We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent pup-food”
Review of Phileas Fogg

Phileas Fogg
Ranked #13 of 195 Restaurants in Stavanger
Price range: $29 - $39
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bergen, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent pup-food”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

After a fun night out in Stavanger the day before, I had my much needed "junk-food" lunch at this pub. I ordered the Nacho dish which was a alright dish. As a pluss they had added som melted cheddar cheese in order to give it a little edge.
But as a lunch it is worth taking the trip; I have been told by locals that their burgers can be recomended.

The pub is a bit dark and old-looking, but staying true to their concept.

The service was very good and the food was prepared within decent time-ratio.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Erik N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    227
    107
    33
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tau, Norway
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Decent food - restaurant needs refurbishment.”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have passed this popular restaurant regularly for years, but never ate there untill now. The brasses and "olde worlde" style looks attractive at first glance, but much of the interior is run down / worn out, and refurbishment is sorely needed. Service was fast (except when I wanted to pay) and fairly friendly. The prices for a main dish are overall not cheap, but I had a seafood pasta dish which was not very expensive, and I was not hungry when I left. The best thing was, of course, that the pasta was very tasty, with well balanced spices. I might well eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sigmundm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“OK place for a quick bite”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Ive been here a few times and I've had a mixed experience each time. I went recently and although the main restaurant was empty they made us sit in the bar which wasn't the most comfortable to eat in (small tables). The food was OK but again nothing that gives you the woah factor. Saying that i have been a couple of times before and the food has been better. Service is good with pretty friendly staff. Its not too expensive at around £35/head although this did not include any alcohol so expect it to be more expensive with beer or wine. I wouldn't rush to go back

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Terrycharleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service.”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A very nice pub on the harbour. Food is good and the service was quick. Try the Farmers Pride - delicious!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jibber08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One happy couple”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Excellent swedish female waitress. Good food. Abit expencive, but good portions. We'll be back for sure.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie22aa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phileas Fogg also viewed

Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
Stavanger, Stavanger Municipality
 

Been to Phileas Fogg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing