We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel Located in the Center of Everything” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thon Hotel Maritim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Thon Hotel Maritim
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Hotel Located in the Center of Everything”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was here on business for about 10 days in mid-March. The hotel staff is great and actually confirmed my booking mid-flight, since I was late in submitting my reservation. Check-in was smooth. American hotel rooms tend to be quite large and was expecting a very tiny accommodation. I was pleased to find a large room (by European standards), which was clean orderly, and had a good sized desk for work. The room was cleaned each day and the bed made. Breakfast was served each morning and is worth the $11 you pay for it. For those who have not travelled to Norway, be aware everything is expensive. The food was excellent and had many varieties to choose from. I suppose the only negative was that on Saturday night, there was a lot of street commotion that kept me up for a while. From what I've heard,Stavanger has a good night life and this is expected. Just ask for a high room if you are an extremely light sleeper. Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnnygman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thon_Hotel_Maritim, Administration at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Johnnygman.

Thank you for a great review!

I'm glad to see that you found our staff great. A good breakfast is a focus point in Thon Hotels and I`m happy to hear that you enjoyed it!

The nightlife is really good in Stavanger, of course sometimes a little bit noisy. But we work hard to change the hotel windows this year. We hope to welcome you to us again in the future and you can try out the new insulated windows :-) But you are right - a high room is great - enjoy the view over Stavanger!

I thank you again for a very pleasant review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    206
    122
    21
    19
See reviews for
57
110
36
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jorpeland, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

We stayed here last weekend because we thought the location, right in the middle of Stavanger, would be nice for a Christmas shopping trip. The location was the only plus to this hotel. Our room was simply depressing, laminated wood flooring, tired off white walls and very little furniture. No rugs, no pictures on any of the walls and the furniture was old and tired. For this we paid NOK 1300 (USD 210)? I would not recommend this hotel to anyone for any reason- avoid it, there are many other hotels in Stavanger that are better and at least have some atmosphere. If this is the standard of the Thon hotels then avoid them all together.

Room Tip: Don´stay in 526
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thon_Hotel_Maritim, Administration at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear Scott K,
Thank you for your review.

I'm sorry to see that you did not find your stay with us enjoyable.

All our rooms were fully refurbished in 2011. It's always a matter of taste, and we're sorry to see you didn't enjoy our style.

The style of each Thon Hotel is different - try them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

We ve stayed in a single room and a double. on the 6 th floor on the 6 th of December. The rooms were very nice but sound proofness was very bad. Breakfast was great. We did not try dinner as on Fridays the restaurant is not open to guests. Fortunately plenty of options around though. Stavanger is beautiful and seeing it all snowy with xmas decoration all over was a great experience. Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marina0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thon_Hotel_Maritim, Administration at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, December 10, 2013
Dear marina0207,
Thank you for your detailed review.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our central location in Stavanger and our breakfast. A good breakfast is a focus point in Thon Hotels.

The hotel is located in the city center, and hence, some noise can occur. In addition it’s Christmas party season which unfortunately can create more noise than normal.

I do thank you again for your review, customer responses make us better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

The hotel was just nice nothing fantastic about. The room was pretty small kinda like a Box but nice and cosy. The bathroom has nice hot water showers which was best in the cold weather. However the hotel did not provide complimentary minerla water and was aksed to fill in the water in a jug from down the reception which was quite wierd.

The hotel is located opposite the lake and near to the chapel which was good location. There were many eating joints, super markets, shoppings which was walking distance from the hotel. Overall the hotel was just nice to stay .. nothing much to enjoy in the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Megz77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thon_Hotel_Maritim, Administration at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Megz77,

Thank you for your response!

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our central location in Stavanger.
The size of our standard rooms are according to Scandinavian standards, and we do also offer upgraded rooms which are bigger in size.

We hope to welcome you back to Thon Hotels in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

This review is for the Thon apartments, which are part of the hotel, but a few minutes walk away. They are a good size when compared to your average Stavanger hotel box, but these apartments could do with a tidy up. Furniture is tired, carpets are worn, ceilings have water damage, kitchen tops have cigarette burns. The central location suffers from the usual noise of early morning garbage can emptying and drunks in the street, so try and request an apartment which is not directly on the main road. Breakfast in the main hotel was excellent.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank thehensters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thon_Hotel_Maritim, Administration at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Hi Hensters,
Thank you for your response.

We're very pleased to see that you enjoyed our breakfast, a good breakfast is a focus point in Thon Hotels.
The apartments have, as you write, a good size, and we are hoping to get them refurbished in the future.

We hope to welcome you again at Thon Hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
firenze
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

i could even simply cut and apste from the review already proposed by SeanB....I fully agree with him....Excellent location on the lake and right near the port. Short walk to all kinds of great city attractions and restaurants. The hotel itself was adequate. The bed was comfortable. Small room. Only wifi, this is good to know. No tea/coffee makre in the room but available free of charge at the living room in front of the reception. No service room at all. Generally speaking, not great, not bad.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agneseluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thon_Hotel_Maritim, Administration at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear agneseluca,

Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to see that you enjoyed our central location in Stavanger. The sizes of our standard rooms are according to Scandinavian standards, and we do also offer upgraded rooms which are bigger in size.

We hope to welcome you again at Thon Hotels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

I stayed at Thon Maritim for a long weekend in September. The hotel was just right and in many aspects exceeded my expectations.
I had a single room on the 6th floor. The decor was modern and attractive. The bed was a wider than a single and very comfortable. The window had a lovely view over buildings on a hill. It was possible to open the window, and since it was warm while I was there I left it open the whole time. There was a desk with chair, another chair, large tv which worked well, and a minibar.
The bathroom was modern, and both attractive and functional. There was liquid soap in a distributor both next to the sink and in the shower stall, and a bar of soap was also provided.
Wifi worked very well, without complications of login and passwords.
Breakfast was excellent, with many choices of sweet and savory, cereals and yoghurts, breads and fruits, and was served until 11:00am.
The entrance hall had free coffee and tea, fruit, and 2 computers available for internet. There was plenty of seating in both the inside and outside entrance areas.
The first two nights I was there the hotel was very full, including lots of young students and sports teams. I didn't hear any noise from them while in my room, which was a nice surprise.
The location is convenient for visiting Stavanger on foot.The train station and bus terminal are both just a couple minute walk away, very easy to find.
All in all it was a very pleasant stay. I had never stayed at a Thon Hotel before - I'll definitely try out their hotels in other towns.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swimviking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thon_Hotel_Maritim, Administration at Thon Hotel Maritim, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear swimviking,

Thank you for your review.

I'm so happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and I hope to welcome you to Thon Hotels again in the future!

It is always nice to read such a detailed and positive feedback! We really appreciate it!

I do thank you again for your review, customer responses make us better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#7 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.3 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Maritim

Property: Thon Hotel Maritim
Address: Kongsgaten 32, Stavanger 4012, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Maritim 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Thon Hotel Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thon Hotel Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing