We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great food.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Scandic Seilet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Scandic Seilet
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Molde
Oslo
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great service, great food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

Friendly staff, both at front desk and in restaurants. Rather untypical Norwegian. Service level is really high. Food, especially the lamb shank, is great. Do not go for the house wine. Like most red wine in the country, it will be too warm (22 degr celcius +). Instead, ask the waiter kindly to open a new bottle. Nice gym located in neighbor building, smaller gym in hotel. Rooms are quiet. Nice view from some of them. Ask for sea view, so your eyes will not get polluted by the awful architecture in the city. Nice nature, awful architecture.

Room Tip: Ask for room with anything but city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Espen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    210
    73
    36
    14
See reviews for
79
173
25
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

This is my third stay at Seilet over the last two years. The staff is always friendly and the rooms facing the fjord are great. The bathrooms may come out a bit dated but they are clean and well maintained. Do not miss the breakfast, one of the best you´ll get in Norway!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bigasstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhoon, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Hotel looks stunning from the outside and has great views.
Unfortunately that is where it ends.

Room : not clean
Restaurant staff : unfriendly and rude
Food : left overs from day before
On checkout the girl at reception completely ignored us.

Safety issue in the room is that the window can be opened too far !
The extra (child) bed/sofa is right in front of it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Planlandweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
113 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel could be the worst in the world cause the nature around it would still leave you with the memory that it was fantastic. But the hotel is not the worst in the world. It's a really good hotel with nice bars and clean moderns rooms. AND with a view to kill for!

Friendly staff and all you need from a hotel. The short walk to the "city centre" is a walk that woth anything.

Room Tip: The rooms facing outwards from the city have the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank morsva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

The Rica Seilet Hotel is not the only hotel in Molde, but is certainly the best situated, right on the edge of a fiord, almost leaning over the water. The large lobby area contains a bar, but the best setting for a drink is on the top floor with magnificent views over the water and distant mountains. Rooms are well appointed, although somewhat limited in storage space for clothing, which could be a problem for stays beyond a single night. Bathrooms have a shower cubicle rather than a bath, and the shower attachment on ours fell apart. There was a settee next to the window to sit on and simply gaze at the views
Staff are very friendly, letting us use a computer terminal to check-in online for our flights the next day. The airport bus picks-up two minutes walk from the hotel.
In the evening we ate in town, a few minutes walk away, past the Molde FK football stadium which is right next to the hotel. Unlike many Norwegian towns, there are actually a couple of bars where you can drink, at a price, as well as several eateries. The hotel breakfast spread is one of the best I have ever seen in all my travels! We did not even have time to take it all in before we had to leave for our flight, and the was even a full 'chef' in whites on hand to rustle up omelettes. If I was going to Molde again, I would certainly stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Most rooms overlook the fiord, but some have larger windows. The higher, the better for views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cliff_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had an awesome room on the 13th floor, high up in this hotel that looks like a sail (it means sail in Norwegian!) - the room had a balcony with a terrific view across Molde, the fjord, and the football stadium. It's at the other end of town from the bus station, but Molde is small so it took just ten minutes to reach.

I've stayed in "design" hotels before that are let down by facilities and service, but the Seilet ticked every box. The receptionist was friendly and gave me several recommendations for dinner as the hotel restaurant was fully booked.

The wifi worked, the breakfast was enhanced by a guy making fresh waffles and eggs for you, and there were a selection of bars to choose from - I highly recommend the bar on the 15th floor simply for the spectacular view!

Molde is not the most cosmopolitan place on the planet so this hotel has made a real impact on the town. The sky bar was a mixture of guests and locals, great if you want to meet people.

This hotel was a real surprise - I'll definitely be coming back next year.

Room Tip: Higher floors equal better views, but the vast majority of rooms enjoy a fjord view anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jessheim, Norway
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

Checked in in the evening. Not on the list but got a key. Key did not work after returning to hotel after dinner later in the evening. Front-desk had not registered my name in their system. Could not log on to internet etc and was asked if I wanted to change room at 0030am in the morning because the receptionist did not manage to make a new keycard.
Terrible noise from neighbouring rooms due to festival in Molde.
Had lunch in the reception-area on the day of departure. Ordered shrimp-sandwich but got Club Sandwich with fries. Complained but just got a sorry, but no reduction in price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molde
0.3 mi away
Hotell Molde Fjordstuer
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Alexandra
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Moldefjord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 2 in Andalsnes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
23.1 mi away
Hotel Aak
Hotel Aak
#1 of 2 in Andalsnes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
17.2 mi away
Hustadvika Gjestegard
Hustadvika Gjestegard
#1 of 1 in Farstad
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Seilet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Seilet

Property: Scandic Seilet
Address: Gideonvegen 2, Molde 6412, Norway (Formerly Rica Seilet Hotel)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Molde
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Molde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Seilet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 169
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a superb view of the surrounding mountains, Scandic Seilet hotel is centrally located next to Molde Stadium and just a short walk from the center of Molde. Our restaurant Seilet on the 2nd floor serves a generous breakfast as well as lunch and dinner and offers a fantastic view of the Romsdalsfjorden. You can enjoy drinks and the amazing view from the Masta Skybar and terrace on the 15th floor and on the 1st floor we also have a lobby bar near the waterfront. We can organise everything from meetings to concerts in our well equipped conference facilities. Keep in shape during your stay, visit our gym and relax in our sauna. Free WiFi is available in the rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Scandic Seilet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Seilet Molde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing