We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All in Good Taste”
Review of Pingvinen

Pingvinen
Ranked #23 of 456 Restaurants in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: Norwegian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sentrum
Description: We do not take table reservations. We are a small place with limited amount of tables. Please come by and we will try to help you to get a seat. The busiest hours are between seven and eight. We serve dinner/lunch from 12-22, and have a night menu after 22. Welcome!
Reviewed July 26, 2016

A funky pub good for kids as well. The beers, scotches, liqueurs were all top notch. They use fresh, local ingredients, local cheeses and these guys and gals can cook! Nice combinations, well seasoned, familiar food with unique twists. They are not just going through the motions to put food on the table, you can really tell the pride in the Norwegian food. Potato-leek soup was creamy and delicious. The cheese plate was unique with local jams. Herring was great, no matter how you ate it. Wash it down with a nice variety of beers and aquavit. Our best meal in Bergen by far.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank travelerKyle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,595)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

422 - 426 of 1,595 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

Food was meh. Wait for food was ridiculously long. It was like they forgot about us. Didn't get either appetizer we ordered, and the server didn't come round to ask us if we wanted to order more drinks while we waited.

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

The atmosphere is lovely, the food is authentic and delicious. I had plukkfisk with some Norwegian beer, and God, I can still remember every bite and sip.

Date of visit: August 2015
1  Thank mjsbhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

This is basically a pub (almost Amsterdam brown bar-like) which does authentic, hearty Norwegian food. Sometimes has whale meat and reindeer which alas weren't on today's menu for the kids to try but there were meatballs, baked hake, macaroni fish pie, fish cakes, portobello mushrooms with goats cheese (and aforementioned steamed vegetables - broccoli, cauliflower plus two types of cabbage). Also starters like beetroot/horseradish soup, pork belly sandwiches etc. All very enjoyable. Four mains, two beers, two vodka tonics and two cokes came to 1100 NOK which like everything else in Norway is a bit eyewatering. But good quality grub, happy kids and wife. And vegetables. Did I mention the vegetables? What's with Sweden and Norway and their lack of vegetables?

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank AndrewC130
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2016

After a long day of cruising the fjords and viewing the beautiful countryside on our way to Bergen we really needed a good, hot meal, and Pingvinen really hit the spot. The tables were all full, so we found a couple of stools at the bar next to a friendly local, and enjoyed some beers from the impressive range of on-tap options (there is also a very extensive selection of bottled beers and some ciders available) while we waited for the food to arrive. The meals were a good size, a fair price, and very tasty indeed. Sorry Sweden, but these meatballs were better than yours ;) and who knew I would enjoy a pile of mushy peas so much. Yum. The fish cakes with veges & potatoes were also very well received. The only downside was that after a couple of drinks each and the meal, there was no room left for dessert. Friendly staff, a cozy vibe, and good honest meals. 5/5.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Snarky_Sandgroper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pingvinen also viewed

 

Been to Pingvinen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.