We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlights and lowlights, undergoing a needed renewal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Baronen Hotell
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Reviewed July 4, 2012

This hotel is 15 minutes drive away from Alesund, well positioned for visiting the city and surrounding area if you have a car, and it offers a good price/quality ratio. There is free parking and free wifi. We have been given a corner room at 3rd floor which was very big and spacious with a queen size bed, a sofa and even a dining table for six - that actually looked like a suite rather than the standard room we booked! The bathroom was nice, ample and elegant with a big shower box too. I have spent three nights here traveling across Norway with my wife and we both liked the room a lot.
However, there are many details that affected our stay. First, building renewal works were ongoing and this impacted our stay somehow: workers drilling walls at 7AM (!) being the worst, followed by lots of noises during the day and a plywood wall suddenly appearing in the breakfast room on day two. Effective day two then, for some reason, only cardboard dishes and paper cups were available for breakfast. Our room looked great but hallways and the entrance hall are very dated, not to mention an awful kitchen fumes smell (mostly fried eggs like) that permeated 3rd floor's hallways (our room was perfect though, and not affected). On 2nd day we left the room at 9:30AM and back at 14:30 nobody had cleaned nor took care of it (beds, bathroom, towels etc). The room had a small safe but it was also lacking: a minibar, a water heater and some basic coffee or tea, a pen, some paper, and any actual hotel guide or brochure.
In a nutshell, room and value were great but many other little things brought down the overall experience. This hotel has a great potential and could easily get 5 out of 5 but they must fix some details and we hope the renewal is restoring a deserved higher value.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DriftSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Baronen Hotell
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 73 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

Booked a double room using the Fjordpass for 950NOK. Extremely good value for money as the hotel is only a short 15 minute drive away from the tourist town of Alesund but much much cheaper than any of the hotels there. Hotel room looks a little dated but is generally clean and functional. The establishment also has its own private parking area right in front of the lobby (free parking). Breakfast is included in the room rate and the meal was satisfying with the usual breads, salads, smoked meats as well as one or two hot dishes. The hotel also offers a light dinner buffet priced at 85kr which basically comprises of most of the breakfast foods plus a hot dish and hot soup. While we were there, the hot dish was a delicious Asian-style stir fried vegetables with chicken. There was also steamed rice available. This was more than enough to fill us up for the night and all for 85kr each, a steal in expensive Norway! Hotel staff were generally friendly but special mention must be made of the hotel director. She really took the time to chat with us, introduce us to norwegian chocolates and even gave us recommendations about what to see at our next destination in Norway. When she saw us fidgeting with our GPS unit in the car, she ran out with a printed map of our next destination and gave us as specific instructions as she could. Thanks so much for the warm hospitality, Best Western Baronen. Would we recommend this place to others? You bet!!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FraiseFraise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

i had a very great stay. Everything was every clean and quitet. i aslo thought the pool was very clean.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phia222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The Best Western Baronen Hotell is located outside of Alesund and by car it's just a 10 minute drive to the city. The staff at the reception was friendly upon arrival and when we checked out. The room we stayed in was quite large and clean. The restrooms are clean as well. The breakfast was good and offered a wide choice. The hotel can be recommended for short stays.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fussel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2009

Great service and good breakfast. Rooms were good too, but you really need a car to get there from Aalesund since its a bit outside the city.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arildsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2009

fantastic welcomewe were there following an accidentto my sister on a cruise liner and were visiting hospital every day ...one would have thought the staff were family..i will most definitely return to visit with them

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank 연준 김
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alesund hotels
7.0 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
6.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
6.8 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
469 reviews
6.6 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#7 of 12 in Alesund
199 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Baronen Hotell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Baronen Hotell

Address: Kanalveien 1, Alesund 6010, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range: $112 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Baronen Hotell 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Baronen Hotell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing