We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (202)
Filter reviews
202 results
Traveler rating
27
86
57
21
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
27
86
57
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leaving early standard hotel city centre room was clean easy access nice hotel wide variety nice service the hotel staff hotel is located tea coffee stavanger area eggs and bacon family room handball proximity sandnes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 202 reviews
Reviewed February 2, 2019 via mobile

Shabbier than we remembered. Nice enough staff, but looks like the place has lost its soul. Simple room, ice-cold bathroom (and shower!), run down back porch and pool area, and ok breakfast. We picked the place to celebrate my son's birthday, as he wanted to stay at a hotel with a pool, but now the pool is closing permanently. Better bet to stay somewhere downtown.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank christinaf350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2018

We were there with 15 young handballplayers for one night during a handball gathering. The staff were both friendly and helpful; the chef was pleasent and made good food (breakfast was more than expected). The hotel itself has seen better days; and the rooms are quite loud, as you can hear pretty much anything that goes on in the hallway and/or the neighboring rooms.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank allanhenriksen2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adventure747816, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2018

Dear guest.
Thank you for your review and thank you for your kind words about the staff. We really appreciate it.

We do apologize for the noise in your room and we will do some investigation to see if there is anything we can do to avoid this is the future.

Best regards, Jørn kristian, Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2018 via mobile

We booked this hotel for one night on a roadtrip through Norway. We saw this amazing price on booking.com and jumped on it... Our room (502) faced the parking lot and the big street.. So it was a bit noisy, but not excessive. The room is a bit old and could use a makeover. The carpe is all stained. The bathroom is ok nothing to say about that. The bed was really comfortable! Well for our taste it was! ;) Breakfast was better than expected! Lots of fruit, waffles, eggs and bacon,... The Coffee wasn't so good, but that's the only set back for breakfast! You can make a lunch for 95kr. All the staff was really friendly! All in all a good price to quality ratio !

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Thibster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

Nice service and nice room. Beds were very comfortable - bathroom was a bit small but all you needed was in there. As we were leaving early before breakfast they prepared fresh sandwiches and fruits for us to take before leaving at around 5.15am.

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marianeturc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jørn Kristian H, Front Office Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Dear guest.
Thank you for your kind words about the hotel. We enjoy being able to offer a "breakfast to go" and it is really nice to see that you liked it!

We hope you enjoyed your stay in Stavanger and we hope to see you again. Best regards, Jørn Kristian, Front Desk Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Friendly staff in that partly renovated hotel, which looks generally dark and uncomfortable. The color brown and black dominates the foyer, even dark colors in the breakfast room. Dark purple in the family room. Good breakfast but don´t let the guests alone with the waffle iron. It ends in a mess.
Dear management: You have a great and friendly crew but a new painting in bright colors (white or scandinavian style), somebody who cleans the windows in the restaurant plus the dust in every corner would be perfect. Even the beds in our room were not made after the first night of two.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank WorldtravellerB707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews