We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for business” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Stavanger Forus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Scandic Stavanger Forus
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good for business”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Good location for business if visiting forus. No other reason to stay here as it is out if town in an industrial estate.

There is a restaurant and bar, a small 24 hour self device shop selling snacks, drinks and toiletries, and a small gym in the basement.

Good rooms. Food selection limited but ok.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla L, Hotel Manager at Scandic Stavanger Forus, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Google Translation
Hei

Takk for fine ord, håper å se deg igjen snart.

Vennlig hilsen Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    92
    48
    16
    15
See reviews for
22
21
9
152
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

After staying one night at the Scandic Forus Hotel, Stavanger, at rate NOK 2500 the conclution is:
- The "ultra plus" room is nothing more than an ordinary room with a water heater and extra TV
- The TV did not even work properly and I had to unplug the power once in a while to sync the sound
- The kitchen is terrible. It is a long time since I returned the food, but this time I returned it twiced and order pizza from an external company.
- The two Shiraz red wines I tasted was the two worst one I ever tried. The waiter smiled and told me how nice and full bodied they was. What an idiot.
- The beer selection was ok, except they only had 5 different bottles available and I selected a corn based beer, paying almost NOK 100 for 0.33 liter
- The hotel is located in a industrial area and the view was overlooking the nearby furniture warehouse
- The door to the room did not lock by itselves
- The SPA was a small exercise room in the basement next to the indoor parking
- The minibar was empty. You need to go to the shop next to the front desk and buy it yourself. (WTF)

Whatever you do:
DO NOT STAY HERE

Room Tip: Select a room at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sveinbm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla L, Hotel Manager at Scandic Stavanger Forus, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Google Translation
Hei Svein

Takk for tilbakemeldingen din etter at du bodde hos oss. Vet du allerede har vært i kontakt med direktøren vår, og vi beklager igjen at vi ikke leverte det produktet vi ønsket du skulle oppleve da du besøkte oss, og setter pris på at du tok deg tid til å gi oss utfyllende detaljer da vi snakket sammen.
Våre beste priser finner du på våre egne hjemmesider. Der kan du også lese litt om konseptet til Scandic.
Vi håper du velger å benytte deg av Scandic Stavanger Forus i fremtiden så vi får muligheten til å vise deg hva vi faktisk står for.
Du er hjertelig velkommen tilbake ved en senere anledning.

Vennlig hilsen Camilla Løvlien, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Stavanger hotels

Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Stayed two nights in March 2013. Location is not good as it is outside the city but for business it is ok since a lot of the offices are in the Forus area. Price last time was incredible high, but accommodation can often be a problem in Stavanger so make sure to book well in advance if you can. The hotel is nice and clean but nothing special.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla L, Hotel Manager at Scandic Stavanger Forus, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Google Translation
Hei Geir

Takk for tilbakemeldingen din, etter at du bodde hos oss. Da vi først og fremst er et forretningshotell så synes vi det er kjekt å høre at vi er gode på nettopp det. Vi anbefaler deg å booke overantting direkte hos oss eller på våre nettsider for å oppnå de beste prisene.

Ønsker deg velkommen tilbake til oss ved en senere anledning.
Riktig god helg.

Vennlig Hilsen Camilla Løvlien, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

I like to stay here because it is modern, clean and convenient for the office. Good select of meeting rooms too. I travel to Stavanger most weeks and this is my hotel of choice. Most of my business is in the Forus and Sandnes area so I save a fortune on taxis not to mention time travelling from Sentrum at rush hour.

Food is only average to good and the menu choice isn't massive.

Contrary to other reviews, my room has always been spotless and the staff have always been very helpful.

I recntly had to stay in the Radisson Blu Atlantic in a business class room and the room at the Scandic was much nicer, cleaner and more comfortable.

Room Tip: If you ask for a room away from the elevators be prepared for a long walk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Duggs68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla L, Manager at Scandic Stavanger Forus, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Google Translation
Hei

Takk for mange fine ord, og god tilbakemelding. Vi setter kjempe stor pris på det.
Vi gleder oss til å se deg igjen.

God helg :-)

Hilsen Camilla Løvlien, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here a number of times during December 2012 and January 2013.
The hotel is typical Scandinavian style, clean, modern and fresh.
The rooms are spacious and of a modern and bright design, beds extremely comfortable and the shower is fabulous!

The restaurant is lovely but I would comment that if you are a vegetarian then you will struggle to find something to eat! It is very heavily focused on red meat! Not many options available which I find surprising when the same chain of hotel in Oslo has a fabulous menu! Breakfast is very good and included in the room price.
The little shop is great if you are just after a snack and for any forgotten items.
Location is perfect for nearby business but otherwise there is nothing go on here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cellyrjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla L, Hotel Manager at Scandic Stavanger Forus, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Google Translation
Hei

Tusen takk for fine ord og hyggelig tilbakemelding.
Dersom du ønsker litt mer variert vegetar mat, er det ingen ting i veien for at vi kan ordne det for deg. Bare gi beskjed til våre servitører.

Vi gleder oss til å ha deg som gjest igjen. Velkommen tilbake.

Vennlighilsen Camilla Løvlien. Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

Very poor cleaning of the room and the glasses were not cleaned at all the 2 days I was there.
This is very scary when this is in contrast the worst and also the most expensive hotel I've stayed ever.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
5 Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla L, Hotel Manager at Scandic Stavanger Forus, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Google Translation
Hei

Takk for tilbakemeldingen din, vi ønsker alltid å forbedre oss og setter pris på om du tar kontakt med meg på camilla.lovlien@scandichotels.com slik at vi kan finne ut hva som ikke var tilfredstillende ved ditt opphold hos oss.
Ser frem til å høre fra deg.

Ha en riktig fin dag.
vennlig hilsen Camilla Løvlien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

The Standards of this hotel are excellent and fresh. You are greeted by a qualified staff with high professionalism.
Since this hotel very new, the interior is clean and inviting. The rooms have are practical and efficient, and have a welcoming atmosphere.
The food in the dining room was most satisfactory, and delicately served.
Great conferencing facilities and professional service their manager.

The hotel is located at some distance from the airport, Stavanger city and Sandnes city, but very close Statoil headquarters.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Passed50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla L, Hotel Manager at Scandic Stavanger Forus, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Google Translation
Hei

Tusen takk for hyggelig tilabakemeldig. Det setter vi kjempestor pris på.
Håper vi ser deg snart igjen.

Vennlig Hilsen Camilla Løvliem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
5.5 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
4.5 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#3 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 534 reviews
5.1 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
5.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
5.4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Square
Comfort Hotel Square
#7 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Stavanger Forus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Stavanger Forus

Property: Scandic Stavanger Forus
Address: Bjoednabeen 2, Stavanger 4031, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Stavanger Forus 4*
Number of rooms: 258
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Scandic Stavanger Forus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing