We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly atmosphere”
Review of The Irishman

The Irishman
Ranked #3 of 20 Nightlife in Stavanger
Attraction details
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

God location.
Hearty welcome.
(sometimes you might have to take cash as the credit card may not be operating)
But no problem

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank WileyCoyote2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great wee pub”
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Whenever I'm in Stavanger I usually end up in this wee pub. Its got an open fire, great Guinness and traditional Celtic music is usually playing. As with everywhere in Norway, the beer is expensive but that's the tax. Well worth seeking out.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank rxpell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes, Norway
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good athmosphere, excellent live music”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a place to spend an afternoon or evening with excellent Irish music and good friends

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank beinhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cozy pub”
Reviewed March 27, 2011

This is a nice pub to go to. It is unpretentious but not a dive. Always seems to be full of people from all edges of the earth. Plenty of character and a bit of an odd find.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank LowBrow_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pub”
Reviewed August 19, 2007

I popped into The Irishman after a recommendation by a Norwegian in the airport just after I arrived, and I wasn't disappointed. Its a lovely little building and has a great Irish feel to it. I got talking to the woman serving behind the bar (Dee) who as a Kerry native charmed me with her good humour and quick wit into staying there for the day. There is a lovely little courtyard outside if you want to get some fresh air and a nice Greek restaurant nextdoor that you can purchase your food and bring back to the pub! With a traditional band playing in the background I'm not sure what more anyone could possibly want!

Helpful?
9 Thank Johnneru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Irishman also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to The Irishman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing