We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best place in Stavanger”
Review of La Piazza - CLOSED

La Piazza
Price range: $12 - $41
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not the best place in Stavanger”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Have been here several times over the last couple of years, but it is not getting better. On the contrary. The food is rather bleak, both in taste and colour. The carpaccio I ordered had a grey-ish, rather than a red colour. The main dish, I forgot what is was, was lacking far from special. I get the feeling that the chefs are not really enjoying cooking, there is no creativity, no inspiration, no soul in what they present to you. It is food, you can eat it and that's about it.
The waitress apparently required some time to "warm up", not particularly friendly in the beginning, but after a while she relaxed.

I guess this was my last visit to this restaurant, however. All in all, it was disappointing and there are better restaurant to find in Stavanger.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    29
    25
    20
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have been living in Stavanger for a year and (after recommendation from a friend) tried this restaurant... I was not disappointed.
We started by sharing a well presented and tasty garlic bread with a lovely Erdinger beer.
Next up my girl had a salmon and broccoli pasta dish in a nice bowl called farfalle al salmon while I attempted the cannoloni. Very.... very good.
Now, how is this for service... As I went to the men's room 2000kr (£200) fell out of my pocket. The waiter (Ivan) asked around to see who lost it. He could have pocketed it and no one would have known.
A wonderful evening and one of the best restaurants in Stavanger, certainly the best Italian! (And the other one took some beating)
We will be back with the in-laws!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EnglishRichInNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Excellent food (seafood and pasta)! Phenomenal service! But needs a better selection of wine by the glass. Great price point for Norway.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasonm518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
431 reviews
345 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“Rare budget option in Stavanger - but not great!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

First night in Norway and we're suffering from culture shock. Things really are as highly priced as we've been told. We looked at a few places on the waterfront and in the old town. Nothing looked great, everything looked very expensive. In the end we settled on this pizzeria. Admittedly our choice was mainly based on price - but at kr169 for a pizza it wasn't entirely a bargain. It wasn't great. Average at best. Service was a bit poor too. And they put ham on the vegetarian pizza my wife ordered. You get what you pay for. We'll know better next time - cheap is not always good!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank eddymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaibi, Public Relations Manager at La Piazza, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi Eddy!

First of all, we are very sorry that your wife got ham on her vegetarian pizza. This was a mistake made on our side, and our pizza baker dropped everything and made a new vegetarian pizza in 7 minutes.

About the service, we strive to always be on top of our game, with every single customer. If that was not the case for you, then we're truly sorry.

On the positive side, it's good to hear that you chose us for a good italian food experience at a nice rate. We want to offer a great italian food experience, everyone can afford, even in Norway :-)

We hope to see you again and wish you a still nice summer!

Best regards,
All of us at La Piazza Stavanger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Horrible service”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We booked a table for 12 people almost a week in advance in order to celebrate the Norwegian day of independence. All restaurants are usually full for the 17th of May, which is why we made the reservation in advance. When we arrived they had crossed out our reservation and replaced it with another. Now, everyone can make a mistake, but the manager was really rude! He ended up yelling at us in front of all the other customers. He was claiming that his staff had made a mistake by taking the reservation in the first place, as they don't usually do that for the 17th of May. And then he admitted that he was the one that accepted the other reservation that had replaced ours. He didn't make any effort to correct the mistake and we ended up leaving the restaurant hungry, disappointed and angry. So if you want to have a nice experience with good food and great service, I really do not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 12Traveller34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chaibi, Public Relations Manager at La Piazza, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hi there!

First of all, thank you for considering La Piazza for your Norwegian national day dinner. We are really sorry about the counfusion about the reservation.

As most of the restaurants in Stavanger, we don't take reservations on the 17th of May. The city if crawling of people, and we often have a queue to enter the restaurant. In order to handle all the traffic, we make to simplifications: We don't take reservations and we simplify the menu a little.

After you entered the restaurant and we talked about the reservations, our manager found a table that he offered to you. You were probably upset about the reservation mistake, and declined the offer.

For your info, another reservation did not take over for yours. We did not accept any reservations for that day. In retrospect, we should of course called you and informed you about this before the reservation, but it slipped :-(

We have learned from this experience, and have updated our on boarding procedures for new employees.

To finish of, we hope you accept our apologies, and we wish that you come back another time so we can correct this.

Best regards,
All of us at La Piazza Stavanger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Piazza also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing