We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good traditional food.”
Review of Pingvinen

Pingvinen
Ranked #23 of 456 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Description: We do not take table reservations. We are a small place with limited amount of tables. Please come by and we will try to help you to get a seat. The busiest hours are between seven and eight. We serve dinner/lunch from 12-22, and have a night menu after 22. Welcome!
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

We ate at the Pingvenin and really enjoyed our dinner. I had the lamb sausages with potatoes and my wife had a potato and fish dish which she really enjoyed. The wait staff is very friendly and were eager to help explain Norwegian dishes. We would recommend Pingvinen on any visit to Bergen.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank ArtPhemister
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 391 of 1,596 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

Loud and lively with average, at best, fare. Good variety of beers. The pluckkfiske was disappointing. Just what you'd want if you were a college student once again.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2016 via mobile

Great dinner! The fish pie and meatballs were so good! Also loved the cheese plate. Service was a little slow but we throughly enjoyed ourselves. Definitely recommend.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank J3968PEmichelleh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2016

I had dinner here and had the housemade lamb and garlic sausages with mash and peas and caramelized onions in gravy. Delicious and a true bargain for a good and good-sized meal at $23. Their menu is small so the quality stays high.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Larry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2016 via mobile

They have an English menu and you can look at it while you wait (only 10 mins for us luckily) - I had the bacalao and my boyfriend the meatballs, both dishes looked like canteen - style food; however, the taste was amazing and portions are pretty big. Also the dessert of the day (almond cake) was super tasty! If you are in Bergen and you want to try Norwegian food without selling a kidney, I'd recommend it.

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank 535marikam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pingvinen also viewed

 

Been to Pingvinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.