We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A big thanks to Waterfront”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Reviewed March 28, 2012

I recently stayed for 6 nights at the Quality Waterfront during my tour of Ålesund and Molde. My hard work did not feel tiresome due to the pleasure of staying at this hotel. The room was exellent, the restaurant was a joy and the staff helpful and charming. Not to forget the sparkling touch by the hotel director herself. Highly reccomended!

Øistein Kristiansen

Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
5  Thank Øistein K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Øistein K!
We highly appreciate your positive review both regarding the hotel and restaurant, especially considering you staying for six nights in a row. Long time stayers as yourself are of most importance for us as a full service hotel, since this will challenge both the personel and their maintenance of service level. Reading your response, the conclusion is that we succeeded in every way. I will of course communicate your compliments to Eva, our sparkling General Manager!
Thanks again and welcome back to Waterfront!
Regards Aina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 228 of 733 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

Stayed in Quality Hotel Ålesund for two nights while attending a convention. The hotel is close to the city centre. Its modern and has nice interior details. The breakfast was good, with a great choice of food. The rooms are a bit small, but clean and modern. Free WIFI. We had a nice view of the sea and mountains from our room.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paltorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear paltorg!
We sincerely thank you for the positive and specific review.
This is of the uttermost importance to us as a brand new hotel in the centre of Ålesund and surrounded by 10 competing hotels. Thank you and welcom back to Waterfront next time as well!
Regards Aina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2012

The hotel is lovely, rooms superb but if you want to waste your time sitting for ages wanting food then go elsewhere, the service is incredibly slow, food is nice but very very limited choice and if you don't like fish your stuck!! Next time I will avoid this hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cash37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed two nights at Waterfront this week. Great hotel...the bulidings are really something different from any other hotel in Norway. My room was in the oldest buliding - but at the same time the most modern room I've stayed in.

The restaurant served very good food two days in a row. First evening we were 11 people the second evening we were 25. Great food, great wine and the staff very attentive and with a smile.

I am really looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfa159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2012

Dear Alfa159!
Thank you very much for your positive review both of the hotelroom and the restaurant.
It really pleases me that our staff sucessfully delivered excellent service in the restaurant two evening in a row. Thank you again and wlcome back to Ålesund and Waterfront!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

As a conference hotel, Quality Hotel Waterfront delivered a 100% conference. Rooms, service, personnel, conference department and all other facilities were to our satisfaction. The only challenge was the food. We did expect a bit more creativity and taste since we occupied about 70% of the rooms.
We will recommend this location for all excising and potential clients.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
1  Thank Hans Christian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Fantastic hotel. Brand new hotel located in an old building giving the hotel "soul". The upgraded room was spacious with a really nice view to the sea. Good food in the restaurant and very nice staff who cared for us all the stay. We had the choices of 40 types of beer in the bar before dinner. Very nice. Recommended!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TerjeAkershus_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I travel to Ålesund regularly on business. As the new Waterfront (why give it an English name, BTW?) is the closest to where my meetings are, I decided to give it a try, especially as Nordic Choice is my hotel chain of choice (pun not intended)

Most hotels in Ålesund is within a 10 min walk; this is actually the most distant from city center, but everywhere is eminently walkable. The airport bus (and long distance buses) is a 500 m walk away, which I would be wary of walking with significant luggage. The costal steamer is even further away. Nice sea view. Located on a pretty uninteresting street with plenty of through traffic (though with some fine buildings)

Hotel is brand new. The rooms are on the small side, but finely appointed. They are decorated as expected from a new Choice hotel. Happily: no all glass bathroom doors or other self-concious "look-at-our-fancy-designer's great ideas"-gimmicks.

Breakfast was average. Nice fried eggs, otherwise rather characterless. Miserable selection of newspapers at breakfast, only Dagens Næringsliv ( a pink busisness paper). Certainly the local paper should be offered, and preferable other national dailies.

I did not like the stairs from the entrance to the reception desk; gave extra hassle with the luggage.

Nice lobby, with bank of Apple computers for guest use. Did not eat at the restaurant (which does not have a great reputation, according to local friends), nor use other facilities of the hotel.

Still:
Above-average business hotel, which will certainly be on my list for future stays, especially as the location is very good for me. I would also consider it for leisure stays.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the sea have great views and are likely to be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treemonisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aina A, Manager at Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2012

Dear Treemonisha! We are happy to hear that you will choose to stay with us also on your future trips to Ålesund. Our main goal is to please our guests in such a way that they will return. You did not mention the roomnumber, but supposedly this was located in the brand new Signature House by the description. Next time, please try one of the older bulidings, the Pakkhus or the Jugendhus, just to compare. The rooms with seaview are amazing! You did mention the entrance and the stairs, and we can indeed understand your viewpoint. Unfortunately, there is not very much to do with the stairs, since they are considered listed. They were originally constructed on the early 1900 century, and together with two emergency exits, they are protected. We also appeciate your respond to the breakfast and lack of newspapers. Needless to say, we should of course offer english papers and this is now being processed. When it comes to the breakfast, this is still improving. We are sorry to hear that our restaurant does not have a great reputation locally, but hope that you will give it a try next time you are in Ålesund. Most guests are indeed satisfied with both the food and the service they get. Thank you very much for your detailed review and good description of the hotel, this way we will get even better. Yours sincerely Aina B. Aalen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.3 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
683 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.5 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
451 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#7 of 12 in Alesund
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#8 of 12 in Alesund
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund

Address: Nedre Strandgate 25-27, Alesund 6004, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Price Range: $116 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nordic Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing