We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the few in Molde to eat at”
Review of Restaurant Gorvell

Restaurant Gorvell
Ranked #11 of 40 Restaurants in Molde
Cuisines: Norwegian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“One of the few in Molde to eat at”
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Our hotel Rica Seilet restaurant was full, and after sampling their breakfast the following day this was a blessing in disguise. Restaurant Gorvell is a very good restaurant in a town which is in short supply of decent places to eat. The reindeer steaks for main were excellent, good bottle of wine, service was good so an enjoyable night. Just what you need after a big drive. Yes it is expensive but this is Norway and everything is and as they say when in Rome..............

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BerkshireJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    11
    7
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant - great food and lovely service”
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Molde for one night on our Norwegian holiday and the restaurant in our hotel (Rica Seilet) was full. Which turned out yo be a blessing in disguise as we went to Gorvell and had a very good meal - veal carpaccio for my starter, we both had the Reindeer steaks for main and we shared the deconstructed lemon meringue. Very nice! And as a bonus there was an amuse bouche of mussels in a lovely (very subtle) curry cream sauce.

The wine was expensive at 430nok, however that's the going rate in Norway, so to be expected - they had some lovely local beers and the Pale Ale was very nice.

The staff were very helpful and friendly -- overall, an excellent restaurant...

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good local food”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

The quality of the food was excellent! However, there is potential for improvement: the delicious fish soup was served on cold plates, which of course made it cold quickly and deteriorated the impression. The staff was friendly, but the waiter did not offer us a drink when we arrived and when we got his attention he wanted us to order food right away.

But the place is recommended. The bacalao in particular was delicious.

Helpful?
2 Thank Flaquitita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

I had a great meal here tonight - calf entrecote. Minus: the waiter was a little to quick to start clearing our table - we had barely finished.

Helpful?
1 Thank DinaCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molde, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Molde's ala carte restaurant”
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Restaurant Gorvell is Molde's ala carte restaurant. They serve a variety of dishes made of locally commoditys. The menu are seasonal to ensure good quality commoditys and variation of dishes.

The food was exquisite, My menu, Starter: Smoked duck breast with pickled beets and celery facing in truffle oil. Main course: Pan fried monkfish served with lemon glazed root vegetables, parsley root puree, boiled almond potatoes and fresh herb butter. Dessert: Coconut and lime panacotta with mango sorbet.

The staff is super friendly and profesional. If you have a special request they will fix it for you.

I highly recommend a visit when in Molde.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Oystein_Kal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Gorvell also viewed

Molde, More og Romsdal
 
Molde, More og Romsdal
Molde, More og Romsdal
 

Been to Restaurant Gorvell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing