We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Amazing beds, the best I have ever tried on any hotel anywhere. All round great hotel, good service, clean, fairly good room, fairly good breakfast. Great down town location. My favourite hotel in Stavanger.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrine V, Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Dan

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you were happy with your stay. We hope to see you next time you visit Stavanger.

Best Regards,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 233 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2012

Stayed at Victoria Hotel in August 2012 and had an amazing experience! After flying from London to Stavanger and boarding on the last Express Bus from airport to the center I realized I've left my IPhone on the bus ('cause I'm one of those pinheads who forget their belongings) Found a nice taxi driver who went with me to look for the bus parking lot and all but couldn't find it. When arriving at Victoria I've met the nicest night guard I could possibly meet, her name was Stine.

She really took in my cause and did all possible efforts to find it through the evening... In the morning before leaving she called my room and left it all arranged for her colleagues to carry on the search through the day... I went to the Preikestolen that day, and when I came back to the hotel the night bus driver had left the phone at the hotel desk, not only compensating Stine's efforts during the night but also showing the honest character of the people who live in this beautiful country.

Victoria Hotel was very special for me for that, but even if it didn't happen I would totally recommend it, superb location, fantastic breakfast and staff!! Clean and comfortable rooms!

A hint: If you plan to go to Bergen by ferry after Stavanger you should buy your tickets via internet or at the counter (5 mins walk from the hotel) a day before your travel, it costs half price if you do that! And believe me, you want to save every possible money you have once in Scandinavia ;)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woney M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrine V, Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Woney

Thank you for sharing your greatfulness to our staff in this review. We are very proud of our employees, and their work and effort in giving great customer service is much appreciated. We are happy to hear that you were satisfied with your stay and hope to see you again at Victoria Hotel in the future.

Best regards,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

For somewhere to be based in Stavanger without a car this is a great choice. It's right on the harbour and easy to walk to the old and new town amenities. We had a superior room which sounds to have a bit more space for two than a standard, but the odd 'U' shape made if feel a bit pokey still. The decor was badly in need of attention. It looks to have had a recent lick of paint but it needs a more radical makeover to bring it up to the standard that the hotel could achieve. As another reviewer pointed out there are no tea and coffee making facilities - not at that grade room anyway. It was still cheaper to buy a kettle and mugs than upgrade. The only real glitch with the room was a flood from the shower - fixed with some sealant once we'd pointed out the problem.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back and we didn't have a noise problem - but we didnt have a view - take yo...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJN66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrine V, Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Your review is greatly appreciated. We are refurbishing several of our rooms this year and in 2013, Based on feedback from our guests, we are considering coffee makers in all rooms.

Sincerely,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Hotel is easy to find and there are a parking house 1 min from the hotel. Parking in Stavanger is expensive. The hotel is as central as it gets.

We were greeted warmly by a very nice girl with short, dark hair, and felt welcomed at once. Check in went smooth, and we were actually given an upgrade and got a room with a nice view over the harbour. Yes, the rooms shows signs of some wear and tear, but it's well kept and clean. The walls may need paint and the carpets may need to be changed, but textiles and the bed looked completely new. And the bed was amazingly comfortable! The bathroom was of good size with a bathtub. It needs an upgrade to keep up with today's standards, but clean and functional. The common areas and the lounge in the lobby looks very elegant and refurbished.

Breakfast was wonderful with good selection of hot and cold dishes, well presented and with that little extra touch. The hotel restaurant is ok (a steak house chain), but you can get better and less costly meals in the city. The bar however is very nice!

We will most definately be back when we visit Stavanger again, which by the way is a very beautiful city!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaprifol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

I have had recent poor experiences in Norwegian Hotels, so I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at the Victoria Hotel for a four night stay. Reception was bright, staff are pleasant, rooms are bright and airy, with a mini bar and complementary water. No tea making facilities though. Breakfast is exactly as you would expect, lots of it. Dinner in the Restaurant was very good, a Steak House that was good enough for you not to want to leave to at elsewhere. A bar attached to the Hotel took care of libations if you wanted at the usual exorbitant Norwegian prices. All in all a very pleasant stay. Apart from some noisy passing late night revelers walking home on he quay all was quiet.

Room Tip: Book well in advance to enjoy this Hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catrine V, Manager at Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Brian

Thank you for the great review. Today we have coffee and teamakers in our Superior rooms and suites, but based on guest reviews, we are considering them in all room categories.

Sincerely,
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

Opposite to the previous reviewer I do not agree that the rooms are big. Atleast not the standard room we stayed in. However even the room was very small for two adults and our daughter which was sleeping in a cot the room was decent.The aircon did not really work well (or we just did not understand how to use it) however the air felt quite hot'n heavy in the room.The hotel looks nice from the outside if you like these kind of old style decorative buildings.However I was a bit disappointed to notice that the same atmosphere did not continue in the hotel rooms.Left me a feeling that something does not really match up.
The hotel is situated in the downtown near the port. Many of the rooms seem to have a view to the port which was nice.Many restaurants and shops are located near the hotel. The staff is friendly atleast most of the time and the breakfast is good.
Special thanks about the great the omelets they served.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ProEtContra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Rooms are big and nice furnished. You get good products in the bathroom. Shampoo, soap, body lotion, bath salt, pads and conditioner.

Location is very good in the center of the town near these our and the marked place. A lot of restaurants are in walking distance.

Breakfast is OK.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.0 mi away
Best Western Havly Hotell
Best Western Havly Hotell
#11 of 27 in Stavanger
114 reviews
0.4 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
839 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 27 in Stavanger
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#8 of 27 in Stavanger
604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#5 of 27 in Stavanger
811 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Maritim
Thon Hotel Maritim
#9 of 27 in Stavanger
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel

Address: Skansegata 1, Stavanger 4006, Norway (Formerly Victoria Hotel)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range: $112 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Stavanger

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing