We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (198)
Filter reviews
198 results
Traveler rating
32
81
57
14
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
81
57
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews city centre the bus pleasant stay reasonable hotel low cost single room rooms are basic hotel is located yogurt stayed here for nights hospital babies mums norway annex rates hike
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 198 reviews
Reviewed March 28, 2017

I was on vacation in Stavanger last summer and my girlfriend booked this hotel for us long in advance. It was good value for money in a country where everything is quite expensive. So, we said, why not, it could be a good deal! Unfortunately, we had a bad experience, from the staff at the check-in, too busy for other things rather than receiving / welcoming arriving guests, to the rooms that were not real hotel rooms; but rather former hotel bed transformed into a hotel bed. Not nice at all! We two mini bed as a couple in a place we wanted to catch up and spend a good time. This part ruined my holiday and I wasn't satisfied at all. I would recommend to look for another hotel, it's better to pay more than to miss your holiday unless you are really on a budget. Good thing is breakfast was included. Hope this helps

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lesaint81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Daglig leder at St. Svithun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to give us feedbak, sad to hear that your stay did not live up to the expecatations. We will strive to improve on the level of service that you comment upon for future visits.

Have a great summer.

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2017

As mentioned by other reviewers, the hotel is part of the hospital and, indeed, is interconnected. Having previously worked in Health Care, I found it quite interesting to see how hospitals in Norway compared to those in Britain, and to be honest they looked pretty similar but then I only saw it superficially. Anyway, I'm not writing a review here for the Good Hospital Guide, so on to the hotel. I got a good deal here, about £216 for 4 nights single room including breakfast, which was very nice: buffet-style cold meats, cheese, scrambled egg, cereals. I hardly drink coffee but British breakfast tea is available, though you might have to ask for it specially. The room was fairly spacious, clean and comfortable, with a good shower and fridge. Perhaps I was lucky as I never heard the air ambulance at night and slept soundly. Walk into Stavanger is about 15 -30 min, depending on how fit you are. Bus stops are just outside the hotel/hospital and buses are very frequent, fares though reflect the high prices here - 55 NOK (about £5.50) single. Reception and staff were very friendly and helpful. There is a gift shop type facility in the lobby. Also, you can buy sweets, hot dogs, ice cream etc, in a small 'cafe' area. The large cafe where you eat breakfast doubles up later to buy snacks/lunch and evening meals. All in all definitely recommended, very good value for a very expensive (though very likeable) country.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markymole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Daglig leder at St. Svithun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

dear Guest

Thank you for an informative feedback, happy to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our concept interesting. Welcome back anytime

regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2016

Personnel was very positive and helpful, tasty breakfast, good bus connection from the centre. Bus to the airport stops right near the Hotel. Nice view on the helicopter parking place. Has a shop inside the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mazur_kostia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris P, Daglig leder at St. Svithun Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedbak and welcome back anytime

regards
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here by coincidence during ONS due to lack of alternatives, but was very happy by the choice. Primarily this is a hotel for visitors or relatives of patients of the hospital. Because of that the breakfast restaurant was full of newly born babies with their parents and grandparents, and personally I found that as a great contrast to the normal middle aged men in suit you normally join for breakfast. The rooms was simple but nice, the staff was very friendly and food ok.

Stayed: September 2016, traveled on business
Thank superto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The bathroom is big. The breakfast is hearty and tasty. The city centre is 30 minute away, you can go with bus for 5 minute. We tried dinner but didn't like it.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
Thank stanislava222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews