We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you just need a place to sleep and hold your stuff During the day then this is perfect.”
Review of St. Svithun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Svithun Hotel
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

Booked early in the year and was the cheapest hotel for 3 nights. Single bed with desk and a couple of chairs, tv, shower room with toilet and sink. I saw this room only at night and it was exactly what I needed. Great buffet breakfast with different eggs, meat and cheeses, breads, cereals, jucies and coffee. And a shop with essentials and hot snack foods like hotdogs and pizza slices, recommended after the pulpit rock walk!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iceanimal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (183)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

46 - 52 of 183 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is like many before me have mentioned a part of the Stavanger Central hospital. However, the rooms are ok and the hotel is nice and quiet, except for the lobby which is right next to a kiosk and the hospital's main entrance. Great service by the staff though! In other words, for business it's sufficient, for any other sort of trips, I'd recommend something else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were on the way for the Preikestolen hike, when we had to stay overnight in stavanger. We could get the only place to stay here (though very expensive). I must say that the hotel has nice rooms and scenic views outside. But coming from a very cheerful city like Bergen, we were depressed to see out hotel attached to a hospital. It was not very enthusiastic to watch patients all around with the disinfectant smell all around...

But, we got free breakfast which is by far the most impressive wide range of food items.

Apart from the hospital scene, very good rating for the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank priyam305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

After paying an exorbitant amount of money (even for Stavanger), the room was more like a student room. It was actually a converted hospital room. Reasonably roomy but very basic. So a Travelodge room for a Hilton price. It is a 5-10 minute taxi ride to the city, so that is another cost you should consider. Breakfast was OK, not awful, not great either. Altogether average. If I'd stayed at half the price it might have been considered OK, but where do they get off charging like a luxury hotel, and providing a very basic room and service.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Indulis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

Great for a short stay. First we were surprised that the hotel reception is also a hospital reception, however it was a pleasant stay with clean room. The breakfast was excellent and the small cafe next to the reception serves lovely snacks through the night.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HorizonOnMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Unbeknown to us we booked to stay in a hospital. First day having lunch, couldn't figure out exactly what type of hotel it was then the man swinging his colostomy bag around confirmed it!! And put us off our lunch. "Hotel" was in quite a poor location, there are no local bars, restaurants were quite a walk away. Obviously the hospital doesn't have a bar in it and cannot buy beer in Norway after 8pm or 6pm on Saturday. Public transport excellent with Stavanger town centre around 10/15 mins away. Rooms were clean but very minimalist with no drawers, tea/coffee making facilities or hair dryer etc. beds were comfy. Just beware of the the helipad located above the hospital too!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is quite central (just four stops away from Stavanger Sentrum). Rooms are nice. There is free wi-fi access but it doesn't really work well in the rooms (at least not in the one I was staying). It's annex to a hospital so don't be surprised to see a few patients coming down to the shop and especially a few super cute newly borns :) Shop downstairs is open 24/7.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Axel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.9 mi away
First Hotel Alstor
First Hotel Alstor
#16 of 27 in Stavanger
175 reviews
0.8 mi away
Stavanger lille Hotel
Stavanger lille Hotel
#23 of 27 in Stavanger
72 reviews
1.5 mi away
Skansen Hotel
Skansen Hotel
#26 of 27 in Stavanger
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Stavanger Hotel
1.3 mi away
Myhregaarden Hotel
Myhregaarden Hotel
#13 of 27 in Stavanger
346 reviews
1.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Svithun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Svithun Hotel

Address: G. Bloch Thorsens gate 8, Stavanger 4011, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range: $84 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Svithun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Svithun Hotel is a new hotel (2006) with 137 bright and modern rooms, where 15 of these are family rooms and rooms especially tailored for the disabled and allergic. All rooms have bath/toilet, cable TV and free Internet, fridge, telephone as well as a safety alarm connected to the reception. The shop LYST is open 24 hours a day and sells hot and cold take-away, gifts and magazines in addition to other kiosk commodities. The “Café Morgenrod” has all serving rights. The hotel is situated within a walking distance from the centre of Stavanger, from the idyllic lake of Mosvatnet and from the forest Valandskogen. The hotel is connected to the Stavanger University hospital. There are good parking possibilities and 150 m to nearest bus stop. St. Svithun Hotel is part of the group of hotels called Kronengruppen - a group of 7 different and unique hotels in Rogaland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your St. Svithun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing