We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“average hotel - bad service”
Review of Scandic Seilet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Scandic Seilet
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Molde
Reviewed August 8, 2012

we stayed two night at Rica Seilet Hotel since it was recommended as the best place to stay in Molde. But the rooms are small, the beds are far too soft and the materials used are only standard. This would be OK for an average hotel but what was really bad was the service. They did not make the room and only left a bag with a few new towels on the door before 10 AM on a Sunday - the room was still not made in the evening when we returned! The breakfast buffet has a good choice but the staff was not able to keep up with the amount of guests during peak time. There is a lobby bar but don't expect them to have open at 10 PM on a Saturday (though there is another bar at the top floor which has open late).
The hotel seems to live from its view which is great but the service and the rather simple finish makes it not worth the money

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndreasF68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

212 - 218 of 634 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

After a ferry ride across the Moldefjord we arrived to Molde in the early evening. After getting to our room we went down to dinner. The buffet was good but not the best of the hotels we stayed in on this trip. Not much to do in the evening, as most things in town were closed. The big excitement was hearing the Hurtigruten ships send "greetings" as they passed each other right in front of the hotel. The ship blasts were loud but quite exciting. The room was a standard room with two beds. Clean and neat. The window did not want to stay open due to the wind and it became warm with it closed. We had a great view of the fjord from our room. A pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pitufo00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We spent one night here on our way from Geiranger and on our way to Trondheim. We had a large Superior room (#807) overlooking the fjord. There was no balcony. The roomincluded a sofa, fridge, large open closet area with "real" hangers, and toiletries in the bathroom (rare for Scandinavian hotels.) The hotel has one PC in the "business" room in the lobby, but otherwise charges for wifi. Parking is limited to certain areas around the hotel and you need to display a hotel decal in your car to park. A parking fee is not added to the room charge. The hotel is large enough to support several tour groups, and clealy caters to business people. However, the room was quiet and had an impressive view over the harbor and nearby islands. Breakfast is substantial. The Skybar on the top floor is very expensive ($43 USD for two drinks!!) Although the town stretches along the water for quite some distance, we were able to walk through several sections closeby.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank erntravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This was our first stay at Rica Seilet Hotel in Molde. We stayed for one night with our samoyed puppy (at no extra charge), and were booked in a deluxe room with balcony at the 12th floor. The room was in good condition and offered an excellent view of the ocean. Friendly and helpful staff.

Unfortunately there were no available parking spaces at the hotel at the time of our stay, so we had to pay for parking at Aker Stadion. Parking spaces reserved for hotel guests is limited.

Room Tip: Booking a deluxe rooms ensures that you get a room with balcony at a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eivind M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was our second stay at the Rica Seilet hotel. It was good to see that regular upgrading had been taking place over the three years since our last visit. The public rooms were excellent, with lots of comfortable seating available. Breakfast in the dining room was outstanding - both in terms of the views across the fjord and also in terms of th quality and selection of food available!

Once again we had reserved a superior room with balcony - two minor issues: there is very little storage/hanging space and the double bed will requirement replacement very soon (it sagged!)

Room Tip: Since our last visit a major extension to the hotel had been built to the rear of the hotel. We wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel has a great view, a bit fancier then other local choices. I have stayed here 4 times and this has been the only really bad experience I have had. I a still giving them 3 stars. They booked me in a smoking room although we booked a non-smoking room. Then when I asked to change booked me in a room with a dirty mattress leaned against the wall. This was one of the worst hotel experiences I have ever had. The first lady I spoke was awful and told me she would give me something from the mini bar for my trouble. Not really good enough for two bad rooms. I talked to the manager and they did upgrade me but the whole process of complaining and getting a better room took me around an hour. That said great breakfast,clean room with good beds, and nice extras. I think the more expensive rooms are really worth it though, otherwise I would stay down the road at a less pretentious hotel.

Room Tip: get the upgraded rooms or go down the street to a better budget option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank modernmarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

Must stay . In this area this hotel has the best view and centrally located

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronny z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Molde
0.3 mi away
Hotell Molde Fjordstuer
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Alexandra
0.4 mi away
Thon Hotel Moldefjord
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.8 mi away
Grand Hotel Bellevue
Grand Hotel Bellevue
#2 of 2 in Andalsnes
160 reviews
24.6 mi away
Storfjord Hotel
Storfjord Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skodje Municipality
156 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hustadvika Gjestegard
Hustadvika Gjestegard
#1 of 1 in Farstad
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scandic Seilet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Seilet

Address: Gideonvegen 2 | Postboks 98, Molde 6412, Norway (Formerly Rica Seilet Hotel)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Molde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Molde
Price Range: $108 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scandic Seilet 3.5*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a superb view of the surrounding mountains, Scandic Seilet hotel is centrally located next to Molde Stadium and just a short walk from the center of Molde. Our restaurant Seilet on the 2nd floor serves a generous breakfast as well as lunch and dinner and offers a fantastic view of the Romsdalsfjorden. You can enjoy drinks and the amazing view from the Masta Skybar and terrace on the 15th floor and on the 1st floor we also have a lobby bar near the waterfront. We can organise everything from meetings to concerts in our well equipped conference facilities. Keep in shape during your stay, visit our gym and relax in our sauna. Free WiFi is available in the rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Scandic Hotels, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Scandic Seilet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rica Seilet Molde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing