We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food and Staff Are Very Good--Rooms Are Average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Waimea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
572 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Food and Staff Are Very Good--Rooms Are Average”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This hotel is located on the waterfront in Old Alesund. The view from the dining room looks over the harbor and is very nice. The complimentary breakfast and dinner are quite good, but the rooms are old and tired and need refurbishment.

The staff are helpful and friendly.

Overall, the US$225+ price a night is average in this tourist city, so location and view make it worthwhile to stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigIsleFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, June 21, 2012
Thank you for taking time giving us feedback about your stay. Regarding the rooms I will take you’re advice with me. I am glad that you liked the view and the food. You are welcome back at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    346
    169
    30
    11
    2
See reviews for
105
206
18
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and the hotel is lovely, the breakfast is included as is the waffles, coffee and sott drinks in the afternoon and a light evening meal in the evening, perfect if travelling alone and dont wish to venture out too far. The rooms are fitted with everything you need except tea and coffee making facilities, however these are comp in the reception area. The only annoying thing is the light in the bathroom is on a sensor and flicks off after a few minuets. There is no bar area as such but you can purchase basic drinks from behind the reception and a small and cosy tv lounge. The rooms get very hot so turn off your heating before bed.......

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the vagen with full lengh windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeesaSikveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai,india
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We are a family of three on our first ever trip to Norway from India.Did our booking for two nights thro internet. Was not sure what surprise we were in !!!

This original old building turned into a beautiful hotel is a place to stay. Room was Large ( three adults). the room was on that is "ON" the waterfront. We could try our hand at fishing from our room itslef. It is a unique feel to see sailboats and yachts moving so close to your window. In case you are wondering about "fishing rods" ; they are available for free at the reception desk.

Special thanks to Efficient Ms. Kristine and others at the reception desk for being more than helpful. and with a BIG smile.

Let me give you a list of Goodies at this place
Lovely Breakfast
"light" Organic food Dinner has a spread ( both Veg / Non Veg /sea food) which can take care of any person.
Free Tea / Coffee and Friuts ANY time of the day.
They even have
Free Wi Fi / Umbrella and as I mentioned...... fishing rods !!!!!!!!!!

located at an easy walk from the Bus station.

We did a day trip to Gerianger from Aalesund..... A word of CAUTION here...... we had booked and prepaid the round trip on official norway website...... It turned out to be a holiday !! and they cancelled the trip without informing .... once again the staff at the hotel was very efficient and helpful to draw another plan for us......

Would come to Aalesund Just to stay at this hotel

Room Tip: Take a ground floor / basement room facing the harborfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tman2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2012

In November 2011 I was in Norway on business. It was my first visit to Alesund and my distributor booked the room for me for my 3 night stay. Don't think I could have done better in Alesund.

Staff were very friendly, nice lobby with comfortable sofa's, TV etc. Drinks can be ordered from bar at reception. Like my red wine and was very competiitvely priced (for Norway). Had a single room with balcony over the water. Next time will go for a double as I don't like single beds, even when on my own, but otherwise clean, modern and everything I need.

Breakfast was fine, more than enough for everyone's tast. Dinner is included, which is something I don't often come ac ross and I travel a lot. Was out for dinner two nights, but went with this option one night. Pretty basic, but does the job, if tired and in need of an early night.

Location cannot be better, splapbang in the middle of Alesund, Everything you need within a 5 - 10 minute walk, Even Dirty Nelly's and Irish pub, one minute away. Good place for a Guinness on a cold November night.

Will not stay anywhere else when I return. If they are full, will change my dates.

Room Tip: Go for water facing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for the good words about our hotel. The water facing rooms are just beautiful with the boats passing. It is also good to read about our friendly staff, the food and the location.
You are very welcome back to our hotel, Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen
Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trieste, Italy
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Four wonderful days in Aalesund (with a couple of tours around) and the nice feeling to come back to this hotel and find a so quiet, comfortable and relaxing room, with a magnificent view over the main channel. Great pleasure in having a cup of coffee and some waffels at the restaurant (actually free in the afternoon! - which is not bad) at just few metres from the sea... we were here in August but I can't imagine how gorgeous it should be in winter... And when you go outside the Jugendstil buildings are just in front of you. The buffet dinner is also interesting (nothing special but of good quality, if you like plain norwegian food you will find it), but try to go there at the opening so you can enjoy the highest choice.
The staff was also very kind and ready to help for any advice or suggestion.

Room Tip: If possible ask for those over the main channel at the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank krumiro19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, General Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking time writing these beautiful words about our hotel, Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen. Welcome back the next time you are in town.
Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finland
Level Contributor
149 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2011

Due to poor weather, my flight was late into Ålesund. I was just missing the free evening buffet, but at checkin which was prompt and friendly, I was told that some food would still be available despite being late. Great service !

Got upgraded to a large room with sofa area. Room was great and in good condition facing seaside.

My only remark was the TV set not being flat screen. This should be standard in any hotel !

WIFI was free and being both fast and reliable.

Breakfast was standard Choice fully suiting my needs.

All in all a great stay and I would definetely come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for a seaside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MustaPekka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear guest,
Thanks a lot for these wonderful words. We are working with the tv-setting. It is nice to read about the service we provide at front desk and that you were happy with our big rooms, Wifi, view and breakfast.
I hope you soon will be back at Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen.
Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halden, Norway
Level Contributor
188 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2011

I'm always trying to use this hotel when staying in Ålesund. It is in the center of the city, close to the water and they also have a free evening meal from 18:00 to 21:00. It is almost like a breakfast with one warm dish. Very ok.
The rooms are ok and service is great.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms against the sea, then you'll see down to the boats. vEry nice view of town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jechstra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camilla E, Manager at Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear guest,
I am so glad to read that this is your place in Ålesund.
You are always welcome.
Best regards, Camilla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Alesund hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Brosundet
Hotel Brosundet
#5 of 12 in Alesund
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.2 mi away
Scandic Parken
Scandic Parken
#2 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scandic Alesund
Scandic Alesund
#4 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Alesund
0.1 mi away
First Hotel Atlantica
First Hotel Atlantica
#7 of 12 in Alesund
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.3 mi away
Quality Hotel Waterfront Alesund
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member

Property: Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member
Address: Apotekergata 1-3, Alesund 6004, Norway (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen)
Location: Norway > Western Norway > More og Romsdal > Alesund
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Alesund
#1 Romantic Hotel in Alesund
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member 3.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Nordic Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Brosundet, an Ascend Hotel Collection Member reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Collection Ålesund
Clarion Alesund
ålesund Clarion
Clarion Collection Hotel Bryggen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing