We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not for the business traveller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Comfort Hotel Square
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
271 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Not for the business traveller”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Where does one start with this Hotel.
Let’s begin with my stay. I was allocated room 222 – a large disabled access one – upgraded as I am a Gold customer. This room had a very musty smell and also the sink would not drain. I asked for another room and got 422 – no door on the bathroom. Not a real issue but a problem if there was more than one person. The chairs looked grubby and did nothing to alter the appeal of the room
In general for the business traveller staying for more than one night it just does not work in so many ways. The room is stark with grey concrete unfinished walls. The room is fairly dark. The light switches need an instruction manual to get them to work as it takes forever to get the ones you want on to stay on. The desk is a joke as you can hardly fit a laptop on it. The cheap plastic chair does nothing for you as it does not move. The desk and chair are also jammed between wall and bed so you cannot get comfortable and when not at the desk you cannot get past. The easy chairs are far from comfortable. The TV has a few basic channels so offers little in entertainment value. The wardrobe is so small you cannot hang a shirt up without it trailing on the bottom and there is no drawer space. There are no extras. One good point is the large bathroom and shower. I would challenge the CEO of this chain to stay in this room for any length of time as business people use hotel rooms as living areas not just sleeping areas. I would be happy if I never saw this hotel again. Someone please tell me this is a one off – an experiment that did not work.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank derekm6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSquare, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Square, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for pointing out your unhappines regarding your stay. Action has been taken regarding the two rooms you mention. I'm sorry though that you do not like our consept. TripAdvisor guest has spoken and we were awarded as the most trendiest hotel i n Norway 2012. Let us know if and when you will visit us next time :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    296
    113
    41
    13
See reviews for
70
233
49
284
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

NOK 990 per night in this very modern hotel centrally located in Stavanger is great value in Norway. The building is new, built to be a hotel, and I found that the execution is close to perfection. Stylish and great use of space. Really comfortable bed and good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norbralove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSquare, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Square, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thanks for a nice review - we were selected as you can see as the most trendy hotel in Norway 2012 by TripAdvisor visitors :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

New, modern and clean. What else? Slightly away from the city center ( 5 min walk) which is a plus being away from the noise of pubs and big ships vising city. Great parking space under hotel, nice breakfast and iMacs in the lobby. Great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waldemar Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Square, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Hello and thanks for reviewing us and pointing out great value for money :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is not a luxurious hotel and the "designer" decor looks a little kitschy but the staff are friendly, the room was clean and well laid out and the breakfast buffet was varied and tasty. It's a short walk from the restaurants at the harbor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillandNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Square, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
We're glad you liked your stay - welcome back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Comfort Hotel Square for three nights when we were visiting Stavanger. We found it to be very comfortable - despite being a light sleeper I managed to get three good nights sleep thanks to the comfy bed, quiet room and dark curtains. We found the staff at the hotel to be very friendly and helpful and although there is no room service, we were happy with the takeaway tea/coffee that's available from reception. There was a nice breakfast buffet available and the staff will knock up a small portion of bacon & eggs on request. Personally, I liked the decor but it's not to everyone's taste - the hotel is probably suited to the young at heart!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Square, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Hello - glad you liked your stay and we think its perfect getting the egg and bacon on request so that it is fresh :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

This was a business trip to Stavanger, Norway. I stayed for approximately three weeks. I will try to give both the negatives and positives in my opinion. This is a designer hotel, so you need to be aware of a few things. Amenities that people have come to expect of regular hotels will not be found here. Things like an iron in every room (although there is a room with an iron on the top two floors), large closets (the closet space is generally small as compared to other traditional hotels), minibar or for that matter separate toiletries(a single dispenser for soap and shampoo together, although separate toileteries are available for purchase at the reception). However, since I knew that this is a designer hotel, frankly speaking these were not deal breakers for me at all. now the positives.
The service, starting from the reception to the restaurant was excellent all the time. Everyone was extremely helpful and were able to guide as brilliantly. Breakfast is free with the room, and it is an excellent healthy breakfast. You can have eggs and bacon if you request it, but I never felt the need since I gorged myself on fruit, scrambled eggs and full grain bread. The menu for lunch and dinner is also pretty good (although I never ate here for lunch and dinner all that much). The rooms, although small are good and the bed is probably one of the best that I have slept on where hotels are concerned. Curtains are pretty black so that the effects of the midnight sun can be blocked during summer months. The location of the hotel is probably the best feature. The hotel is walking distance from the town center where there are plenty of dining options and nightlife options.
Overall, I really liked the hotel. The location was good, the service was excellent and the food was healthy and delicious. I highly recommend this place if you are coming on a business trip and you can look past the normal amenities that business travelers are used to in traditional hotels.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank gillbhai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Square, responded to this review, July 10, 2012
Hello and thanks for honest words regarding your visit in Stavanger. Welcome back at any time and have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2012

First visit. Styled as "modern". Bare concrete walls in Reception. Saves on decor costs, I suppose. Hideous murals in lifts and rooms. Don't stay with small children, they may be scared of some murals! It is not what I call "art". Stayed in Room 432. Came out of lift on 4th floor, no sign to the room! Left or right? Follow Rooms 401 - 431 and it's there at the end of the corridor. Reception were aware of this problem, but unconcerned. Desk chair in room was like some garden furniture (cheap and nasty). Had several attempts to access Wi-Fi. Eventually one receptionist was helpful. Only had breakfast, which was adequate. Room was clean and tidy. There are many more hotels closer to the town centre that I would prefer to stay in.

Room Tip: Best of luck finding Room 432!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fentonia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSquare, General Manager at Comfort Hotel Square, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Sorry you didn't like our consept. Thanks anyway for reviewing us :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Stavanger hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
Clarion Hotel Stavanger
#3 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
Radisson Blu Royal Hotel
#5 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.6 mi away
Scandic Stavanger City
Scandic Stavanger City
#6 of 28 in Stavanger
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Scandic Stavanger Park
Scandic Stavanger Park
#4 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thon Hotel Stavanger
Thon Hotel Stavanger
#1 of 28 in Stavanger
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.8 mi away
Clarion Hotel Energy
Clarion Hotel Energy
#2 of 28 in Stavanger
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Hotel Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Hotel Square

Property: Comfort Hotel Square
Address: Loekkeveien 41, Stavanger 4008, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Rogaland > Stavanger Municipality > Stavanger
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Hotels in Stavanger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Hotel Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Hotel Square opened in 2010. The hotel is located in the city centre and has 194 rooms divided between single and double rooms. There is a short distance to the airport shuttle, train station, fantastic shopping opportunities, the town's best restaurants and clubs, and last but not least sightseeing possibilities in Stavanger. All our hotel rooms have very high quality working conditions and the best comfort. Beds, furnitures and lightening are of Scandinavian design and meet high quality standards. Free wireless Internett access in all rooms. Free organic coffee in the lobby area 24/7 for all staying guests. Flatscreen television with connection to iPod and PC/Mac. We offer our guests breakfast with healthy and ecological alternatives every day. Complete breakfast is served from 6 -10 am. Busy morning? We serve take-away breakfast from 5 am. Comfort weekends last a little longer... Enjoy the nightlife and stay in bed all Sunday morning. We serve breakfast until 12 am and offer late check out until 6 pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Hotel Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing