We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Thon Hotel Aalesund
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Ålesund, Norge
1 review
“Decent hotel”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

Good value for money hotel, and excellent service - was allowed to check in several hours early. Only Hotel in Ålesund with a pool, but this was closed for maintenance during my stay. Enjoyed the fact that the staff were predominantly locals, with knowledge of what the town had to offer. To sleep with the window open made for noisy mornings and early wake up due to revving engines in the street

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hotell.no

Helpful?
Thank Rolv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    84
    75
    28
    9
See reviews for
37
67
21
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The family and I were in Ålesund last week to visit a friend who came from Ona to meet us. We had a good 2N stay at the hotel, which is located near to the pier. We had clean and adquate rooms, though it was without beverage making facilities. The beds were superb, fast and good for bad backs. But the pillows were very flat, unfortunately. The breakfast was sufficient. But it was the freeflow of coffee and tea, and waffles in the afternoons that we really appreciated. Staff at reception was friendly and informative. All in all the hotel was a good place to rest and close proximity to the shopping streets. We had our car with us, so it was a good point to drive to Aksla and the Atlantahavsparken (aquarium). Parking was free at the hotel's lot which is located a short walk away from the front door. We will stay there again should we visit the cosy town of Ålesund!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huringen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

We had two rooms, one "average" , the other "good", setting the temperature was different in both, i.e. the way you have to fiddle with the electric heating to make it work, the staff is friendly, but beware of parking /as always in Norway/, you may park close to the hotel over the weekend, but the privilege ends on Sunday night, so you have to use the little seaside parking lot of the hotel. The breakfast is OK, coffee and tea available any time in the lobby area, WiFi access free and easy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomOpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

rooms are small , not so quiet
temperature in the room is not high enough
bathrooms are small
however this is a good value hotel with a lower level standing

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vincenlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Very friendly staff. Great selection at breakfast.Very good hotel, good service and cleanliness.Very close to the centre of Alesund and the harbour. Lovely views of the sea and Mount Aksla, A good price for the hotel

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MENDY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sogn og Fjordane, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a weekend and was quite satisfied with the stay. The room was clean, although I cant say it was especially cosy due to the Spartan style of the room and the slighyly old fashioned furniture. The wooden floor showed some heavy traces of usage. The bathroom on the other hand looked brandew and was very nice. The facilities downstairs, reception, hall and breakfast room are quite nicely designed and made i comfortable to be there. The breakfast choice was totally alright, just missed some raisins for the Müsli, but that was all. Location is as central as one could wish. And the staff was very nice and helpful. The price was quite alright as well, so considered this as a good hotel all together!

Room Tip: My room on the 4th floor went out on a street, which didn't seem to be especially noise on weeke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sputnikk03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Stayed at this hotel whilst working in the area and was very satisfied with the level of customer service and breakfast choice. It has free internet access and there is use of a laptop near reception. Only downside are the number of English channels available in the rooms (2 - bbc world news and discovery) although there are more available in the lobby. Location is ideal for getting around town.

Room Tip: There is a bar on the opposite side of the road which can be noisy on a weekend (until about 2am) so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bingley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
612 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
396 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#8 of 12 in Alesund
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Aalesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Aalesund

Property: Thon Hotel Aalesund
Address: Kongens gate 27, Alesund 6002, Norway (Formerly Golden Tulip Rainbow Hotel Noreg)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Aalesund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Aalesund is a city hotel located in the pedestrian zone in the town center. The hotel is centrally located in walking distance to shops, restaurants, a shopping center and buses to the airport. Thon Hotel Aalesund is the only hotel in town that has a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thon Hotel Aalesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Ålesund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing