We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, Good location, Generous breakfast buffet”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff, Good location, Generous breakfast buffet”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel has great staff. At check-in, Jasmine was awesome: friendly and knowledgeable. The rest of the staff were also friendly and eager to help. I can tell by their genuine smile that they were proud to be working there.

The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the bus stop and a 10 minute walk to the Hurtigruten terminal.
Our room was clean and the shower a good size by European standard. Wifi was strong though out the hotel (room, hallway, downstairs bar, restaurant).

The breakfast buffet was a feast: Hot food: scrambled eggs, pork and beans, sausages. Cold: cold cuts of different kinds of meat, salmon, cheese. There was so much to select from.

Extra perk: You can leave your luggage in a secured room if you have to go on a day trip but need to go back to Alesund for the next leg of tour (Geiranger and Norway in a Nutshell, etc.). You can also hang out at the hotel after your day tour. They have a wonderful bar and restaurant.

They are very friendly at this hotel. Plus, the hotel rate is moderately priced. I will stay at this hotel again if I'm ever in Alesund.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norvyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Norvyn,
First of all, thank you for the nice and positive respond, we are sincerely happy to have Yasmeen working with us, she is indeed very professional. The rest of the staff is very service minded and polite as well, and you are right about them being happy and proud of their working place. I am happy to hear that you will come back to us if you ever return to our beautiful city.
Thank you again and welcome back to the Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    254
    100
    36
    11
See reviews for
80
218
20
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

A few initial dissappointments - the free parking outside was only for two hours then NOK150/day in a car park behind the hotel. Reception was also irritatingly difficult to find (no signs?) as we happened to enter at the car parking level. OK, once we found it, check in was efficient; so now to our room, which is where it gets ugly. I suspect we had the worst room in the hotel, 4th floor (in the attic?), with a sloping ceiling and a window which resembled an inverted letter box. To be fair, we had a standard room, the ones overlooking the sea are no doubt much better and you can perhaps get out of bed without bumping your head on the sloping ceiling. The bathroom was very nice as was the excellent flat screen TV (with some movies!) and a handy ironong board. Breakfast was OK, though I've had better in similar priced hotels (no salmon for example, fried eggs and bacon bits didn't look overly appetising) and for some reason the chairs in the breakfast room were too high for the tables making it rather uncomfortable to sit there. I've stayed in a number of hotels in Norway now and my overall impression of this one is of a budget hotel (in the room I had anyway) charging a mid range hotel price. It wasn't awful, and it's a perfectly adequate hotel for an overnight stay, but I've given it a poor rating as, for the price I paid, I would expect more than the small, dark room I was given. I would probably try somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Probably best to upgrade to a sea view room. Avoid the 4 floor 'attic' rooms overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stepelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Stepelin,
Thank for your most detailed review and comments from your stay in august. We certainly understand your irritation concerning the lack of clear signs showing the way from the garage to the reception. This is actually an issue we are working on at this very moment. I’m sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the standard room you were given, sloping ceiling are in fact something most people appreciate, but this is of course something we should take into consideration. The veluxe windows are indeed a result of the roof construction, and can of course make the room feel like a letter box.
The chairs in the restaurants are perhaps a bit high, and unfortunately this is something decided by the architect firm in charge of the project. Quite a few people have actually given positive feedback on the furniture, but of course this is subject to taste and opinion.
We will strongly disagree in your description of this hotel as a “budget hotel” - but again, this is a matter of taste and opinion. Most of the standard rooms are normal sized, 20-25 square meters and a lot of them can offer a splendid sea view. The rooms in the “attic” are of course an exception. Anyway, you are more than welcome to try the hotel the next time, and if you give us a notice in advance, we will do our best to give you another room with better view.
Thank you again for the respond and welcome back to the Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights in this hotel during our Norway road trip when visiting Ålesund and the area.
The hotel is very new, very modern and has nice rooms with stylish furniture, big TV, free wireless Internet.
Bathroom was clean and modern - great shower, but no bath tub.

Breakfast was good with a typical Scandinavian selection in that Hotel category. No bread rolls and no plain yoghurt - were the only things I was personally missing. Quality and Service was excellent.

Parking is a bit of a problem. The hotel is centrally located, which is good to explore the small city, but there is no free parking at the hotel.
You can park only up to two hours in front of the hotel, the front desk can give you a voucher for that.
The hotel front desk will probably send you to a nearby garage.
There is free parking outside the parking zones for residents in the streets up the hill, with then a 5min walk - but space is limited. Not ideal when traveling by car.

The cruise ship key is directly in front of the hotel, which means a ship is blocking the view to the bay and it can be a bit noisy.


Overall we enjoyed our stay and would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cantaloop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Cantaloop2,
Thank you very much for the review from your stay this summer, this means a lot to us. When it comes to the parking issue, there is a parking house adjacent to the hotel; actually it’s connected to the same building. We strongly recommend using these parking spaces instead of the zones belonging to the residents nearby.
Ålesund is one of the largest cruise harbors in the country, with 120 ships coming in during the season. Normally, there is room enough for the ships at the main pier, but with three ships at the same time; it occurs that one of the ships will doc in front of the hotel. This is quite rare, and most of the time, people find it amusing. A tiny bit of noise can be heard outside, but you hardly notice anything inside the hotel.
We appreciate your respond and wish you welcome back to the Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a waterfront room. Windows were floor to ceiling and it felt like you were on a cruise ship! The room was clean, bathroom small and the floor got wet when you showered. We got around the automatic light by taking the room key out of the slot when we went to bed. Our only complaint was the hallway was filthy and needed vacuuming.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cindyhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear cindyhart,
Thank you very much for writing a review from your stay at our hotel. I’m happy to hear that you appreciated the size of the room; you must have been allocated in one of the front rooms in the new part of the hotel. Here, the bathrooms are a bit less spacious but still nice. Bathrooms are designed, with showers without doors, only half a glass door, and some water will inevitably find its way out on the floor if you stay for a long shower.
The corridors are normally vacuumed every day after cleaning the rooms, in this case it must have been forgotten, and this is not acceptable. We are sincerely sorry about this.
We appreciate your respond and wish you welcome back to the Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We were delighted by this hotel that we booked through booking.com. The nettbuss that we took from Andalsnes as part of the Norway in a Nutshell tour dropped us off directly at the door.

The hotel is very modern. Our room had two windows, one of which overlooked the water. There wasn't much to do on a rainy Sunday evening in Alesund, but we happily sat in our room. The bed was quite comfortable, and we both slept well. It pays to have a sleep mask as there were gaps in the curtains.

Breakfast was good. We would have liked the coffee machines that make lattes and hot chocolate that seem fairly standard at most Norwegian hotels. This one only had coffee or tea.

The location is good. It is a very short walk to the main part of Alesund, and only a 10-15 minute walk to the Hurtigruten. There is a grocery store along the way if you are looking to buy snacks.

The staff members were very friendly and all was very clean. We are somewhat disappointed to have booked another hotel for our return stay in Alesund instead of this one!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank H M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear H M,
Thank you very much for your nice and detailed review from your stay this summer!
The only thing I am sorry about, from reading your review, is that you got a rainy day when you stayed here; Ålesund is extremely beautiful when the sun is shining. It’s a pity you didn’t get to see the nature in sunlight.
We sincerely appreciate your respond and hope you will return one time to the Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked a family room for the same price as a regular double. Room was clean, nice and really spacious. Nice large bathroom as well with both shower and bathtub. We only stayed the night and left after breakfast so didn't try any amenities. Breakfast was of good quality, except a really horrible orange juice....
Visited the hotel about 6 months ago and was really disappointed with the service level in the bar and restaurant, but hopefully they have improved since then.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank elisaNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear ElisaNorway,
Thank you very much for your review from your stay this summer.
From the description of the room, you seem to have been allocated into one of our junior suites, and these rooms are really spacious and with bathtubs.
Reading about your last experience, I can assure you that the level of service and quality, has improved in the bar & restaurant department, we are constantly getting positive feedback from our guests. We urge you to try our a la carte menu if you return to the hotel once.
Thank you again for the respond, and welcome back to the Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Our room was in a really nice position on a corner, dual aspect with views across the water. The bed is good, each room has a nice big TV with some nice contemporary art above the bed. The reception staff were friendly and helpful.

In the restaurant the staff were friendly, but had too much to do. At dinner time we had to wait long periods while the two waitresses raced round the dining room and covered the bar while taking orders and clearing plates.

Our bathroom was a wet room, built in smoked glass forming a corner of the bedroom. It's nicely finished but the automatic light comes on when you go in then stays on for five minutes after you leave, so the whole thing glows in the room at night. I prefer good old fashioned switches. Also the flameless glass door is too small so does nothing to contain "bathroom sounds" or offer any form of privacy.

The breakfasts are good and offer the usual Norwegian selection plus bacon, eggs and beans. On our first night in the hotel we used their restaurant and had the buffet, it was 350Kr each and not really worth the money compared to much better restaurants in town. Anno was very good.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the waterfront with views to the West. Anything should be OK really except for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tz1_1zt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear tz1_1zt,
Thank you for the detailed review from your stay at our hotel this summer. I reckon you had a corner room in the Pakkhouse, one of the two old buildings in the hotel from 1905. This was originally a warehouse and you can still see the wooden beams in the corridors.
Your observation of the staff in the restaurant concerns me and it seems like they were short of staff this particular evening. This is not the way we want our guests to experience, and I am glad to hear that they were friendly despite the rush.
When it comes to the bathroom light, this is controlled by sensors as you quite correctly mention, and normally the light should go out after 3 minutes not 5.
Our breakfast is widely known in fact, and the buffet at evening time during summer, is quite simple and ordinary compared to the a la carte menu that is available as well. The buffet is more adapted to the tourist groups arriving every evening and eating on a low budget fare. We do have to have a variety of selection for every customer.
Again, thank you very much and welcome back to the Waterfront!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#4 of 12 in Alesund
393 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund

Property: Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Address: Nedre Strandgate 25-27, Alesund 6004, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing