We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
$160
View deal
Booking.com
$168
View deal
Trip.com
$134
View deal
Hotels.com$160
Priceline$178
FindHotel$160
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,470)
Filter reviews
1,470 results
Traveler rating
862
421
119
50
18
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
862
421
119
50
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish junior suite two nights hotel is located sea view nice breakfast spacious room nice view warehouse fireplace norway window harbour character stylish possibility
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
268 - 273 of 1,470 reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2017

I had a couple of nights here following a business trip. I asked for, and got, a room overlooking the waterfront. There are no balconies though, and the view is somewhat resttricted due to thick walls and small windows. The room itself was very small and disappointing. The 'bathroom' was behind a glass partition, with no bath. Apart from the bed, there was only a simple, hard chair to sit on. Clothes storage was very limited, comprising 4 hangers, 1 shelf, and no drawers. The hotel is spread across two buildings, and access from one to the other is impossible for anyone who cannot manage stairs. It is very central though, and a few minutes walk will get you almost anywhere in central Alesund, not that there is a lot to see there. The town can get very crowded when cruise ships arrive, up to 5 at a time. Eating opportunities in town are very limited, and the hotel restaurant is very expensive.
Breakfast is a simple buffet taken in what might be described as a refectory, with long wooden benches. Although not extensive, the buffet is more than adequate, and several trips with the rather small plates will set you up for the day. One feature that I had not come across before was a free meal after 6pm. One one day it was lasagne, and on another day it was fish pie. Bread and salad are also available as is water, with everything on a help-yourself basis.There is a bar, but be warned! It is not electronically connected to the hotel system, so you cannot charge drinks to your room. It is also very expensive, even by Norwegian standards. Two beers, each less than a pint, cost me over £23!!
The reception staff are very friendly and helped me to arrange a day excursion to Gerainger fjord.

Room tip: Ask for a room overlooking the waterfront
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff_Lynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merethe A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2018

Dear Cliff_Lynn!

Thank you for your very good feedback and helpful information. Very much appreciated and hope to see you again sometime. The building is listed, so there are no possibilities to make balconies. We understand that you are disappointed concerning the room size and the amenities in the room. Hope you will visit us another time, so we can give you one of our larger rooms. Warm welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2017

we had a compact room on the waterfront with a super view. the staff was extremely helpful-in fact, we arrived really late at night but the front desk staff on duty (Turkish chap- Elyam?) went the extra mile and ordered pizza from an adjoining restaurant for us before it closed and actually served us in the coffee shop. Not only this, we kept our bags in luggage room after checkout as we were to take a cruise. Upon our return, we used the hotel lobby as we had a few hours in between our travel -we felt welcome and would definitely recommend this place!

Room tip: look for a corner room with views from two sides
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajayleenad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merethe A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear Leena D!

Thank you so much for your sweet feedcack, this is highly appreciated! So glad you enjoyed your stay here at Hotel Brosundet. Hope to see you again and looking forward to to have you as our guest again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2017

Nice Hotel direct in City with connection to the Fjord.
Good breakfast and nice diner for free.
Rooms are nice and clean. Try to get a room at harbor side.
People are nice and friendly.
I only can say, come, see and enjoy your time.

Room tip: View to harbor.
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RichyfromAustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merethe A, Front Office Manager at Hotel Brosundet, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2018

Dear RichyfromAustria!

So sweet of you to give us this very nice review, very much appreciated. Hope to see you again very soon!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

This is a newly remodeled hotel and is still undergoing construction in areas. This did not bother us. Our room was a corner room that did not look over the water. We had nice linens, towels, and pillows and it was very clean. The shower was excellent. There was a light dinner included, which wasn't anything special - nor was the breakfast buffet. They were both served in a "cafeteria" type setting which was a bit industrial. All in all, I rather liked the look of the new modern lobby, but I can understand many others may not. We had no complaints, and found it to be a good value.

Room tip: Ask for a room facing the water
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mtmama753
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2017

We booked a upgraded room Clarion Hotel several months prior to our June visit. When we arrived we saw a sign outside the building with a new name and were told the Clarion owner sold the hotel to Brosundet. We received no notification from Clarion and what made it worse Brosundet would not honor our reservation to stay at the Clarion portion of the hotel. Instead they gave us what they called an "upgraded room" in a different building. The room was terrible in so many ways. By far the most ill conceived room lay out we had ever seen, at any hotel. We have done our fair share of both business and pleasure travel all over the world, and this one is bad. While the room was a decent size it lacked usable space. Here is why. They put the bed on an angle in a corner and this resulted as barely any room on either side of the bed. No room for a nightstand. Behind the bed they placed a twin bed with a ceiling lamp so you were basically tucked into a dark corner. Very strange. What is this space for? Who wants to relax in a dark corner with no windows. There were no real closets, no drawers to place your clothes, no hooks, no counters and an undersize desk. I found the TV remote but couldn't find the TV. Why? it was hidden under a drape. The bathroom walls are white glass. Also constructed on an angle. One glass wall is part of the shower stall that faces directly into the bedroom. They have not sealed around the cut out where the ceiling beams are located. Water sprays out of this area and it gets onto the bedroom floor and your clothes which must stay in your suitcase due to insufficient storage. They have insufficient hooks to hang wet towels, the threshold between the bath and bedroom you must constantly step over it as the surfaces are uneven. They also had a big soaking tub which was too deep and difficult to get in and out. This is an accident waiting to happen. The simple supper and breakfasts they included were really on the cheap. Way below from what we experienced at other Norway hotels. We were in Norway for a month so we have a lot to compare. Go find somewhere else to stay. I also have my doubts about every using the Clarion again as they did nothing to notify us that the hotel had been sold and was no longer even using the Clarion name.

Room tip: Go to another hotel
Date of stay: June 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews