We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brief family visit to Stavanger”
Review of Darby's Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Darby's Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Stavanger B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this charming large house with lots of character. The location was very good, only five minutes walk from the town centre and in a quiet area too. Our lovely host Wenche Darby, made us feel at home and made sure we had all we needed throughout the stay, whether it was about the very nice breakfast or our comfort in the bedroom. We would come back here again and recommend it to other travellers looking for somewhere with charm and character to stay in Stavanger.
C & C Flint

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claudette F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for Darby's Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 245 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed at Darby 's Inn for 4 nights and we could not have chosen a better place. The location is very nice, with an extraordinary interior in a very quiet environment. We slept very well, breakfast was very good and complete. Thank´s to the owners we have enjoyed a family atmosphere. When we visit Stavanger again we will for sure stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Stayed for a night in Stavanger at the Darby's Inn. The rooms are clean, quality of breakfast is great and most of all excellent hospitality.

I would highly recommended staying here if you are looking for a place to stay in Stavanger.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashish K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is a long overdue compliment. We spent one night at Darby's Inn in Mid-August 2013.

Wenche's hospitality is really top notch. And her place is maintain really well. I would say I was wowed by the grandeur of her place.

Her breakfast is really good too.

You will struggle to find another place in Stavanger to match Darby's Inn at this price.

I just wanted to thank Wenche for hosting us.

Regards,
Spencer
Singapore

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank SpencerChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed just for one night, but we have to visite "Darby´s Inn" again.
Its furnished with love and Wenche (the owner) is a very kind Person.
We enjoyed our breakfast wich was made from Wenche herself.
Our room was beautiful with own terrace.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpgneist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Three of us were making a trip to Stavanger to visit my son.........and we found Darby's Inn. What a great find! I am so very pleased to recommend this lovely B&B for the wonderful hospitality that was offered, delicious breakfasts and very comfortable sleeping rooms. Darby's is also close to downtown Stavanger so that we could walk to and enjoy the sites of the city. But, the best is Wenche and Paul......lovely hosts that saw to our every need.....and more! We were there for 6 nights and enjoyed every night. It was a terrific stay!!

Room Tip: Since there were three ladies, Wenche made up a special "apartment" setting for us. It wo...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betty P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This B&B is a must try for business travellers and tourists alike. Superb, nice, pleasant, clean, excellent location in a quiet residential area, short walk to the city center, reachable by the airport bus..

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeoJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
840 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 27 in Stavanger
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#7 of 27 in Stavanger
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#5 of 27 in Stavanger
811 reviews
1.6 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Darby's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Darby's Inn

Address: Oscars gate 18, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Stavanger
Price Range: $151 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Treat yourself, as our guest in this unique and historic home, designed by one of Stavanger’s most famous architects, Hartvig Sverdrup Eckhoff. Soak up a 120 years of history, as you sit back and enjoy this breathtaking house and its many features. After extensive restoration works, we are now proud to present, our four extraordinary double guest rooms with modern en-suite bathrooms. Two of the rooms have direct access, and use of a balcony, and all four rooms have easy access and use of the garden. The house is set in one of Stavanger’s most sought after residential areas, only a 5 minutes stroll from the city centre, yet, this beautiful tree lined road, offers calm and tranquillity to the discerning traveller. Museums, restaurants and shops are within easy walking distance, and the Airport Bus Service, only a few hundred meters away. Come and join us, as our guest, for a unique and special experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Darby's Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing