We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for lunch”
Review of Cafe Lyspunktet

Cafe Lyspunktet
Ranked #2 of 85 Restaurants in Alesund
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Lyspunktet is a locally run cafe that prides itself on it's high quality food and beverages that come with fantastic service. Most of our meals are homemade including our kids menu and large variety of gluten-free options. Our wish is for our guests to feel welcome and at home with us while enjoying everything we offer. Every one of our guests are valued at Lyspunktet and we hope everyone we cross paths with will have a positive experience with us.
Alesund, Norway
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice for lunch”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Offers very good small dishes for lunch. No alcohol as this is a Christian place run by a religious organisation. Offers good coffee.

Helpful?
Thank TorildT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    107
    19
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great food, ok ambiance, bit pricey”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed a yummy lunch of fish soup which had a bit of an Asian spice flavour and was served nice and hot! The carrot cake was delicious with a ginger kick and the large chocolate cookie soft and gooey in the middle. The coffee really is impressive, we both loved the cappuccino and latte. The dining area is fine but je ne sais quoi is missing. Lunch for two was not cheap, but quality was solid. Staff were very friendly and food came out pretty quick. Would definitely go back.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ziller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The best Café in town! Fantastic place!”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Great coffee, fantastic cakes and food, very good atmosphere and service and the price vs size is very good! If you're ever in Ålesund you HAVE to visit this place!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dtavsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“The perfect cafe!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The smiley receptionist at the Alesund hostel recommended the Lyspunktet cafe to us as a great place to have a coffee. It was the best coffee I had in a long time. We liked it so much that we didn't want or need to try anywhere else. The atmosphere is perfect - warm, inviting, happy! The carrot cake is divine. If you are only here for one visit I urge you to buy a slice! I really enjoyed the fish soup - perfect after a brisk walk up the hill. The homemade pie is tasty and comforting. The apple cake was delicious - a huge slice packed with cinnamon and all things nice. You can't fault the service either - friendly, welcoming and helpful. Good music, delicious menu, super cool staff and a relaxed atmosphere. The roaring fire finishes off the whole experience perfectly. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pip_pop79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langevåg
1 review
“very nice atmosphere!”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I love this place! I keep coming back. The people working are all so happy and welcoming. It does get quite busy though, but worth the wait! Amazing carrot cake, and reallllly nice coffee!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNorwegian_irene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Lyspunktet also viewed

Alesund, More og Romsdal
Alesund, More og Romsdal
 
Alesund, More og Romsdal
Alesund, More og Romsdal
 

Been to Cafe Lyspunktet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing