We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waterfront location marred by poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Reviewed August 11, 2012

From our window we could watch the active and interesting waterfront traffic. Room was good size and well furnished. Breakfast was adequate. When we checked in there were inadequate towels and non-fitting bed linen, Coffee machine did not work, Maid did not come until 3 in the afternoon. Parking was convenient but expensive. Despite the above failings which better management could fix, this hotel is convenient and relatively inexpensive.

Room Tip: Ask for a waterfront room
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolfgang3002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Marie B, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2012

Dear Guests,

First and foremost I would like to thank you kindly for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us. I also thank you for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Ålesund.

I am very sorry to read about the issues you had during your stay. I can assure you that I will follow up closely each matter raised, to make sure that we avoid making the same mistakes.

I am very happy though to read that you found our hotel convenient and I sincerely hope that you will choose the Radisson Blu Hotel again when visiting Ålesund in the future. Your experience is certainly not what our hotel stands for.

Once again I thank you kindly for taking the time to help us improve our standards. Should you have any other matters you would like to discuss, please do not hesitate to contact me directly via e-mail adr: generalmanager.alesund@radissonblu.com.

Kind regards,

Julie M. Baggesen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (523)
There are newer reviews for Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 523 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed here for one night. Booked a business room, but sadly the room was a bit of a let down. It was quite dark, and even when I turned on all the light it was still too dark. The furniture looked a bit worn out and outdated. ...and the TV belongs in a museum! Hopefully they will do a renovation of the room in the near future. On the other hand the room was large, and the coffeemachine was much appreciated.
The service from the Front Office staff was okay, but not as good as on my previous visits to the hotel. The breakfast was very good. Having stayed at both Rica-hotels and the one Thon-hotel in Ålesund I will say that Radisson Blue Hotel Ålesund have the best hotel breakfast in town.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Groundhopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night while on our way to Geirangerfjord. The hotel was a bit diffiult to find as the sign on the hotel was small and not easy to spot. The hotel does not offer any parking and when I asked at reception I was told that my choices were to park on the street, but I had to move the car by 8am, or park in the private lot next to the hotel for $2/hour. I assume that this is the case with all the hotels in Ålesund so they probaby don't care that it is an inconvenience. The staff at reception were very friendly and prompt. The hotel room was basic and clean although there was a funky smell in the bathroom. There was no air conditioning in our room or it didn't work which resulted in a sleepless night as even having the window open was not cool enough. The price of $190/night included breakfast and wifi. The breakfast was great with a large selection of food at the buffet.
Overall, for and extra $20-$30 more I may consider trying another hotel such as the Quality Hotel Waterfront or the Hotel Brosundet.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elseeyel3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julie Marie B, General Manager at Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Dear Guest,

First and foremost I would like to thank you for staying with us during your visit to Ålesund. I am most grateful that you took the time to share your experience with us.

I am very sorry that we did not live up to the high standards we at Radisson Blu pride ourselves in delivering during your recent stay with us.
I can assure you that I will follow up on all matters raised on the bathroom as well as the heating system in the room.
It is very important to us that our guest have a unique experience with us and I am very sorry that we were not able to provide this. I am very pleased though that you found our breakfast satisfactory.

In regards to the parking we would very much prefer to provide our guests with free parking. Unfortunately this is not possible, while we do not have our own parking area at our diposal.

Once more, I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with me. Feedback, such as yours, is an invaluable help in our constant focus on delivering the best service and quality possible.

I sincerely hope that you will give us another chance when you visit Ålesund the next time - please feel free to contact me directly on generalmanager.alesund@radissonblu.com, should you have any other matters you would like to discuss.

Kind regards,

Julie Marie Baggesen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The hotel has a good location in Alesund with good access to the shopping area and the pedestrian street.

Service at the front desk was good - we managed to check in early and they helped os with dinner reservations and recommendation of cafes.

Be aware that the hotel does not have any parking opportunities. Next door to the hotel, there is a parking space, where you have to pay for parking 24/7, though you might be lucky to find a parking spot at the streets around the hotel, where parking is free after 16.00.
No parking

Room Tip: Try to get room with view of the ocean
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This hotel was great. We stayed only for one night, but it was a great little resting spot. Hotel room was clean, quiet, and a good size. It was equipped with a bottle of shampoo, conditioner, bar of soap and hand lotion. Breakfast was really nice and private tables were good for a few people to gather and relax.

Room Tip: All rooms were good, elevators were clean and quick.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cuch5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Have stayed at the hotel tree times and would probably choose it again. The standard is ok. Rooms a bit worn out but comfortable bed. Bath ok with shower only (standard room). Small old TV without the possibility to rent movies. Sadly since we were there during some rainy days the last time and felt up for a movie. The breakfast is really good I think with a variety of hams, cheese and both hot and cold dishes. Unfortunately thy kept running out of eggs and Danish pastry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view! But be prepared to be woken at 8:30 by “Hurtigruten” the ferry.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The staff weren't terribly helpful. We had to ask twicesome hours a[part before a second set of towels were provided and 3 times reported an accident which they only responded to when they (erroneously) thought we were claiming off their insurance. They were not interested in recording accidents, even a fall down concrete stairs.

There was a menu in our room (not marked as a sample menu) but on the one night we booked to eat in, the only hot course was a burger and we were told that the menu had been changed, as if that was sufficient explanation.

The bedroom and en suite were clean, although wardrobe/drawer space limited. Curtain linings were good to keep the light out at night (being mid-summer. the breakfasts were good with plenty of fruit.

Alesund had few shops of interest to outsiders, and museums/places to visit did not open until 11am in the week and midday on a Sunday. on Sunday it was a ghost town.

Room Tip: Beware if you use the fitness centre. You access the stairs on a "bend" so that the door i...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

First of all I want to thank you kindly for choosing to stay with us during your visit to Ålesund.

Second of all, I want to express my utmost apologies for the unfortunate experience you had during your visit to our Fitness Centre. I am also very sorry to hear that you did not experience a satisfactory service from our Front Office staff.
I was informed immidiately though and I can assure you that the accident was recorded according to our corporate security standards.
I can also inform you that a sign was put up right away, asking guests to please mind the steps to the Fitness Centre. This way we can assure that the same situation does not occur.

I am very happy to learn that you were pleased with our cleaning standards and our breakfast. I will make sure to bring your comments furhter to our Housekeeping and Kitchen staff.

Once again I thank you for staying with us and for sharing you opinion about your stay on Tripadvisor. This is undoubtedly a great help for us to constantly improve as well as, at all times, securing a high level of services and standards.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon again here at the Radisson Blu Hotel Ålesund and I wish you a nice summer!

Kind regards,
Julie M. Baggesen
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
663 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
467 reviews
0.3 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#8 of 12 in Alesund
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#7 of 12 in Alesund
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund

Address: Sorenskriver Bulls G. 7, Alesund 6002, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
#5 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
#6 Business Hotel in Alesund
Price Range: $104 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a stunning location in Alesund, the Radisson Blu Hotel, Alesund offers guests breathtaking views of the fjord and its surrounding islands while providing city centre convenience to both business and leisure travellers. Impressive service, on-property dining and superior amenities await at this stylish hotel that reflects the chic Art Nouveau design found throughout Alesund. Relax in a comfortable room and stay connected with Free high-speed, wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Alesund guests enjoy casual dining at the on-site Bulls Brygge or a refreshing drink and snack at the Lobby Bar. In the summer months, savour a light meal on the Terrace by the waterfront. A well-equipped business centre and event space ensures a productive stay for corporate guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Alesund
ålesund Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing