We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge
Ranked #8 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a medium size hotel, in the city centre of Stavanger. Room was clean and the bed was comfortable. Overall, the staff was no more than ok, and the service level was average. Make sure you get a room that doesn't face the street in front of the hotel, as it can be quite noisy. Breakfast was served in a light and inviting area, and they had a nice selection of food.

Room Tip: Choose a room that is higher up, and not facing the street in front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tetve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    136
    48
    29
    13
See reviews for
47
96
36
178
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Having spent a weekend in Stavanger previously I was not looking to the further ordeal, however I was surprisingly impressed. Either my expectations were so low or Stavanger has improved dramtically. What a fabulous time I had. My main complaints earlier were about graffiti in the town and the beggars. The hotel did not boast it's improvements and the residents buffet was amazing. Food does not score high in Stavenger but the free buffet offered for residents catered for all tastes. The shops were beautifully decorated and shopping was a joy. Graffiti has been reduced and the shoe shop Occo is amazing. Thank you.x

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suscrln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
301 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel during a business trip.

The only positive thing about this hotel is the location. If you got room facing the harbour, it will be fantastic. All interesting places and the good restaurants are just in the walking distance from the hotel.

The hotel itself is a old hotel with old and small rooms. The services are very basic. They don't even have iron so you have to walk all way to the ironing room which is really annoying. They don't provide coffee making facilities. The working desk is so small and the wireless didn't work at all. And they call themselves good hotel for business? The breakfast was pretty basic with awful coffee. The bathroom is clean but no toiletries available and they didn't even give extra towels.

So my advice: find another hotel with proper business facilities nearby. There are several better hotel around.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeoLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear LeoCPH,

Thank you for your time and your review on your recent stay with us. All reviews are of a great value to us in our efforts to improve our guests experience. We have been in contact with our internet supplier regarding the wireless internet, which is working better now. We hope you will give us another chance. Lots of things will happen at the hotel in the near future as we just became a part of Nordic Choice Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Close to shopping, restaurants and pubs. Views and rooms were great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marktysdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Marktysdal,

Thank you for your time and review on your recent stay with us, we`re glad you enjoyed your stay and we are looking forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary, AB
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

I stayed as a business traveler in August 2011. I wanted to say that I think much of my complaints about this hotel relate to cultural difference and not so much the hotel itself.

Overall, the hotel was clean and staff was very curtious. The location is perfect if you are a tourist as pretty much everything is within walking distance, and being right downtown is wonderful for shopping, booking tours...etc. Not to mention being right on the water is refreshing and beautiful.

However, the rooms are VERY small and VERY dated. It feels very much like a University dormatory. The hallways are small and everything is very dated. I had difficulty with the remote on the TV as it was taped together after being broken. The room containted just a double bed but still very small and moving freely around the room was difficult. There is a small desk, but not large enough to feel like you could work from the room and not feel very cramped in. No iron or ironing board in the room as there was an 'laundry room' on the 2nd floor you needed to access to be able to use an iron. I was surprised as most hotels offer this service. The doors to the rooms are all metal and very heavy so bringing in a suitcase is difficult and I was not offered any assistance with my bags. Being right at the core of the city also makes this a very noisy hotel as there is always something going on downtown. Great if you like to really enjoy the entertainment during your visit. NOT fun if you want to get a good nights sleep.

If you are looking for anything remotely luxurious or spacious this is not the place for you. If you are visiting Stavanger as a tourist and would like to be the at the 'heart' of this wonderful city, this might be a good choice for you. As a business traveler I was looking for some space to relax and rejuvinate after a long day of meetings.

All this being said, I do think that the culture in Norway is not overly extravagant so I think my room was indicative of other hotels in Stavanger. If you are visiting Norway and staying in Stavanager to enjoy the culture, scenery, and tour the area and want to be close to everything, this is the place you want to stay.

If you are looking for a luxious stay this might not be hotel for you and might want to look at other places.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenn5508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge, responded to this review, October 27, 2011
Dear Jenn5508,

Thank you for your time posting your review on your recent stay with us. We are sorry that you ended up in a room with no ironing facilities - however, on your next visit, please ask us for a room with those facilities, nearly all of rooms have this. We would also like to mention that since 1st September we joined the Clarion Collection brand within Nordic Choice, and benefits for guests are many - free evening meal, bonus points which can be used at 170 hotels within Scandinavia to mention a few.
We really hope that you will choose us on your next visit - ask for a room facing the park for good sleep quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2011

This hotel is located on the harbor adjacent to the old part of the city that preserves older wooden buildings. Ask for a room on the harbor side (the only down side is when the cruise ships come in to port and you suddenly look out your window and into the window of a ship!). It's very clean and comfortable and the staff is friendly and helpful. Best hotel of the trip.

Room Tip: Harbor view, 4th or 5th floow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kismet220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Kismet220,

We are glad that you had a nice stay with us and your are always welcome back. The Cruise ships is part of the tourism that comes to Stavanger, luckily they leave in the afternoon:-)
Have great summer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
99 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

Family (3 kids) fitted OK in single and connected double room. View on the harbor (or a cruise ship). All is OK, except for the location that is outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel12370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge, responded to this review, July 19, 2011
Dear Travel12370,

Thank you for your kind review, we're glad you had a nice stay with us. We look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.3 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#7 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.5 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
2.0 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#3 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge

Property: Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge
Address: Skagenkaien 30 | PO Box 793, Stavanger 4001, Norway (Formerly Skagen Brygge Hotell)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Velkommen til Clarion collection Hotel Skagen Brygge, en unik hotellperle sentralt i Stavanger. Hos oss bor du ved kaikanten med en idyllisk utsikt over havnen. Og for deg som onsker, er både ettermiddagsbakst og kveldsmat tilgjengelig! Det byr vi på! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Clarion Collection Hotel Skagen Brygge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Skagen Brygge Hotell Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing