We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome setting, great cabins. Would stay again if.....”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sogn og Fjordane
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Viki Fjordcamping and Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Ok, my one complaint first. Please please, since during June it doesn't get dark, please get some shades that block out the sunlight. it is hard to get kids to sleep with light coming in the windows. We had to use multiple towels to cover up the light.
Now the good.....everything else. Cabin 13 was great with kids. Awesome loft that kids loved playing in.
Previous people said they had great wifi. We had none. But who cares, we were trying to unplug anyway.
Our balcony sat directly across the fjord from a great waterfall. Excellent to wake up and have breakfast to that sight.
We borrowed the rowboat, and after lopsided rowing on my part, finally got the hang of it. He had life jackets too for us.
Web it's said something about a pub on premises. Owner said that is now closed, too bad. Would have enjoyed a beer! However, the local store is only about 8km away. A quick ride and back in case you forgot something.
Cabins are beautiful. All amenities you could need.
Although I would have opted not to clean the place myself, we did. Not bad as all the stuff to clean is there.
Would have liked to stay here for a week if we had the time. We would come back.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
Thank tabascov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (74)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 74 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

Based on the reviews we had read we knew we weren't going to be disappointed with our choice of accommodation however it surpassed our expectations on all levels. It was spotless and very cozy. The sun shone for the entire duration of our stay (6 nights) which of course enhanced the stunning views even more. The owner - Svein was very pleasant and helpful. We had had excellent email communication prior to our arrival as we knew we were arriving on Maudy Thurs and were advised that most shops in the area would be closed until Saturday. Svein had even turned on the heating in our cabin as we didn't arrive until nearly midnight a nice touch. We hired his boat (great value) and this created some lasting memories on the fjord. Our children aged 10 & 8 loved the boat, loved the den in the cabin upstairs and even managed to jump into the fjord from the jetty! (Not the norm for April I'm told lol) We wanted to have a base to stay at while touring around the area easier when you have little ones and whilst some of the areas we visited were 2/3 hours drive away it was alway nice to know that when we returned we would have our own uninterrupted view of the fjord back at Viki. We were lucky enough to see seals and porpoises whilst sitting on the balcony admiring our surroundings. If you're considering staying in this area I would definitely recommend this accommodation - excellent value for money, excellent host and views that you only ever see in calendars!!

Room Tip: We stayed in cabin 13 - it was perfect! Good size for a family of 4. The children loved the upstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rachwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

As far as first impressions go, you may ask yourself. Is the cabin too small? Are the beds too narrow. Is the kitchen cramped...
But they all these doubts soon go away.
If you want to know what defined "cozy", then this is the place.
Lets see.
You are holidaying in the most expensive country in the world, and you want a place where the views are awesome, the location perfect, the hospitality amazing and facilities, all you want.
Well Viki ticks all the boxes.
First of all, lets talk about the owner Svein. He won't be the manager. He won't be that bored guy at the reception. He will be your host. Always a phone call away, always helpful. We went in off season, so the kakaks, pedal and row boats were lying idle. Normally there is a nominal rental in season. But he says, well there is nobody here, so its all yours for free. He does not have to do that.
He comes out with a guide book, and ticks the hikes and details, and tells us what to expect.
We had poor wifi in our cabin due to distance from the router, had to hold the phone in a certain way. He is apologetic about this. Most do not care.
Its this attitude, and the helpfullness which adds to this charm.
And the location... Well what can I say. Right across the fjord is a waterfall. The waters are mostly calm, great for a boat ride, or just sitting on the pier. If you are a mountain lover.. well within a hours drive away are the most beautiful treks and glaciers and waterfalls.
We were here for 6 nights, but I figure you need 60 nights here.
I would rate it a 10 on 10.

A few things though. You have the option of not paying for endcleaning(save money!). But then you will get a mop and vacuum cleaner. Nobody checks the quality of your cleaning, its all on trust. Svein trusts his guests.

Room Tip: Take a room with floor heater in the bathroom if you are going during shoulder seasons as nights can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tsk1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Unsurpassable location, small but cozy cabin ( number 7), having dinner or lunch in that verandah, overlooking the fjord and Feigumfossen is indescribable.
We hired a canoe ( 30NOK 1 hour) and paddled to Feigumfossen in the opposite side of the fjord.
The cabin has bathroom with shower, with room for three persons. Free wi-fi.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank DiegoRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This was the first night of our vacation and we thought it would just be a quick overnight stay at a reasonable price on our way to Northern Norway. It turned out to be so much more. We had booked the mostinexpensive and basic cabin but it had a great location right on the waterfront. It contained only one room with 4 beds (2 bunkbeds) with just the things one needs for an overnight stay in this cabin but very reasonably priced. But the view, the manager/owner's helpfulness, using the two canoes located right outside and paddling along the fjord for a very minimal fee - all made up for the fact that the beds were probably not meant for fifty-year old backs. Our two teenagers loved the cabin and location and being on the fjord - and they're Norwegian and "used" to this type of travel and outdoor activities! There was no coffeemaker but the owner found one for us and brought it over straightaway. Helpful service, a beautiful spot and an all round a nice place to spend the night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1302travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Viki Fjordcamping has in my opinion the best view in all Norway. Cabins face the beautiful Sognefjord with direct views of the magnificent Feigumfossen waterfall on the other side. To enjoy such a view from your cabin is an amazing experience! The site is accessible by car, we took the bus from Bergen and collected a hire car in Kaupanger.

The site offers a range of different size cabins, ranging from top of the range two bedroom ones with TV, kitchem bathroom and balcony to much more basic ones with just some bunk beds and a fridge and hot plate. There is also plenty of space for camper vans and tents. We stayed in one of the two best ones which are numbers 12 and 13 There is a new shower and toilet complex for campers on the site plus a kitchen area. Motor boats and canoes are available for hire from the campsite. The owner, Svein Arne, speaks English and German and usually comes around in the evening to collect the rent. He is very friendly and helpful in every way. You can book a cabin in advance or just show up and look for a cabin with the word LEDIG (vacant) on a sign beside the door. The key will be in the door and you just move in. However to be sure of a good cabin book in advance.

You can buy food etc in the supermarkets in Gaupne, a village about 10 minutes drive up the road. You really do need a car to get around in this area. Gaupne also has a new swimming pool, banks etc. The town of Sogndal, about 40 minutes drive away, is also worth a visit.

The views above all make this place very special. We will be back again soon. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Cabins 12 and 13 are the best ones, best to book in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HarryG_Belfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We arrived at this place early in the day and saw nobody around. There was a sign in the window telling us to look around at the cottages with a key in the door and no sign telling us "Occupied" . When we found the cabin of our choice we just removed the key and put up the "occupied" sign. The manager came in the afternoon at 8 o'clock to pick up the rent. Convenient and very rare nowadays. There are at least 4 different sizes and qualities of cabins. You pick what's available and suits you best. The location is outstanding with the cabins built straight on the rocks and with a view across the fjord to a very impressive waterfall and magnificent mountains. I absolutely recommends this place! Canoes and boats for rent..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IverHamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sogn og Fjordane hotels
0 mi away
Solvang Motel & Cottages
Solvang Motel & Cottages
#1 of 1 in Vangsnes
13 reviews
40.6 mi away
Viking Camping og Kro
Viking Camping og Kro
#1 of 1 in Innvik
10 reviews
48.6 mi away
First Hotel Raftevold
First Hotel Raftevold
#1 of 1 in Hornindal
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.3 mi away
Flatheim
Flatheim
#2 of 3 in Viksdalen
8 reviews
32.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Jolster
37 mi away
Vollsnes Feriehus
Vollsnes Feriehus
#2 of 3 in Hjelle
13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Viki Fjordcamping and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Viki Fjordcamping and Cabins

Address: N-6875 Hoyheimsvik | Luster, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 154 Specialty Lodging in Sogn og Fjordane
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Viki Fjordcamping And Cabins Norway/Sogn Og Fjordane

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing