We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cocktails and snacks”

Timbuktu Bar & Restaurant
Ranked #94 of 193 Restaurants in Stavanger
Price range: $15 - $110
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Timbuktu Restaurant The restaurant is an exotic oasis in Stavanger nightlife - in both design, interior decoration and menus. The restaurant on a mezzanine is both open and intimate at once. Our menu draws inspiration from several parts of the world, and sets the frame for a social and tasteful food experience.   Sharing: Our social concept for two or more guests together. We offer a menu that allows you to try our all our appetizers and starters, our main courses and all our desserts. You can put together the menu after your own preferences as well. The main courses are served in bowls and plates all at once at the table, and its ready to share! We can also reccommend trying our sushi menu.   Timbuktu Bar From the 360-degree shaped bar in the center of the room, our bartenders serve drinks, surrounded by social sofa groups. Every weekend DJs make the room come alive at Timbuktu. NEW: We've expanded our sushi-menu in the bar, and highly recommend it.   Timbuktu also offer year-round outdoors serving area with all rights, heating and roof. Informal, social and elegant mood. Age limit: 22 years.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cocktails and snacks”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Being there for Cocktails and snacks.. well presented and tasty.. good for a pre-dink night out :) Went there for after work drinks and the atmosphere was perfect, we will go back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Quirkgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    25
    13
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sushi!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Ate downstairs at the bar. Great tasting sushi, excellent quality! Not a hugh selection of beers but one Belgium and a couple of local Stavanger beers on the menu, which are amazing! Bartender seemed very skilled and the drink menu was very comprehensive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonm518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinderhook, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“best sushi around”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

If you want top notch sushi, this is the place to go. It's right on the harbor. The restaurant is upstairs, with a view. The service is excellent - friendly and attentive.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank astudyincontrasts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Exellent 5-course meal!”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We had the 5-course meal in the restaurant upstairs and it started out with a very original bento-box containing 4 small dishes including a deliciously spicy tempura asparagus and other treats.
Then we got some nice pieces of sushi followed by a green curry thaisoup.
For the main course we got a hot "stone" on the table and raw meat on the side so that we could grill the meat ourselves, this was a lot of fun and a great way of social eating.
After the meal we went downstairs to the bar for some cocktails and again this was to the highest standards.
We will definitely go here again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Trendy and cool bar, great dj, very good cocktails and sushi!”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

The bar is classy and laid-back with nice lounge areas for seating. The sushi was great. Had the 'Milans crunchy roll', and competent bartenders make several cocktails. More chaotic in the weekends. A queue can be expected after 23:00-23:30 on weekends. No covercharge, which is good. I would recommend it for eating in the weekdays, and late pre-party in the weekends :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ranuren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Timbuktu Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Timbuktu Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing