We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food with new tastes and sometjing to look at !”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lyst

Lyst
Ranked #5 of 83 Restaurants in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scandinavian, Norwegian, International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
82 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“great food with new tastes and sometjing to look at !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

different and great food sittig at street level looking at the ppl walking by. Have to love it. very good prices considering you actually get a good portion and often whole rye bread or bread of your choice to come with it :) a sure place to go!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MissLid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    198
    47
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
206 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“Reasonable priced, delicious salad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

As I walked around Alesund, I checked the menus in the windows for when I got hungry for dinner. I like simple, healthy food at a low/medium price, which can be difficult to find in Norway with its high prices.
The cheapest places I saw (besides McDonalds, which was not a consideration), were a diner by the working harbor (hamburgers, fish and chips, etc.), a pub with an Italian menu, and Lyst. When I saw someone eating an entree salad and another with a great looking salmon dinner through the window, I chose Lyst and its 85NOK chicken salad. It wasn't huge like many American salads, just a nice plate of greens plus chicken, nuts, seeds, beans, dressing, etc. and bread on the side. It tasted great and was just enough to fill me without feeling stuffed.

A simple restaurant with simple, good food.
I think they also offer take away.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Metwo3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Delicious Fresh Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

My sister and I ate here 3 times while in Aalesund. They seemed to be open when we needed to eat unlike other restaurants. Every single thing we ordered was delicious, fresh, and of very high quality. The fish soup was creamy, savory, and altogether excellent. We also had salads, sandwiches, and meat dishes. Everything was consistently good. In addition the servers are attentive and kind. Very charming atmosphere!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BudgetTraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Limited menu, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

Intimate feeling overlooking the "walking street", small tables.

The food is good, even if the choices are a bit limited.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lilja70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midsund, Norway
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food, and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2012

The oven roasted salmon sandwich was excellent, like a salad/sandwich combination. Service was very good for a Norwegian restaurant.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Skarsbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lyst also viewed

Alesund, More og Romsdal
Alesund, More og Romsdal
 
Alesund, More og Romsdal
Alesund, More og Romsdal
 

Been to Lyst? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing