We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay in Ålesund”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Our group of 7 enjoyed 2 nights at the Clarion in July. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to learn that the hotel offered guests waffles in the afternoon and an evening meal for free on top of the breakfast buffet. We took advantage of the evening meal on the first night which consisted of a salad bar, mushroom soup, chicken and rice. The staff were quite friendly and provided our group with umbrellas. The main lobby of the hotel was quite unique with a truly Scandinavian feel to it. A sitting area off the main lobby offered a large television where we drank wine and watched the Olmpics before dinner. The rooms were clean but fairly standard. The Jugendstil art nouveau museum was quite special and the walk up to the Kniven viewpoint offered a spectacular view of Ålesund and the surrounding islands. We ate at Lyst twice as they offered a variety of sandwiches and soups, highly recommend eating there.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GydaofNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2012

Thank you very much for these nice words from you and thank you for taking time writing them. I am truly glad to hear that we manage to surprise you with our product. You and your friends are very welcome back the next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (639)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

245 - 251 of 639 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2012

We stayed 1 night in August and had a delightful stay here. The hotel interior was a clash between modern and old style, since the building itself was previously an old fishing house. Especially loved the possibility of renting a dvd player and movies for free, the free waffles and that you could borrow a fishing nod and fish out of your hotel window! The staff was very nice and professional and we will definitely come back on a next visit in Ålesund!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NatiCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you! It is awesome to read this. I m very happy that you liked our hotel this much, especially the free dvd renting, the possibilities to fish from the window, and our amazing staff.. Thank you very much and look forward to welcome you back any time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Has a beautiful room facing the canal. The hotel is superbly designed, with glass and wood. Room and bathroom were no less than enormous and super clean. Service was nice and attentive and breakfast and dinner were of very high quality and class. you can't do much better than this!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank primitivepios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Thank you for taking time giving us such a good review on tripadviser. It is good to read that you like our concept with free evening meal. I am also glad you enjoyed the size of the rooms, the cleaning and the service. Thank you again and you are welcome back the next time you are in our beautiful city, Ålesund

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in August. TV/sitting area tastefully decorated; we spent most of the time watching Olympics games. Candles lit in the evening; i need to go out for fresh air often. Free waffles in the afternoon and dinner inclusive; so the hotel price covers 3 meals which is rather reasonable.
We stayed late to catch a midnight boat after check-out; the hotel offered a very good price for dinner which is hard to find in Norway and on sunday evening when most of the restaurants are closed.
Very enjoyable and pleasant stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKHO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

I appreciate your kind comments and I am so glad that you had such a good experience during your time at our hotel. Thank you very much and welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is a wonderful hotel set in the historic area of one of Norway's most fascinating towns. It's location is great - surrounded by interesting buildings, right on the harbour (most rooms look directly into the basin) and in easy walking distance of the 'sights'.

The staff are really friendly and are keen to help tourists make the most of their stay in Alesund.

We have stayed here on another trip and both times we have had large comfortable, very clean rooms with good showers and extremely comfortable beds! Complementory waffles are available in the afternoon and a generous free buffet is provided from 18:00hrs which together with free coffee being always available sets this hotel apart from the normal chain hotels.

Breakfasts are adequate with a selection of breads and cold meats however on our most recent stay there seemed to be a very reduced selection of fish available - not to the normal Norwegian standard we were familiar with fron staying elsewhere.

We have enjoyed our stay and should we return to Alesund in the future we will not seek accomodation elsewhere!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive comment. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed so many various aspects of our hotel, and especially that you found our staff friendly and helpful. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Ålesund.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

excellent hotel, nice interior and great service from the girl at reception. Fine location, cosy details, related to sea life, all over. It makes you feel at homekes you feel at home. Overall a refreshing experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fil2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Thanks a lot for taking time writing this good review. I am so glad that you felt that our hotel was almost like home, that it is perfect. Welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Clarion Hotel in Alesund in early June 2012. It is nicely located in the city center on a quite street, with windows overlooking the channel. The room we lived in was amazingly large (actually, 2 rooms and a kitchen) with a lot of historic artifacts from the XX century – musical instruments, radios, old photos on the wall. The breakfast was nice and moreover, the price for the room included afternoon waffles (which guests prepared for themselves in the dining area) and dinner! We enjoyed the sauna and the relaxing room.

To get the highest ranking, Clarion still needs to work a bit: to have rooms better cleaned (we sometimes had an impression it was not done at all) and to replace some cheap, odd-looking furniture – and it would be a very stylish place indeed.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelnice7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2012

Thank you for giving us such good feedback. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed the room, the food and also the relaxing/sauna area. We will focus better on the cleaning and I will have in mind your opinion about the furniture. Thank you again and welcome back to Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#3 of 12 in Alesund
451 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#6 of 12 in Alesund
683 reviews
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.2 mi away
Scandic Scandinavie
Scandic Scandinavie
#7 of 12 in Alesund
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Address: Apotekergata 1-3, Alesund 6004, Norway (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen)
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alesund
#1 Luxury Hotel in Alesund
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
Price Range: $135 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 4*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Ålesund
Clarion Alesund
ålesund Clarion
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing