We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deliscious meat place!”
Review of Fish & Cow

Fish & Cow
Ranked #31 of 195 Restaurants in Stavanger
Cuisines: Contemporary
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Deliscious meat place!”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The place to go if you want entrecote close to gourmet level. When you want really good food without having a 5 to 7 course gourmet evening. Just a normal 3-course but with really good food! All dishes are inspired and with creative touch. Far above average! And they have an excellent wine list as well. Same people who are behind Tango. But be aware; the place is a bit noisy.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oystein1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    116
    63
    36
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good restaurant, great location and nice menu - food could have been hotter”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We went to this restaurant with some clients. Its i a great location and offers a good choice menu. The service was great.

Our food was good, well presented, but I feel it could have been a little hotter - but all in all a good meal and I'm sure I will return when next in Stavanger.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TJB333333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
259 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch - a bit slow service”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Had a great lunch (shellfish risotto). Overall the food was great - although the service was a bit on the slow side (hence not the full 5-star rating). But yes I would eat there again.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank THN_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Too much noise but the staff was lovely”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

Too much noise for evening dinner. I had the fish with carrots which tasted like bacon. It was ok, not the most fantastic dish I had in my entire life however decent. The wine selection was broad and appreciated. The staff was nicely dressed, very cute that they are all mostly Swedish and guaranteed good service.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Expensive disappointment”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

I was excited in the spring to hear about a new restaurant opening in Stavanger. Checked it out on TripAdvisor but was disappointed to see the average reviews. Had since walked past and thought it looked nice and decided to check TripAdvisor again. Recent reviews were better and a friend also gave a good recommendation so decided to give it a try. Booked a table for 7pm and arrived to a busy restaurant with good atmosphere. Service was very nice but incredibly slow with our main dishes not arriving until 8pm (we didn’t have starters). The steak had been recommended so I had opted for the dry aged entrecote (465 NOK) and my boyfriend went to the dry aged sirloin (565 NOK). Steaks arrived, warm-ish and after another 5 minutes we got the side dishes. A small bowl of chips and a small bowl of chopped tomato and onion between us. Oh and an even smaller pot of béarnaise sauce, enough for maybe half of one portion. We wanted to ask for more sauce but we couldn’t get the attention of a server. Steaks were both extremely average and definitely not worth the cost. Stavanger is expensive to eat out but 565 NOK is pushing it even for Stavanger, especially for quite a fatty and small steak. Opted for the Norwegian cheese board after the main course which was nice but nothing to write home about. One redeeming feature - they had a good beer and wine selection. Despite this I doubt we will be returning for a second visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charliestar25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish & Cow also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Fish & Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing