We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, modern and well positioned in Alesund”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
First Hotel Atlantica
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Clean, modern and well positioned in Alesund”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Spent three nights in the First Hotel Atlantica in a large suite overlooking the fjords. Room was spacious and modern with a balcony and large bathroom. There is parking just next door to the hotel (and free spaces available in the street near the hotel overnight) and "central" Alesund is 2 minutes from the front door. Service was excellent from check in to check out (even at 5.30 am) and the bar and restaurant served great meals. There were a number of business people at the hotel, but this did not detract from the welcome given to our children at reception or in the dining room/bar. A great place to stay in a beautiful town.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MyFamily512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    123
    52
    25
    5
See reviews for
44
93
39
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novara
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Great hospitality, clean, modern, silent and in the center of the town! International breakfast with anything you want! In the centre of the town is simply to arrive and you can easly find parking next to it! Go there and see this fantastic city

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pastiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel during a very wet few days in mid September. It did
We took the Coach from the Airport late on a Friday night which dropped us off a few metres away from the Hotel. Checking in was very easy, as there is someone usually on reception most of the time.
The Hotel is located on the 'main road' in this beautiful town. On the side is positioned a very tiny shopping centre, which has a supermarket and a few shops. It is a good location to reach other attractions.
Our Room was located on the 2nd floor and over looked the main street. The street during day light hours is incredibly quiet with traffic and people traffic, weekend from Midnight on wards the raucousness was loud.. we did not sleep very well through it, With the Windows closed, party central could still be heard, just to make you aware our room was adjacent to the bar where all the revellers were..there was no avoiding the noise..If you want a good nights sleep avoid room 216.
The room was large and well laid out with twin beds, a coffee table and seats.T.V also.
There is free Coffee & Tea around the corner from the lift, which was superb after a day out in the Alesund rain..
The Breakfast was very good with a selection of cereals, juice, fruit, cheese and meats eggs (although we did not try the meat and eggs but others were tucking in)
Lunch and supper can be had in Hotel Restaurant lounge.. There is a Bar also, should you like a beverage.
We found the staff to be friendly, helpful and they tried to aid us in any questions we had.. from the people in reception to the people working in the breakfast room.
Behind the Hotel is located the Bus station, from where you can take Buses to the Airport. As well as a Tourist Office ( closed on the weekends).
Lovely modern hotel, clean interiors and friendly staff !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lily A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Alesund is a beautiful place awarded by nature. The hotel is right near the water from where you can go to the fjord tours. Excellent location, good service add to the advantage of this property. Not to miss this one.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SinSur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you want a smart, clean and efficient place to stay, right in the heart of town almost next to the must-see Art Nouveau museum, this is a good choice. The hotel shuttle (115 kroner) will whisk you to the door from the airport, reception staff are friendly and speedy and the rooms are absolutely fine. The wifi is free and reliable and there's plenty of choice for breakfast. One small niggle, I missed out on the famous fresh waffles as there can be a queue for the one waffle maker, why not provide another? Particular praise for Rachel on reception who was especially helpful and friendly...

Room Tip: Try to get a room on an upper floors with a fjord view for attractive dawn views over the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Farehamvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was here just this week for business, and staying at this hotel was such an enjoyable experience.

The location is great, being very close to the bus station, and close to the shopping areas all within close walking distance.

The rooms were of a high standard, especially considering the relative price for Aalesund. The rooms were very well cleaned each day, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The large flatscreen TV was also a nice bonus!.

I was very surprised that the wifi was extremely stable, and had a very useable speed.

Breakfast was great, with a large selection. I did read b-noy's review where he says about a rush for bacon, but I am pleased to say that the bacon was always very well stocked! ;) It is definitely no longer understaffed!!

The hotel staff were extremely friendly and always very helpful, and actually, it was the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff which made we want to create an account and write a review.

The only downsides I can think of were that the room was somewhat dark, but it isn't really an issue as there are several floor and bedside lamps for reading etc.

Perhaps some free electrical sockets near to the table or bedside tables would be helpful for laptops, and phone chargers etc.

Also during the weekend, there is some noise from outside from people going to bars etc, but again I didn't find it to be much of a problem.

All in all a great stay, and I hope to stay here again soon.

Room Tip: I imagine higher rooms not facing the street with the fast food vendor would be quieter during weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmNuneaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a great hotel. Good service, good breakfast, nice rooms, nice bathrooms and centrally located. It's a good value for the money. No parking around so you need to walk to the car. The shower can be improved ....no door so the water goes outside.
The room was big enough for 4 & overlooked fjord

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
603 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.2 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
433 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#8 of 12 in Alesund
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to First Hotel Atlantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about First Hotel Atlantica

Property: First Hotel Atlantica
Address: Rasmus Roennebergs gate 4, Alesund 6002, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — First Hotel Atlantica 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your First Hotel Atlantica reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing