We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Trondheim, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

- Did not heed reservation (twin beds) or contact me about it when web-form asked for phone number for such instances - had to downgrade on arrival to room facing local pub(s).
- Understaffed breakfast serving - bread, cutlery, hot dishes, eggs, bacon, fruit were constantly empty. Undersized breakfast hall - expect standing in wait of table.
- Dull part of town if you can believe it - the closest pubs were bad.
- Anything but modern - still using key cards with holes, and small CRT TVs. Unresponsive remote control not matching hotel info-channel button descriptions, just as an example of what to expect. In need of upgrading... Lamps from early 80s?
- Bathroom was good, but not properly vented so it steamed up badly from showering.

Won't trust TripAdvisor that much after this stay. (Fool me once...)

Room Tip: Call to order so you can demand/verify waterside room at least, and to make sure they understand you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larsjarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest. Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that we disappointed you. And I am sorry about the breakfast rush. Usually it is not like this, but it is not an excuse. The room is not the newest, but they are different and have the charm of an old warehouse. We will get new tv’s this upcoming fall. People have different taste, and many of our guest appreciate our service, evening meal and our waffle happy hour. Wish you a nice summer and some good hotel experience in the future. Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    176
    36
    14
    4
See reviews for
115
226
21
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

This beautifull and well maintained hotel is located right in the middle of Ålesund and in the best area to my opinion surrounded with other brilliant buildings.
We had room on the hightest floor, you could say in the attic. Very nice and comfortable. Only the bed could have been wider for two and it was too soft as well - that spoilt our sleeping quality.
Breakfast was average and OK. However the staff could not keep up with the pace. There was all the time something that was finished: bread for 15 minutes, eggs, juice etc.
With better bed and better managed breakfast could have been a five star rating.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaatinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for your writhing on Tripadvisor. It is so good to read that you like our hotel and the close location to Art Nouvean Architecture. I am sorry about the breakfast rush, we where unfortunately not good enough prepared for the summer. We have learned and we are already better. Thank you again and welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.
Best regards, Camilla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
1 review
Reviewed June 22, 2013

I cannot express my pleasure enough ...service, staff, breakfast selection.
Nothing too much trouble..even retrieved my phone that I thought I left at Oslo airport...I had!

A must..and try the seafood restaurant in block behind....but share a meal ...huge wonderful serves ..

Room Tip: Water view... Justbtiena ribbon around timber frame to avoid hitting your head inside entrance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Ron,
Thank You. Everyone is important for us and we do our best to make the stay as wonderful as possible. I am glad you enjoyed it. Thank you again and you are very welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.
Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molde, Norway
1 review
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Came to the hotel late that evening. Very nice staff. We got to see different types of rooms before we decided which one we wanted. We got one with a seaview. That was a real plasure looking out on the sea with the boats and kajacks coming and going. The hotel served, in addition to the breakfast, the famous norwegian waffels in the afternoon, and all free og charge! They also served an evening meal, also free of charge! We didn't have to go out for dinner at all that weekend. We got everything we needed for free at the hotel. The atmosphere is very nice. You feel like home when you enter the hotel, and the staff makes you feel very warmly welcome. As an extra bonus, the hotel is situated right on the seaside and in the middle or close to everything. Will strongly recommend this hotel to everybody. Signe

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank signekarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Signe,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for us on the site. It is so greatly appreciated. I am so glad you enjoyed your time, the food, the view and the atmosphere.

Welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.

Warm regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

The hotel is in a great location on the waterfront of the inner harbour. A very comfortable room. Genuine customer care by terrific staff. Accommodating guests in the lounge after check out was of great assistance as our Hurtigruten ship departed at 12.45am! The hotel is located in a converted warehouse. The ambience is fabulous. Good comfort food was on offer in the dining room - including waffles in the afternoon. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest,

What a pleasure to read your feedback about us. Thank you! :-)
I hope you one day will come back and I also hope that many other future guest will read your recommendation.

Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We arrived in Alesund from the overnight ferry from Bergen at 9AM, and were able to immediately check in and were offered breakfast. The hotel is very charming, the first floor is as comfortable as a livingroom, with a large eating area, sofas, a TV and games. You can eat all three meals at the hotel for no cost, we enjoyed their breakfast and dinner (dinner in this case was meat patties, potatoes, soup, salad, bread, meats (including the usual cured fish selections), and cheeses). Beer and wine are available for purchase. Coffee and tea service are avaialble all day. Our room faced the eel canal, with floor to ceiling windows that opened fully for fresh air. The rooms could use updating, they are just a little worn, however that hardly detracted from the experience. Staff is also fantastic, front desk reception was super helpful and kind. Great choice.

Room Tip: request a room facing the canal. you'll pay a bit more, but its more than worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biztravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest,

It is very important for us to get feedback and we really appreciate you writing about us.
We always do our best for our guest and I am so glad you mention the early check in, evening food, coffee all day long and of course our staff at the front desk.

Thank you very much and you are very welcome back to all of us working at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.

Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed here twice in a week and we had two excellent stays! The hotel has an excellent location in the nice city and the food that is included (evening meal) is very good!

We can recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArveAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time writhing about us on Tripadvisor. I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Remember that you are always welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.
Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
639 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
450 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.1 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: Apotekergata 1-3, Alesund 6004, Norway (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
#1 Business Hotel in Alesund
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Nordic Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Ålesund
Clarion Alesund
ålesund Clarion
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing