We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, lovely breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great location, lovely breakfast”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Just stayed for 4 nights while in svg for work. Have stayed at clarion before so knew what to expect. Nice rooms, comfy. Great breakfast. Gym around the corner, would be nice to have one on site. Only real negative would be that you don'tget proper toiletries, staying for 4 nights would expect shampoo and conditioner

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan2909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Susan2909,

Thank you so much for being a return guest and for giving us important feedback. Next time you stay with us just tell the Welcome office agents and they will provide extra toiletries for you.

Welcome back !

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    305
    64
    17
    2
See reviews for
83
236
47
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
2 reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2013

As this is my first time travel to Europe (Norway). It is good location, close to the boat station and park. The room is very nice and clean.

The food are very good. I am who strict on eating, because my stomach is not good. But when I was there I can eat everything.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sochen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear SOCHEN2013,

Thank you so much for staying with us and giving us nice feedback. I hope you make your way to Norway again and stay with us.

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Having visited Stavanger several times on business, I am each time accommodated in a different hotel. The Clarion Hotel was by far the best I've stayed at.

The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The hotel is sparkling clean and the rooms are very trendy in their design. Like most hotels in Stavanger, the rooms are small. Even though I was booked in the Executive Suite, I felt like a bit cramped. And again, as in many hotels in Stavanger, there were 2 individual blankets to cover a double person bed. Being that it was ''summer'' in Norway, the A/C would not switch off, making it fun trying to figure out how to get the 2 single blankets to function as one in order to keep warm.

The breakfast buffet was awesome! There were local breads and cheeses (which need to be tried!), as well as an assortment of international options.

The location of the hotel is prime. It's in the centre of Stavanger, walking distance from the port/ restaurants/ bars/ etc. There's a grocery store and shopping area right around the corner. Buses and taxis are frequent in the area, making it easy to get around the area.

It really is a nice hotel. If it would be possible to control the room temperature from within the room, that would be fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Electricious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Electricious,

thank you so much for your review, it is so important. I just travelled in the USA and I definitely understand your point both concerning room size and blankets. I still hope you feel that an awesome breakfast, prime location and friendly staff make up for these differences - like I did on my travel.

Welcome back soon!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel is clean, and tidy and more than adequate for a weekend away. Staff friendly and helpful.

Breakfast is included, an huge buffet, with something for everyone.

No swimming pool, just a Jacuzzi and sauna, but with great views.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GrahamL63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear GrahamL63,

thank you for staying with us and for a nice review. It is said that breakfast is the most important meal of the day, I am glad you enjoyed ours.

Welcome back soon!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is my preferred hotel when staying in Stavanger for a number of reasons. The Rooms are very modern and spotlessly clean - even if at first glance you might think they are pretty small (other hotels in Stavanger are usually even smaller). The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful and the location is almost perfect - close enough to town to walk but far enough away to avoid most of the noise. My only gripe would be the price. The rooms at the hotel, the mini-bar, restraunt and the bar are very expensive and the lack of customers at the latter two should suggest to the hotel that they need to look at bringing the prices down somewhat to get some customers in - but as its so close to town most people simply vote with their feet and instead visit the very nice harbourfront area with many establishments to choose from.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up sufffer from far less road noise and the harbour views from higher floors are specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Braeriach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Braeriach,

thank you for visiting Clarion Hotel Stavanger again and again, our loyal customers means the world to us. I am happy to tell you that we have spent the summer building a new restaurant - Kitchen&Table. The price level is reasonable and the menu has been well received by both hotel guests and local customers. I hope to see you again soon and hope you will like it.

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Had a great weekend in Stavanger. Fairly small rooms, nice interior. Slept very well and had a lovely breakfast. Restaurant was under renovation, but the city has plenty of nice restaurants. Location is perfect, sentral, quiet and next to parking garage.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear TravelNorway,

thank you for a nice review and for staying with us. I am sorry about the renovation of the restaurant area, the result is fantastic and I welcome you to dine with us next time you visit.

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horten, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Realy good service, good food and a nice interior. The relax area with sauna and bubble bath has a nice view out over Stavanger city. The rooms are clean and nice with fridge and a large flat screen TV.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thephreak99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Neverdahl, General Manager at Clarion Hotel Stavanger, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear thephreak99,

thank you for staying with us and for giving us a nice review. Please visit us again soon!

Best regards
Laila Neverdahl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
423 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 28 in Stavanger
245 reviews
1.7 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
578 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
559 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#7 of 28 in Stavanger
774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#5 of 28 in Stavanger
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel Stavanger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel Stavanger

Property: Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Address: Arne Rettedals gate 14, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Romantic Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Luxury Hotel in Stavanger
#2 Family Hotel in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarion Hotel Stavanger 4*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Clarion Hotel Stavanger, modern and fresh, provides an impressive contrast to the city's more traditional hotels. With several suites, deluxe rooms, superior rooms and even our comfortable standard rooms offering stunning views over Stavanger city centre and the surrounding islands. This exciting hotel will appeal to those who enjoy a chic, comfortable yet minimalistic Scandinavian lifestyle. The new restaurant, Kitchen & Table by Marcus Samuelsson, brings you the flavors of Manhattan and New York. Clarion rooms are comfortable and practical, offering modern conveniences for the well connected traveler. Within the heart of Stavanger and next door to the city's main pedestrian shopping streets, The Clarion Hotel Stavanger is close to famous attractions such as the Old Town. Unwind in the comforts of our relax centre Pust, located on the top floor of the Clarion Hotel Stavanger -visit our state-of-the-art Relax centre where you may like to linger in the luxuriously turbo Jacuzzi or relax in the sauna, with a spectacular view of Stavanger and the surroundings. The hotel has 14 meeting rooms, one with capacity for 720 people. We offer the latest within conference equipment. Enjoy all the entertainment Stavanger has to offer, from exclusive shopping to a delightful evening at the Theatre. Take a sightseeing tour around Stavanger, experience one of Stavanger's many fine museums or simply stroll through the Old town many galleries and handicrafts boutiques are located in this area. Everything is right outside your door when you stay with us at Clarion Hotel Stavanger. Designed in a fresh, modern Scandinavian style, Clarion Rooms are comfortable and practical. All furniture is designed by Scandinavian designers. The beds are Duxiana beds, they are very very comfortable. In the bathroom you will find tiles made by the local painter Kjell Pahr Iversen, these tiles are painted specially for Clarion Hotel Stavanger. Clarion Hotel Stavanger can offer its guests the most modern and best technical equipment. We can provide you with the technical equipment that meets your needs. Good planning and preparations and a professional conference staff are important to succeed. We take pride in providing that service for you. We try to add our personal touch to every detail. Our staff is here for you. Our chefs take great pride in offering you a tasteful and healthy meal while staying with us. Our French pastry chef takes care of your need for sweets. To top it off, we can offer Stavangers greatest view from our top floor board room, Perspektiv. It can fit a meeting for up to 26 persons. We can also offer you a set menu for smaller groups. Accompanied with refreshing drinks and our view of Stavanger and the fjords, your guest will be impressed ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Clarion Hotel Stavanger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Stavanger
Stavanger Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing