and worked well.

Breakfast was a bit disappointing. It was just plain vanilla and boring, nothing special, with limited choices. Since the Myhregaarden is a boutique hotel, it may want to distinguish itself even more from other hotels in town by making the breakfast more of an experience.

The hotel is centrally located, with easy access to shopping, bars and restaurants, and the ferry terminal. One of our concerns was parking, but since we stayed for two weekend nights, we could park for free after 4 pm on Saturday. To this end, one Tripadvisor forum participant had recommended the Røde Sjøhus parking lot near the oil museum, which was a good option, and we later found similar parking near the St. Petri church, a two-minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SGECHAMPION
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myhregaarden, General Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear SGECHAMPION
Thank you for your review of Mayhregaarden hotel. I am glad to hear that you had a great time staying at our hotel.
Regarding the breakfast. We are working constantly to improve the selection and quality. We are happy for all feedback that we can use to be bether.

Best regards
Christoffer Bugge Aase
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

One thing I have learned from my trip to Stavanger is that the city doesn’t have that many hotels and they are all 4 stars and below. So, if you are on a trip to Stavanger, you should know that it will be very difficult to find a good hotel there. I was there for two nights on a business trip and after some research, which didn’t take a long time!, me and my colleagues decided to stay at the Myhregaarden Hotel. Just like the rest of the hotels in the town, it was expensive and I thought it wasn’t justified..but now and considering that the country itself is expensive and considering the small number of hotels in the city, I can see why it was expensive.
Things I liked about the hotel:
• Location: it was in the center of town where everything is pretty much a walking distance from the hotel.
• Staff: Very friendly including their General Manager, who happened to be to the son of the owning family.
• Bathroom: Very spacious with good selection of nice toiletries.
• Free internet and fast.
Things I didn’t like about the hotel:
• Room: Was soulless. Bed was somehow comfortable but it wasn’t an actual double bed, it was two small beds or mattresses next to each other. That wasn’t convenient for me. There was no safety box in the room, which I found very strange.
General comments:
• Breakfast had reasonable selection but it can improve.
• Lobby was very small..actually, the lobby is just an entrance area with a front desk. I didn’t mind that..but if you are one of those travelers who like big hotels with large lobby areas, this is not the hotel for you.
Conclusion:
Again, considering the limited choices in Stavanger, I believe this is the best choice in the city. I really can’t understand why there are no big chain hotels in the city except for Radisson…the city is the hub of the oil industry in Norway!
Anyways, as previously mentioned, this is the best choice in the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nawafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myhregaarden, General Manager at Myhregaarden Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear nawafe,
That you for your review of Myhregaarden hotel.
It am happy to read that you in general are happy with your stay here. As mentioned before in review we are constantly working to improve our brakfast quality and selection.

Hotel prices is lower in weekends and hollidays. So if you do not need to visit Stavanger in the weeks I absolutly recommand you to stay here in weekends/hollidays.

Best regards
Christoffer Bugge Aase
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
490 reviews
0 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 27 in Stavanger
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 27 in Stavanger
651 reviews
2.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
663 reviews
1.6 mi away
First Hotel Alstor
First Hotel Alstor
#16 of 27 in Stavanger
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Myhregaarden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Myhregaarden Hotel

Address: Nygata 24, Stavanger 4006, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range: $100 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Myhregaarden Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Myhregaarden Hotel Stavanger. This new hotel opened 24th August 2008. Myhregaarden Hotel Stavanger is situated in a quiet part of the city centre. Perfect for shopping, business and night life. The distance to the nearest shopping centre or shopping street is 50 metres. It is the newest hotel in Stavanger and is built in a Boutique style filled with design furniture and every room has its own fireplace! All rooms are business class or junior suites. Iron, free pay-tv and a large minibar are included in every room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Myhregaarden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Myhregaarden Hotel Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing