We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not reliable”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Svithun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Svithun Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
vins100
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Not reliable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

We booked this hotel for a business trip which required me to be close to our meeting location. The day before our arrival we were informed that because of hospital constraints (they needed to have more beds):
"Sorry to inform you that we have to relocate your reservation with us tomorrow.
This due to our relations with Stavanger Hospital, who we share buildings with, and our obligation to host patients and their families."

We were transferred to a hotel that was 20 mn driving.

If you're ready to take the risk, this hotel might be good. Personaly, next time, I will not book with them.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank vins100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    67
    49
    9
    11
See reviews for
24
40
35
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
204 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Have until now stayed numerous times in Stavanger, but never in St. Svithun.
Finding the Hotel was a small challenge, as the GPS said that it was at/inside the Stavanger Hospital, which we were sure couldn't be right, but after searching for other options for 10 minutes we drove to the front of the Hospital, and there it was St. Svithun Hotel.
Have in mind if you go there by car, you need to drive arround the Hotel to get to the parking lot.
Checking in was also a small experience, there are 3 checkin counters 2 for the Hotel and 1 for the Hospital.
Rooms are very Hospital style, and beeds as well as bathroom comes with an alarm clock, where you can call for assistance.
Single rooms are pretty small and very basic.
Hotel restaurant is the hospital cafeteria, where they also serve the breakfast.

If you have relatives in the hospital, this is the perfect place to stay
If you're travelling and just need a place to stay/sleep, this is OK
If You're on holiday, you should look for another place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mortennielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

I was looking for a hostel like experience but with a private room, in the city center and thought that was what I was booking with this place based on the description. My private room was nice and clean however it was very very hot, no a.c. even though the description said there would be. The window only opened a crack to let a little cool air in but come 6 am it was too noisy outside to have it open. I thought that there would be a nice common area and bar like in most hostels but all there was was a lobby and expensive restaurant full of hospital patients. I realized when I booked it that it said there was a hospital attached, I didn't think I'd actually be sharing common areas, a hotel is suppose to be a hotel, not a hospital. The "close" walk to city center was actually 2 miles. There was nothing next to the hotel. There is a bus stop next to the hotel which was very helpful. We ended up renting a car and were surprised about having to pay for parking, there isn't any free parking around. This place was too expensive for what it was. I only recommend it in a pinch, if everything in town is sold out or way too expensive, otherwise avoid.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stavanger hotels

Spydeberg, Ostfold, Norway
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

hotel on the hospital? yes it does exist. at first we were not quite sure if the details was correct but when we got there it was really really beside on the hospital. First question that i asked on the receptionist was, is it safe to stay on the hotel? is there a risk for being infected? better safe than never..and yes it was safe to stay there. anyways, its the cheapest hotel we found and imagine, its NORWAY! nothing is cheap in this country. to make things short. Breakfast was good. Bathroom was good. Everything was good. Bus stop is ca. 3mins walk. overall, it was a pleasant stay in Stavanger. No disturbance from any ambulance sirens at all!.I will recommend this to my friends.

Room Tip: we stayed on room 324 and its quiet a good spot. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kc C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

The rooms are nice and quiet, quite high standard, good beds, everything looked pretty new, very clean bathroom... Not far from the center by bus, but get a three day pass, as each trip will cost 30nok and going by foot makes for a very boring and complicated 30-minute walk pretty much beside the freeway.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaxile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Yes, as everyone else is saying, it IS located alongside the hospital, which COULD possibly be a bit awkward to some people, but it didn't bother me. I was there as an outpatient when I lost my apartment and didn't have a new place to stay, and in the midst of it all, had a heart attack because of the stress, so when I was released, the nurses asked me to stay at the hospital for a few days so if I had another attack, I would be right there. I stayed there until I found a friend who would let me stay with him until I could make arrangements to move back home in California.

I found the stay rather nice. They do have free continental breakfast every morning, which makes the stay that much more worth it. The breakfast consists of cold cuts, slices of tomato, slices of "paprika" (that's what they call both red and green bell pepper), a choice of bread, butter or margarine, jelly, and they also have fruit wedges of watermelon, cantaloupe, and honeydew melon. You also have a choice of coffee, orange juice, apple juice, or just plain water to drink.

The breakfast is offered in the hotel's little café, before opening hours, which IS a bit pricey, so you'll want to make sure to be there before they close the breakfast line. You'll have to ask the desk clerk the hours, as it seemed to change from day to day while I was there.

If you miss the breakfast, you could either buy a sandwich and soda at the 24-hour hotel kiosk, or if you feel up for a little 5 minute walk, there's a Co-op Prix grocery store across the street from the hotel parking lot and to the right where you can buy some fresh foods to make your own meal (cold foods, though, as there's no kitchen facilities available).

There's also an Esso gas station a little further away (about another 5-minute walk further from Prix) that sells hamburgers, hot dogs, and other warm food at "reasonable prices", and I put that in quotes, because if you're traveling from the USA, you won't think they're reasonable, because everything in Norway cost so much more, but they ARE "the going rate" (for Norway). An example of how much you should expect to pay is for a hamburger, French fries, and Coke, medium menu, just about anywhere in Norway, it'll cost you about 110 Kroner, which in American money, is about $18.50.

This is probably not the best place to stay if you are driving, as some people have stated, for there IS a parking lot with plenty of parking spaces, but it's not free, and the hotel doesn't give validation for it. If you are on foot, or travel by bus, then it's not so bad.

There are two bus stops adjacent to the hospital/hotel. Straight out from the door (I think it's on the west end), is the number 11 bus, but I wouldn't recommend you take that one, as that'll just get you to the bus station, where you'll have to walk around a little lake to get into the heart of town. If you walk straight out from the door until you reach the crosswalk, and once you're on the sidewalk, turn to the left, you'll reach the number 4 bus, but to get to the one you want, you'll have to go under the underpass to get to the other side of the street, and turn to the left to get to that bus stop. That one will take you into the heart of town. If you are afraid of missing it, just ask the bus driver to let you know when you reach the Stavanger Stor Senter, otherwise known as Arkaden.

The hotel rooms are nice, neat, and clean. There's a small refrigerator, flat-screen TV, and free Internet. I would rather it have a swimming pool, but it doesn't. All in all, it's a nice place to stay if you just want a place to stay, but if you're looking for all the amenities of a five-star hotel, this ain't the place! It really ISN'T bad for the price, though.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fjord_fox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's a really nice hotel, with very friendly staff and well-organized service.
We booked a family room for 3 person but they hotel managed it more efficiently, changed room for us and saved us quite lot of money.
The living condition is very nice. Clean big room, with nice bath room. The breakfast is also very nice. It locates in a very quite area which is very comfortable if you need rest well.

If there is one thing that is not that perfect, it is only the hotel doesnt locate right in the old city center. But you can easily get there from the train station by bus 4. The bus staion locates right next to the 7-11near the staion and the bus stops right in front of the hospital and hotel.

My friends and I all enjoy the stay in the hotel. If I get the chance to visit Stavanger again, I will definitely stay there.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jas_Chen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alstor
Hotel Alstor
#15 of 28 in Stavanger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Stavanger Hotel
1.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 28 in Stavanger
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Myhregaarden Hotel
Myhregaarden Hotel
#14 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Svithun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Svithun Hotel

Property: St. Svithun Hotel
Address: G. Bloch Thorsens gate 8, Stavanger 4011, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Svithun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Svithun Hotel is a new hotel (2006) with 137 bright and modern rooms, where 15 of these are family rooms and rooms especially tailored for the disabled and allergic. All rooms have bath/toilet, cable TV and free Internet, fridge, telephone as well as a safety alarm connected to the reception. The shop LYST is open 24 hours a day and sells hot and cold take-away, gifts and magazines in addition to other kiosk commodities. The “Café Morgenrod” has all serving rights. The hotel is situated within a walking distance from the centre of Stavanger, from the idyllic lake of Mosvatnet and from the forest Valandskogen. The hotel is connected to the Stavanger University hospital. There are good parking possibilities and 150 m to nearest bus stop. St. Svithun Hotel is part of the group of hotels called Kronengruppen - a group of 7 different and unique hotels in Rogaland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Svithun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing