We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Brosundet
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
459 results
Traveler rating
248
137
47
21
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
137
47
21
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmakiexposed beamsfrosted glassconnecting roomsnice view of the waterhistoric buildingrooms are smallmodern amenitiesart decofish restaurantdecent sizethe entire hotelwonderful breakfastbed was very comfortabletop floortwo nightsthe hotel offers
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
201 - 206 of 459 reviews
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. It is located in a marvelous location right on the water. There are beautiful boats floating nearby and there are very nice restaurants near as well. The staff are absolutely incredible...so friendly and accommodating! There is a small bar lounge in the hotel which is again, staffed with the most awesome bartender. It is cozy and quaint! Rooms are small but comfortable! I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that overlooks the water!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear Kathryn,

I am glad to read that you would choose Hotel Brosundet again. And I absolutly agree - the rooms overlooking the water are really nice.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Christel Furnes
General Manager, Hotel Brosundet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

A great place: we spent there 2 nights during our trip to Norway, and it was probably the best hotel (although it was one of the more affordable ones).
The hotel is located in the beautiful Art Nouveau centre of Ålesund, a few steps from everything (boats, kayaks, Hurtigruten terminal...)
However, it was the hotel's atmosphere that we appreciated the most. The rooms were nice and cosy, a fire in hotel's hall created this nice feeling I like so much in Scandinavia, and personnel was very friendly. Just the kind of a place where a traveller can rest and enjoy the moment.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romko28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Dear sir,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Ålesund og Hotel Brosundet - "a place to dream". Creating an atmosphere and delivering personal and friendly service is some of our most important values. I am glad we succeed!

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards
Christel Furnes
General Manager, Hotel Brosundet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Nice hotel in a restructured old warehouse. Good location in town center.
Friendly and helpful staff . Large and comfortable room ( 410 ). Bathroom of excellent quality but a box of kleenex and a magnifying mirror would have been nice. The bathtub or whatever this is did surprise me. Whether anybody has ever used it is a question, since there is a shower in the bathroom. The shape of the so called bathtub is to be seen ! We found it useful to drop our wet umbrellas... The edredons are too heavy and warm for a bedroom with 23 degrees , with one window open. The chambermaid replaced them the second day with lighter ones which were much nicer. Don't hesitate to ask for lighter ones when you check in.
Dinner in their restaurant is nice . We had a la carte. Wines a bit unusual ( they seem to love burgundy ) and rather expensive. A glass of Cuvee l'heritiere ( volnay ) is excatly the price of the same bottle in Volnay, 22 euros ! But this is Norway. Breakfast is fine but the room is a bit congested.

Room Tip: We had booked a room with view on the water. We got a corner room on the street side which was probably better and bigger than most rooms . The view of the little piece of water and a few small boats is not a must !
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JJGRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear sir,

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at Hotel Brosundet.
I am sorry that your room was warm, but happy to hear that we solved it by changing the covers.
I can agree with you regarding the price level of alcohol in Norway, but as you say - this is Norway!
I do hope to see you again in Ålesund and Hotel Brosudet.

Best regards
Christel Furnes, General Manager
Hotel Brosundet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent a total of 3 nights at the Hotel Brosundet and we couldn't have been happier with our accomodations! We arrived late on our first night and had a great corner room with windows on 2 sides so we could get a nice cross breeze. The hotel is right on the water and very near the center of town. The beds were very comfortable and although the room was fairly small, which is typical for Europe, it was very cozy. The staff was very friendly and helpful, we have friends that live in Aalesund, so getting around was easy, but each day on our return someone would ask us how our day was and if we had a good time. We left the hotel after 2 nights and took the Hurtigruten Ferry up to Geiranger for 2 nights. We were able to leave most of our luggage at the hotel and when we brought it down were asked if we had valuables we wanted locked up, computers, etc. Our suitcases locked so we didn't need to, but that was certainly a nice gesture. On our return we were warmly welcomed for our last nights stay. I would definately recommend this hotel in Aalesund!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the corner with windows that will allow a cross breeze as there is no AC, not that you'll need it very often in Norway, but even in August with 68 degrees, the rooms got warm.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank landofrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to review Hotel Brosundet. I am so pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay here with us.
I will make sure to pass on your feedback to my staff.
Hope to see you again soon in Ålesund and Hotel Brosundet.

Best Regards
Christel Furnes, General Manager
Hotel Brosundet.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

You know those scenic views of Alesund that you see in postcards? Well, the charming, almost Venetian-style buildings along the waterfront of the canal, smack dab in the middle of the historic district are this hotel and its next door neighbors. We sat in our room and watched the boats migrate down the canal, could hear the music from the main town square justa half block away when I opened our window, and, oh yeah, had the best meal of our entire trip to Norway (perhaps even our lives) in the Maki Restaurant right downstairs across from the reception desk. The front desk staff were exceptionally professional and quite friendly, and offered to assist with everything, including a random kayaking idea we had in mind. The rooms were a bit small and parking was a couple blocks away, but the location, charm, cleanliness, and overall quality of the hotel made it well worth the expense. Highly recommended, especially for a splurge.

Room Tip: Get a 'lakeside' room on the canal side of the hotel or don't bother staying here. The views and being able to open your window and watch the boats was a big part of what we loved about this hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Happy_Go_Lucky_UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christel F, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear sir,

Thank you for your kind words. I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in Ålesund and Hotel Brosundet.
Reading your review it seems like you got to see the best parts of our city. Kayaking, arcitecture, sightseeing and dinner at our Restaurant Maki is definitely to recommend!
We know that free parking can be a challenge down town, but 150 meters away you can find a garage.
I do hope you will come back to Ålesund and stay with us again!

Best regards
Christel Furnes, General Manager
Hotel Brosundet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews