We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Norwegian home”
Review of Thompson's B&B

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stavanger
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Thompson's B&B
Ranked #3 of 12 Stavanger B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I've stayed at Thompson's B&B twice and both times been welcomed like a member of the family. Sissel is a generous, cheerful hostess and she puts real effort into making people feel at home. The house is comfy and quirky and the food is always abundant and delicious. The open-door, make-yourself-at-home policy means there's no need to feel like you're on a schedule, you can just relax. Sissel, I'll be back!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Sara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2013

I can just repeat what others told about this place before: home away from home. Sissel's hospitality is outstanding, the place has its own warm scandinavian atmosphere, the 15 min stroll to city centre is fine. Just minding the little kind things that made our stay excellent: welcome cakes with home made jam by Sissels granddaughter, the breakfast better than at five stars hotels, and when we had to check out very early Sissel made some fine sandwiches for us. All in all: when in Stavanger, this place is a Must!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kucu N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We had a great time staying at the Thomspon's B&B during our stay in Stavanger. It is a beautiful home that has all the little touches to make you feel at home. The breakfast was amazing and there was a cot for the baby which meant the whole family slept well. Sissel is wonderful host who genuinely wants everybody staying in her home to enjoy themselves and her stories will keep you laughing.

The B&B is well located. Only a short walk to one of the highest points in Stavanger with great views across the city and fjords, and only 10-15 mins into the city centre with its great shops, cafes and restaurants.

All in all a great weekend and we will definitely be back

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UK_Canadian55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Sissel is a magnificent hostess. She has a talent of making you feel at ease and is very knowledgeable of Stavanger and the surrounding area. She provided brilliant sandwiches and her breakfast is how I want to start every day! A big spread of cold cuts, cheeses, cereals, homemade jam to name but a few of the things on offer.

We were provided with an ideal room with a bed that was very comfortable, complete with the little touches such as chocolate on your pillow, tea and biscuits and a selection of towels. A hairdryer, tv and kettle are all provided.

The location was very good; lovely and peaceful in the evening but not too far from town (10 mins walk).

A fantastic start to our holiday in Norway, it really felt like a home from home and proved great value for money (the breakfast alone is worth it!).

Many thanks Sissel!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ross447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Perfect location, tucked away in a cozy, quaint neighbourhood! Our hosts Siskel and Roger made us feel right at home from the moment we walked through their front door. Best breakfast in Norway! - smoked salmon, fresh cheeses, cereal, yogurt and delicious coffee in the most perfect coffee cup.

There was always a treat in our room when we returned each day. And Siskel made the most amazing sandwiches for our very early morning departure.

Am looking forward to a return stay with these wonderful people.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cynthia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

We spent 1 night at the Thompson's B&B.
Very centrally located, 10 -15 minutes’ walk to the old city center . Everything was spotlessly clean and fresh. The breakfast was very tasty. There was a choice of tea, coffee, juices, yoghurts, sweet pastries and delicious sandwiches more than enough for a hearty start to the day. The beds were very comfortable.
Very nice accommodation at a reasonable rate and is a good base for exploring Stavanger.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sovki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kutschera T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.6 mi away
Darby's Inn
Darby's Inn
#1 of 12 in Stavanger
251 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
482 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
659 reviews
0.7 mi away
No photo provided
The Backpack Shack
#5 of 12 in Stavanger
4 reviews
1.2 mi away
First Hotel Alstor
First Hotel Alstor
#16 of 27 in Stavanger
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thompson's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thompson's B&B

Address: Musegata 79, Stavanger 4010, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing