We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wouldnt think that could exist in 2014a place like this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Stavanger Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 12 Stavanger B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

First of all is not a B&B but an hostel disguised by B&B.
I couldnt belive that in 2014 in a non third world country exist a place where u pay 100€ for a Room whitout the toilet and whit walls room and doors like paper where u can hear even the breath of your neighbour!!
I can understand that the norvegian level of hotel is very low at very high price but this merits the prize of the first rank!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Alkadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiebke E, Manager at Stavanger Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2014

Hello,

we are so unhappy to hear that you did not like our beautiful B&B .
We always try to make everyone happy, but this time it seems we failed.

I know that norwegian prices are higher than the normal european rate, but for Stavanger and Norway , believe us we are one of the low-bugdet hotels and we are fighting hard for keeping our prices low.

You are right , we do not have toilets in the room. And we inform our guests about this fact on every reservation. But i garantie the toilets are cleaned several times a day. We do also renovated all the toilets in 2013.

Yes the thin walls. We are lucky to be located in stavanger centrum, but to be still in a very quite area. So our B&B is a normal and typical norwegian house, which for us brings the special charme :-)

We do take all our priority to offer you a good comfortable bed and a excellent breakfast.

And did you tried our Waffles ? :-)

We are also the only hotel in Stavanger Centrum that offers a free parking.

Anyway, we would have loved to hear from your complaining earlier, maybe we could have arranged a room changing or we could made it up to you in a other way.

But maybe we get the chance one more time in the future, to prove you . We deserve to be loved by you :-)

All the best , the girls from Stavanger Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 161 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

Myself and a colleague of mine stayed here when we had to do some business in Stavanger. The people who run the place are really nice and pleasant and cannot do enough for you. The place is in a quiet road up from the main town centre, about 10 minutes walk. I would certainly recommend this B&B. I also agree weigh other reviewers, then waffles are great. Only unusually thing is having a shower but no toilet in your room, a minor issue though.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiebke E, Manager at Stavanger Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2014

Hello ! Thank you so much for your nice review. Really good to hear, that we do something good.

We are only a " Bed & Breakfast " so that is the reason our toilets are on the hallway.
But as you saw, we clean our toilets 3 times a day and we check them regular. They been also all renovated in 2013.

Hope to see you in 2014, we are renovating a bit more here :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

If you want to be near everything (bus/train terminal, decks to/from Bergen/Tau), to have a pleasant stay, a deep sleep at night in comfortable beds, a warm supper and a fabulous breakfast for a very reasonable price, this is your place, seriously.

The service they provide exceeded our expectation.
I truly recommend this place

Room Tip: Obviously, if your room is close to the bathroom you will hear the door maybe too much so, try to st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwinkyWonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights paying NOK890 per night for a room with double beds.

In summary, we are very satisfied with our stay and would highly recommend this place if you are looking for a decent, well-located place to stay - and the breakfast and afternoon pancakes are simply marvellous.

PROs:
1. Value - try looking around and you'll see how relatively expensive accommodation here is. This place offers really good value considering the location, comprehensive breakfast, and pancakes!

2. Location - Good, central location. You can walk practically anywhere in The city from here. This place is also very near the train/bus station if you're coming by bus/train.

3. Comprehensive breakfast - for a bed and breakfast, they really went out of their way to prepare a great breakfast - different types of bread, juices, various types of fishes in sauces, smoked salmon, bacon, black pudding, juices, fruits, tomatoes, cucumber, eggs, black and green olives, pancakes, oats. - see the pictures provided. There's certainly no lack of protein if you're into such things! This is by far the most comprehensive breakfast I have had in a bed and breakfast e ever.

4. Friendly staff - they were always willing to help and you genuinely feel that they meant it too. A special mention goes to Carmen, who helped us build an alternative itinerary a couple of times. For example, there was this one time where we were not sure what to do (as pulpit rock was closed) she was trying to explain a route to take and as it was quite complicated and difficult to explain, she actually offered to go with us.

5. Waffles and tea / coffee in the evening. Delicious and a nice touch, not many bed and breakfast would offer this.

6. Spacious, comfortable & quiet rooms. No problems sleeping.

7. No problems with hot water.

CONs:
Seriously, none.
Sent from my iPhone

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerantauDunia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The hotel itself was very cheap to book. The hotel overall is very nice and modern. It is a very nice and clean Bed and Breakfast. Overall we had a great time here and will be back soon! The staff were super friendly and very nice.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HONdominik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went on a whim to Stavanger from a neighboring area, and the TI downtown found that the Stavanger B&B had a room available. She called and reserved, and we drove right to it. Its an easy 10 minute walk down to the harbor. The building is quite well kept up. We were in a small double with shared toilet and shower facilities. Price was great. The help was very fine. They all spoke excellent English, and were able to answer all kinds of questions. They offered waffles at 9pm along with coffee, tea, juice, and water. Then the breakfast was great. Tons of options, lots of fish. We met a lovely German couple and we chatted with them for quite a while. Great stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ptmayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The website advertises cable TV but only 10 stations and mostly junk stations with no decent shows and no news. About 50% in Norwegian with Norwegian Subtitles so basically the TV advertisement is useless. The same with Wifi it does not reach the rooms. The staff say it does but it did not for me and many other guests.
Rooms small and not serviced during the stay. Nowhere to put suitcase. I really expected ensuit toilet and the lonelyplanet book does not make this clear.
Location and food good and staff friendly but could not fix the above problems when I complained last night. Just denied the problem. Eventually rang the boss
I did not compare prices so have no idea of value for money but it was a good location since we came by ferry and left by train.
The problems would be so easy to fix (apart from the toilets) and others were complaining so have no idea why they do not do it.
Anyway 2 more nights and I am just going to enjoy what it has.
Just do not believe what you read in future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JudyDavidosn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiebke E, Manager at Stavanger Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Hello,

we are sorry to hear that you did not enjoyed your stay at our B&B. We work very hard to improve our business and we are always open for tips to make our B&B better and better.

We tried to work on the problems your suggested.

We will try to find out, what the Lonleyplanet book advertise about us and we will contact them as soon as possible. Unfortunately those things are not in our hands, as we do not pay for any advertisment. We are sending with every email, that we are a Bed & Breakfast and we do only have shared toilet facilties.

We are the cheapest place in Stavanger. Many many years ago , we ask our guest for things they would like to change.
We decided to put our focus on breakfast and waffles. If we would change the TV, we would have to increase our prices. This is why we decided to leave our chanels. As our website advertises, we only have the cable TV. Which is the norwegian standard. To change to digital or satalit would increase the prices. And we might have to cancel the waffles :-(

As we are a bed & breakfast we change the beddings from our guest only weekly. We are changing towels every day if needed. ( we have little notes in every room ) This is also a factor, why we keep our prices low. If we would clean every room to 100% every day, we have to hire more staff and the prices are getting higher and higher.

We know that Stavanger is a expansive place, thats why our goal was always to offer a clean room, a good bed , and a richfull breakfast for a low price.

We offer WIFI in our public areas and we admit the we might have problems in the upper rooms. We informed a company now and we will have a new system. Thanks for the information about this.

Maybe we get the chance to meet at the B&B again, free Waffles for you :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
2.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
651 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alstor
Hotel Alstor
#15 of 27 in Stavanger
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#5 of 27 in Stavanger
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Stavanger Hotel
0.6 mi away
Skansen Hotel
Skansen Hotel
#26 of 27 in Stavanger
95 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Havly Hotell
Best Western Havly Hotell
#11 of 27 in Stavanger
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stavanger Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stavanger Bed & Breakfast

Address: Vikedalsgata 1A, Stavanger 4012, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Stavanger
Price Range: $65 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stavanger Bed and Breakfast ( B&B ) is a warm and friendly place to stay in the centre of Stavanger. We offer good quality, budget hotel accommodation for our guests.Free wireless internet access.Cable TV in every room.Comprehensive and tasty "home made" breakfast every morning. We'll make sandwiches for you to take with you for lunch. Norwegian style waffles served at the hotel every evening at 1930 or 0730 pm. Free parking. 7 minutes from downtown Stavanger, 523 meters from ferry to Pulpit Rock/Prekestolen. 4 minutes walk from train and bus and airport coach station. For selected guests we serve free dinners. This is very popular, be selected. Find out more . Helpful hotel staff .Come and feel home :-) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Stavanger Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stavanger Bed And Breakfast
Stavanger Hotel Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing