We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Square
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Modern rooms, close to downtown Stavanger and just a little walk from the Stavanger Konserthus.
Very nice breakfast. If you come by car there is parking in the basement, not included so you have to pay extra for this.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arild A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (863)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

307 - 313 of 863 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

A couple of years ago I regularly stayed at Comfort Square, and I looked forward to returning. The mostly concrete and glass rooms showed little sign of wear (it's concrete, after all). Rooms are on the small side, kind of dark and with few amenities. I like them, but YMMV. The breakfast buffet was a bit of a let down. Few choices for cooked items, and not nearly as fresh as I remember. Byt Square is still a good value in expensive Stavanger

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Anders0267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My first experience of Norway was the professional reception at the Comfort Hotel. Its exactly what I thought a European hotel might be like. The decor is very arty with modern graffiti style contrasted with portraiture. It is very modern, and a little dark for my tastes. My room was quite small but it had a well equipped bathroom with heated tiled floor and a wonderful shower. Interestingly the rooms do not have irons or ironing boards, but there is a small, hot and humid little room (a cupboard ) next to the lifts, that contains ironing facilities for all to share. I had to iron with the door open.

There is coffee available all day in the foyer and Wifi. For me the breakfast was the highlight. A terrific choice of healthy foods, salmon, and other seafood,, cold meats, eggs and bacon, different fruits and yogurts and of course different breads. Very good for me.

Both the reception staff and the restaurant staff were friendly, efficient, welcoming and had a pleasant sense of humour. I hope I get the opportunity to visit again

It's close to the shopping and restaurant areas and the waterfront, walking distance. I enjoyed my time in Stavanger and at the Comfort.
Th

Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Square is located close to downtown Stavanger, and from some room offer nice views over the Breidavatn, the harbour and the lovely mountains to the East. Rooms are practical and well decorated, the bathroom has what you need. The breakfast was good enough with ecological elements. The price is too high, that explains the average score.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TrondAS4460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The hotel is new and modern with very comfortable rooms (although somewhat small). The bathroom is functional and stylish and equipped with a super "rain" shower. Bed linen, duvet and pillows are way above average and contribute to a sound sleep. The breakfast (included in room price) is also excellent. The hotel restaurant has a good choice of main courses and "todays special" is usually very good value. The training studio is also worth mentioning. As for the cost of the stay per night, it is not cheap (although no hotels are in Stavanger are cheap).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinkytoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSquare, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Square, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thanks for your review and for mentioning the gym. Nice place to kill some calories!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The welcome at this rather new hotel was friendly and efficient, and I was soon in my room. I had booked a standard room, and was allocated one on the streetside of the hotel, which was an inconvenience, when I finally found a way to open the window. There was much traffic noise, even through the night. I could have switched on the aircon, but I prefer fresh air....
The room was rather minimalistic, which could be ok, but well, I must admit that I am not a great fan of bare concrete walls. I had some difficulties in finding the central lights upon arrival (the place to put your keycard), but thanks to the flashlight app on my phone, I found it. That I had problems with the lightning during the night, could be due to my lack of technical flair..... ;o)
The breakfastbuffet was ok, and there was no difficulties in getting extras as fried eggs etc.
The location is also ok, but be aware that you have to negotiate a rather steep hill from the citycentre to get there.
Stavanger is an expensive city to visit during midweek, which is mirrored on the rates at this hotel. So was it "value for money" - well I am not totally convinced.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street, as Løkkeveien is a main throughfare in Stavanger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S-ELinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Super trendy hotel in the middle of the small Stavanger metropolis. Staff are young and trendy, but still very friendly and helpful. The lobby is large and spacious and also serves as the big buffet breakfast area. I had the standard room which was small but very functional. Bed was super comfy and the bathroom slick and clean.

The main attraction is the breakfast. A huge Scandinavian Smorgasbord of everything remotely associated with breakfast. Make sure you take some extra time to enjoy it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timmeronline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSquare, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Square, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Thanks for taking the time to let the rest of the world know about the Comfort Hotel Square.
Great to hear you enjoyed your stay and ate well :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 27 in Stavanger
895 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#4 of 27 in Stavanger
490 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 27 in Stavanger
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 27 in Stavanger
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#7 of 27 in Stavanger
382 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 27 in Stavanger
650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Square

Address: Loekkeveien 41, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 27 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range: $115 - $194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Square opened in 2010. The hotel is located in the city centre and has 194 rooms divided between single and double rooms. There is a short distance to the airport shuttle, train station, fantastic shopping opportunities, the town's best restaurants and clubs, and last but not least sightseeing possibilities in Stavanger. All our hotel rooms have very high quality working conditions and the best comfort. Beds, furnitures and lightening are of Scandinavian design and meet high quality standards. Free wireless Internett access in all rooms. Flatscreen television . We offer our guests breakfast with healthy and ecological alternatives every day. Complete breakfast is served from 6 -9.30am. Busy morning? We serve take-away breakfast from 5 am. Comfort weekends last a little longer... Enjoy the nightlife and stay in bed all Sunday morning. We serve breakfast until 12 am and offer late check out until 6 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Comfort Hotel Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing