We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Hotel Alstor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alstor
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here for our wedding weekend in June. The hotel has been through a refurbishment since the last time we stayed here and the new look is is a fantastic improvement from the old look. There were only two negatives from our stay with the lack of a minibar and no bacon at the breakfast. Other than this there is not reallly anything to complain about.

The one thing that really made our stay here fantastic was the staff. Every one of them were very friendly and did whatever they could to make our stay perfect, this is also the reason for the top score.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor with a balcony.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jornkristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil_Nordbo, General Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with First Hotel Alstor and for writing us this wonderful review.

We are currently looking into possibly installing small fridges at our 11 Superior rooms, this as we have noticed some of our guests would like to have a place to keep cold drinks and so on. Drinks and snacks are also for sale in our reception 24/7.

I apologizes if there were no bacon at the breakfast when you visited us. Bacon shall be available at our breakfast for our guests. I will look into this straight away to ensure that other guests do not miss their bacon.

All of our staff have read your review and they are so glad that you felt the hospitality we aim to give our guests when staying with us. They, and I, would like to thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you back at our hotel again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (170)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Alstor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 170 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very helpful reception staff, very spacious room and toilet, and very clean hotel overall, despite it being motel like in design. Nice residential and quiet neighborhood, but also quite far from the downtown. Overall good for a short stay and if you have a car.

Stayed: June 2013
Thank AngPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil_Nordbo, General Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you very much for staying with First Hotel Alstor and for writing us a review.

We are glad that you liked the rooms and that our staff made an impression on you. Regarding the location you are right that we are 2 kilometers from the city. It is a 20 to 30 minute walk to the city center or about 7 to 10 minutes with a public bus.

Since you visited us we have reopened our swimming pool which is free for First Member (free membership available at our reception), and we hope you wake advantage of this if you return to Stavanger and First Hotel Alstor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

2 star Hotel to 5 star + price!
Bathroom and Toilet far below expected standard. Paid over 2400nok pr night.
125nok for a substandard breakfast, powdered scrambled eggs, cheap baked beans.
Will not stay there again.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Kjell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil_Nordbo, General Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Dear ksvellingen,

Thank you very much for writing a review. Despite it not being very positive, First Hotel Alstor appreciate all feedback from our valuable guests.

Stavanger can be an expensive city to stay in when it come to hotels mid-week if reservation is made late. Your reservation were made for a Superior double room at a late stage, and the price was clearly mention on the booking site before you decided to make the reservation.

I would recommend to ensure the reservation is made earlier next time as a single room mid-week can be available at a low 1080 NOK.

First Hotel Alstor would also like to point out that we provide breakfast free of charge with our rooms, so no additional payment is necessary.

Our hotel were renovated in 2011/12. At that time we completely renovated approximately 20 of our bathrooms. For the remaining bathrooms we do constant smaller upgrades.

We look forward to welcome you back to First Hotel Alstor in the future, and hope you have done your reservation as early as possible to benefit from our lowest mid-week prices.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was easy to locate from the airport. It was great value for money. The bed was so comfortable and there was even spare pillows etc. The receptionist brought a kettle to the room so we could have hot drinks. Excellent service all round. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BonnieBlue19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil_Nordbo, General Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2012

Dear BonnieBlue19,

Thank you very much for writing us a positive review.

We constantly work to become even better, so we value all feedback. As we have just installed what is probably the best TV-system in Stavanger with almost 30 free quality channels, we are now working on creating an even better breakfast experience than we already have.

All at First Hotel Alstor wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year. We also look very much forward to welcoming you again at our hotel!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel is located outside Stavanger centre, 10-15 minutes with the Shuttle bus from the Airport. The bus stop is about 400m from the hotel. The hotel is housed in an old property near a very nice lake.
The room was spaciousv and nicely decorated, with very nice colours. It was clean and the bed comfortable bed.
The staff was very nice and friendly.
I was expecting a better variety of International TV-channels, and that was a disappointment.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaladaVerde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil_Nordbo, General Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear SaladaVerde.

Thank you very much for your positive review. We also value your suggestion for improvement of our product.

We have 20 available television channels as of today, but we have noticed that some of our guests feel the variety of International channels could be better. Based on these feedbacks we are now in negotiations with our provider to expand the number of channels and ensure there are more international channels. It is our hope that by January 2013 we shall be able to provide an even better mix of television channels than we have today!

All staff are delighted that we came across as we would like - friendly and nice.

We all look very much forward to welcoming you again soon, hopefully with a better mix of television channels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The room rate includes a full buffet breakfast which is excellent. Fresh fruit, all types of cheese, yogurt, cereal, bacon and eggs, etc. Dinner is also served with a limited menu but the food was very good with excellent service. The rooms are adequate and the beds are quite comfortable.I found the staff to be most helpful and I was always greeted with a smile at the front desk.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauld886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil_Nordbo, General Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear Pauld886,

Thank you very much for your nice review.

We hugely appreciate that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet. My staff were also over the moon that you noticed the positive service we do out best to provide at our small hotel.

All of us hope to see you back at our hotel as our guest at another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Clean and contemporary in style , large bedrooms with balcony, a no fuss but with style hotel that is good for the money value especially in Norway but just outside of the town, taxi fares out way any savings on room?

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uksatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kjetil_Nordbo, General Manager at Hotel Alstor, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Dear uksatman,

Thank you very much for your positive reply. We at First Hotel Alstor love to get feedback from our guests.

We are located about 25 minutes walk outside of the city center as you mention. It is possible to take a bus which take 5 minutes, or you would have to take a taxi which cost between 135 and 160 NOK.

As we are located close to nature, sport arenas, art gallery and more we hope our guests see as as value for money. Just like you did :-).

Me and my staff look forward to welcome you again as our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
610 reviews
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Stavanger Hotel
1.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#5 of 27 in Stavanger
811 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
840 reviews
1.8 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#8 of 27 in Stavanger
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alstor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alstor

Address: Tjensvollveien 31, Stavanger 4021, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range: $94 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Alstor 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located 2 kilometers from the city center of Stavanger, close to a small lake with beautiful natural surrondings. At the same time we have the best access to all major roads. We offer FREE Wi-Fi, FREE parking, a delicous breakfast and modern rooms with flatscreen televisions with all the channels you would expect and more.All rooms in Hotel Alstor have a desk and own bathroom with shower. More than half of our rooms also have balcony.You can relax after a long day in our lounge area or dine in our restaurant which serve Norwegian specialities and international favourites from Monday to Thursday.The paths that circle the lake or go into the forrest are ideal for walking, running or bicycling. Only a few minutes away you will find Stavanger Forum, all major sports arenas and less than 10 minutes away you can enjoy some golf.NOTE:Hotel Alstor have been through a MAJOR renovation that ended in September 2012! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alstor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
First Hotel Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing