We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They charged me double rent!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of St. Svithun Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
St. Svithun Hotel
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Beijing, China
1 review
“They charged me double rent!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

Very trickily, they saild they gave money to my visa card instead of charging it when I paid the room charge. I felt strange and ased they to make sure. They rudely said they were sure about it then charge me double rent.
After left this annoying hotel, I found my Visa card was double charged but without any income. I was so worried about it because I was just travelling by, so I made phone calls and sent them emails. But they replied very slowly with very arrogant attitude and they did not show any sorry for me! At first,they just did not want to admit their fault! This incident made me really angry and it ruined all my trip!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimer l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    67
    49
    9
    11
See reviews for
24
40
35
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2011

Essentially a UK style Travelodge, situated right next to the town hospital, about 20 minutes brisk walk from the centre of Stavanger. It is well served by public transport. (N.B. UK Travelodges are somewhat different from their namesake in North America)

This basic hotel was clean and quiet. My single room was simply furnished but entirely functional and overlooked the adjacent hospital car park. There was a small shower room with a great shower.

Free Wi-Fi. The only staff I saw was the receptionist who was very friendly and helpful. I paid £189 but that was a very last minute deal. That was dear, but everything in Norway is.

The hotel lobby is shared with the hospital entrance so the shop and restaurant are probably used by hospital staff, patients and visitors. I didn’t get a chance to eat in the restaurant but the breakfast buffet looked very good with a good selection of a typical Norwegian breakfast.

No room service or any of the trappings you would expect to find in traditional hotels.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bonus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

I'm a repeat guest at the St Svithun - if I can't get a hotel in the very centre of Stavanger - I prefer to stay here.
As you would expect -the place is spotless
The food in the restaurant is good and a bit more varied than traditional hotels
There is a fridge in the room (I don't think it is meant to be a mini-bar, despite others' ideas)
If you want to simply have a sandwich instead of a full meal - the reception has a good selection.
Wi Fi cover has been good

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliGEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen op Zoom, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
114 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2011

As all hotels were fully booked for the week I had to stay in Stavanger I found this hotel. Did not have a clue that it was part of a hospital that is on the left of the building. Rooms are quite sober and not worth the USD 266,00 I have to pay per night. Next door is a distribution center so if you sleep like me with the windows a little bit open be assured that at 4 o'clock in the morning you will hear a lot of noise. One morning more than the other but still very annoying.
All in all I will not easily return to this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjalok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2011

My husband had a sudden business trip to Stavanger and the room at St Svithuns really seemed to be the last hotel room in the city. Having read the reviews I was slightly concerned, but it really wasn't anywhere near as bad as some reviewers have suggested. Firstly, no there isn't room service - this is a basic hotel and you wouldn't expect room service in an Ibis or Travel Lodge and you won't get it here. But there are two cafe/food outlets immediately at the hotel entrance and one is 24 hrs - so it really won't kill you to take the lift down will it? If you want frills, you need to stay at one of the corporate hotels right in town like the Radisson. But it will cost you ....
The room we had was spotlessly clean with a good shower and an extremely comfortable bed with individual quilts, continental style. It is very basic and I would not want to spend a fortnight there - but perfectly adequate for a night or two. Ladies, take your own hairdryer and those who want a hot drink in the room might think about taking a travel kettle. And you will need to take your own shampoo and soap - although there are soap dispensers at the basin and shower. The rooms are warm, have an opening window and temperature controls to adjust the heat. Oh yes, the minibar - it isn't a minibar, it is a mini fridge. So keep your cold drinks or your packed lunch or whatever in it. And did you really go to visit Norway to watch TV? There is a perfectly adequate TV - but I am not sure why you go to a beautiful country to watch telly .......!

You don't see people on drips or in dressing gowns in the corridors of the hotel - that is complete nonsense. The hospital covers a huge area of Norway - it is the university hospital so patients travel some considerable distances to get there. Some of the patients in for tests or recovering from treatment and new parents and their families obviously have the option to stay at the hotel for a few days as it is probably too far for them to travel home each day. But the majority of people we saw were either business travellers or tourists.

The hotel is actually very easy to find - right at the side of the hospital and well marked. Reception is immediately inside the door and, again, well signed. The reception staff were not particularly great - but not terrible either. And we were right by the helipad - one helicopter went out and came back which was hardly a drama and we certainly didn't have a disturbed night as a result.

If you are coming from the airport, there is a bus into the centre - ask for the bus terminal. It will cost you 95NOK (about £10) single. Then the no 4 bus leaves from stand 8 just round the corner. Either ring the bell once you go into the tunnel or ask the driver to put you off at the hospital. This bit costs 28NOK single (about £3). The return bus goes from opposite and there is an underpass. The reception desk has timetables or ask for an English version in the bus station.

The cafe downstairs is where you have an extremely good breakfast - buffet style with plenty of choice. Again, it isn't a corporate place - but quiet, attractive and clean.

Stavanger is, I am told, one of the most expensive cities in the world - so the cost of a hotel, even a basic one, is considerable. Food is also eye wateringly expensive. But I am afraid if you want to go to Norway, you have to accept the cost. We had a good night's sleep, a hot and powerful shower in the morning and a good healthy breakfast - what more did we need for a short stay? We have stayed in a huge variety of hotels all over the world - and this one certainly wasn't remotely the worst. We've been far less comfortable in some much more expensive and supposedly upmarket hotels than this one.

Room Tip: I think you take what you get with this one. Take earplugs if you are going to be neurotic about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rotor1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

If you're the kind of person who loves being at hospitals and like the steril and clean look of hospital rooms then this is the hotel for you. However, if you want a real hotel; look elsewhere.

In short:
+ The beds were OK, but nothing special.
+ Very clean.
- The minibar was empty.
- The TV in the room was horrible and tiny.
- The room looked sterile. White walls/light brown.
- Roomservice is non-existant.
- The staff was not unfriendly, but not wery helpful either.
- Bad wireless internet.
- Cold room. All heating was turned off when I arrived. I estimate temp. was about 13 C.
- Food was nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stavanger hotels

Torino
Level Contributor
129 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

The “hostel” is located inside the University hospital, 20 minutes walking from the city centre, 30 minutes from the boat terminal; our double room was modern, clean and spacious with private bath, towels, tv and minibar.
Above reasons allow me to say that I get a 4 stars service at the same rate of a Norway hostel: I paid 2265.75 NOK for 3 nights with buffet breakfast included.

Room Tip: if possible no rooms in front of the hospital heliport
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ugo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Alstor
Hotel Alstor
#15 of 28 in Stavanger
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Stavanger Hotel
1.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 28 in Stavanger
5.0 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
0.9 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#5 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Myhregaarden Hotel
Myhregaarden Hotel
#12 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. Svithun Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. Svithun Hotel

Property: St. Svithun Hotel
Address: G. Bloch Thorsens gate 8, Stavanger 4011, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — St. Svithun Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Svithun Hotel is a new hotel (2006) with 137 bright and modern rooms, where 15 of these are family rooms and rooms especially tailored for the disabled and allergic. All rooms have bath/toilet, cable TV and free Internet, fridge, telephone as well as a safety alarm connected to the reception. The shop LYST is open 24 hours a day and sells hot and cold take-away, gifts and magazines in addition to other kiosk commodities. The “Café Morgenrod” has all serving rights. The hotel is situated within a walking distance from the centre of Stavanger, from the idyllic lake of Mosvatnet and from the forest Valandskogen. The hotel is connected to the Stavanger University hospital. There are good parking possibilities and 150 m to nearest bus stop. St. Svithun Hotel is part of the group of hotels called Kronengruppen - a group of 7 different and unique hotels in Rogaland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your St. Svithun Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing