We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple style but clean and good service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Thon Hotel Aalesund
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Stayed at the hotel for a weekend and was quite satisfied with the stay. The room was clean, although I cant say it was especially cosy due to the Spartan style of the room and the slighyly old fashioned furniture. The wooden floor showed some heavy traces of usage. The bathroom on the other hand looked brandew and was very nice. The facilities downstairs, reception, hall and breakfast room are quite nicely designed and made i comfortable to be there. The breakfast choice was totally alright, just missed some raisins for the Müsli, but that was all. Location is as central as one could wish. And the staff was very nice and helpful. The price was quite alright as well, so considered this as a good hotel all together!

Room Tip: My room on the 4th floor went out on a street, which didn't seem to be especially noise on weeke...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sputnikk03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (246)
There are newer reviews for Thon Hotel Aalesund
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

60 - 66 of 246 reviews

Reviewed December 24, 2011

Stayed at this hotel whilst working in the area and was very satisfied with the level of customer service and breakfast choice. It has free internet access and there is use of a laptop near reception. Only downside are the number of English channels available in the rooms (2 - bbc world news and discovery) although there are more available in the lobby. Location is ideal for getting around town.

Room Tip: There is a bar on the opposite side of the road which can be noisy on a weekend (until about 2am) so...
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bingley1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The location is excellent for cruises ( 3 min walk ) or visiting the city center, but :
room ( superior ) untidy with refurbishing needed,
ridicolous internet point at the lobby
some noise from the street ( disco ? pub ? )
No parking.
breakfast not so bad but don't look for a cake there will be nothing, only eggs bacon and bread.
bad value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Livio L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

Was very pleased with this hotel during our 4 day stay in Alesund. Great location .. and very close to the Hurtigruten dock for the Geiranger tour and overnight boat to Bergen as well.

Good breakfast, clean rooms.

Staff was accomodating.

Enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kolasa03148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2010

The location of the hotel is great. I liked the breakfast very mutch. It was a lot to choose in. Fruits, varm and cold food. The room was OK, quite standard for wath you expect to that price. The hotel bar was never open when we stayed at the hotel. They diden`t serve any dinner and diden`t have any restaurant. The only thing they served was breakfast. But that was no big deal, since it was a lot of restaurants in sentrum.The receptionist could have been more friendly. A helllo and goodbye would have been nice when you arrived/left. He only sat on the computer at the reception, and didn`t seem interested in the guests. The hairdryer in the bathroom had a thick layer of dust. Not so delicate.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carrieth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2009

Great location, close equally to the sea and the city centre, yet almost hidden from view. all standard facilities in order. staff: friendly and courteous. Food excellent even for vegetarians like me.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank catNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2007

Nice location near the sea, but the grumpy man in the reception killed that advantage fast. And when I had to change rooms to be able to get some wireless internet (which actually didn't work very well in the second room either) I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone. When there's storm outside, it would be nice to stay in the room and surf the net to kill time (business traveller). The rooms are old and need to be freshned up. If the weather is nice, Ålesund is a beautiful city and then you'd just sleep there and that would be ok. Anyway, I would rather go for one of the other hotels in Ålesund - in case the weather is bad (as it often is).

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.2 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
664 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
0.0 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
438 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#7 of 12 in Alesund
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thon Hotel Aalesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thon Hotel Aalesund

Address: Kongens gate 27, Alesund 6002, Norway (Formerly Golden Tulip Rainbow Hotel Noreg)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range: $119 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Thon Hotel Aalesund 3.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Thon Hotel Aalesund is a city hotel located in the pedestrian zone in the town center. The hotel is centrally located in walking distance to shops, restaurants, a shopping center and buses to the airport. Thon Hotel Aalesund is the only hotel in town that has a swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Otel, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Thon Hotel Aalesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Ålesund

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing