We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Darby's Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
aPart Stavanger(Stavanger)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveler rating
248
2
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
2
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bwonderful hostsplace to stayhouse is beautifulsmall kitchenettequiet neighborhoodprivate garagehome away from homehigh classvisit stavangereach morningliving roomcomfortable bedshort walknorwegian breakfastcentral stavangercity centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 251 reviews
Reviewed August 30, 2012

We have two pleasent days staying in Wenche's house. We like the house decoration style very much. We guess hosts must spend quite a lot of time to find these Asia old & classic furnitures. Our room is very clean and quite spacious. Our first B&B experience is very happy:-) We love this place!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yimin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenche1, Owner at Darby's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2012

Thank you Yimin for your very kind and positive review.

We loved having you here and I sincerly hope we will meet again in future.
Wishing you both, all the best, you were wonderful guests to have visit.

Kind Regards Wenche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Very nice B&B with wonderful chinese old furniture. Our room was spacious, clean and full of light.
Breakfast was good but we found better breakfasts in other location we visited in Norway....
Mrs.Wenche is a kind and helpful host. So an overall "good" for this location.
The only negative note is its price : I think that around 200 Euros (1500 NOK) for one night at Darby's Inn is a bit too expensive.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francesco R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wenche1, Owner at Darby's Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Dear Fransesco,

I am sorry that you did not feel you got value for money staying with us. However I would like to point out two things. We charge NOK 1450 per night , not NOK 1500. Also, this price is for 2 people sharing , which works out at NOK 725 per person. You did choose our most expensive room, and knew the price in advance. We do have rooms that are less expensive should you wish to return. Stavanger is, without doubt, an expensive town to visit and an expensive town to live in. We have many repeat visitors, that have tried diffrent accomodation in Stavanger
before finding us. Their feedback on price differce from yours, simply because they know what is available for the same price and above.

I do hope you will come back. You were very nice guests to have, and I will do my outmost to make sure breakfast will be to your liking. Best Regards Wenche

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spent 3 nights here during a 10 day holiday to Norway and Darby's was the highlight of the trip. Paul and Wenche Darby run a fantastic little operation. Great location, comfy beds, tasty breakfast, and the most important part....the company....Paul and Wenche were fabulous to hang out with after days in town, out on the fjords, or elsewhere. Darby's Inn is now our only option for future stays in Stavanger. Thank you Paul and Wenche! Can't wait to stay with you again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curtis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Wenche was a fabulous host, really friendly. The house is beautiful (great location - easy walk in to the town). Super comfy bed. Breakfast was wonderful (lots of options to suit everyone). It's pretty obvious that I loved this place. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AustraliaThorny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our stay - all too brief - at Darby's B&B in Stavanger was, in a word,
superb! We could not have asked for nicer rooms or a warmer welcome
than the ones we received from our very friendly hostess, Wenche Darby.
Her home is conveniently located a short walk from the harbor and
beautiful Old Town Stavanger, and is as immaculate and interesting as a
niche museum, with tasteful paintings and tapestries from the Far East
adorning the walls, while soft, colorful Persian carpets decorate
the floors. We had driven from Oslo, so we were a bit concerned about
parking - but no worries! We parked right in front, and Wenche
thoughtfully provided us with a special daily parking permit for just
NOK 30/- (about $5.00). Breakfasts were divine: freshly brewed coffee,
and assortment of teas, with orange juice, smoked salmon, hard-boiled
eggs, fresh bread, cheese, cucumbers, jams, etc- a true Norwegian
breakfast. We needed it in order to make the four-hour trek to
Preikestolen! And all of it for far less than we would've paid at a
local hotel. Norway is not cheap - our two spacious and wonderfully
furnished rooms set us back about $1000 for the two days...but we could
never have slept five people for less than that anywhere comparable, and the fact is, the IS nowhere comparable in terms of comfort and congeniality .

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank W S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews