We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (867)
Filter reviews
867 results
Traveler rating
493
264
74
22
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
493
264
74
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location funky decor train station free breakfast lovely hotel fish market central location beds were very comfortable short walk rooms are small corner room three nights breakfast was delicious bergen city street noise beautiful city an easy walk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 867 reviews
Reviewed May 21, 2019 via mobile

There is a lot to like about Hotel Oleana. It’s a modern hotel with a funky/chic decor. It’s location on Øvre Ole Bulls Plass is fantastic. You can easily walk to all major Bergen sites from here. The breakfast buffet is top notch. There are many, many food, fruit and pastry options, many with a Norwegian flair. Really delicious. The staff were all friendly and helpful.

The downside is the size of the standard rooms. They are very small. We had one room with a “queen” bed and one with two twin beds. The queen bed was not queen size by US standards. The same size as two twins. The room had just enough room for the bed and two suitcases a little more. The bathroom was also small. The room with two twins was similarly sized.

The bathrooms were awkward in both rooms. In the queen room, the bathroom had a door. In the bathroom the toilet was separated by a sliding glass door. I don’t see the point in the door if it is glass. The bathroom set-up in the twin room was worse. There was no door to the bathroom and there was no door on the shower. This lack of privacy makes the room really fit for couples only.

Again, there was lots to like and if the space doesn’t matter to you, or if you spend more for a larger room, Hotel Oleana could be a great choice. But for me the room size and awkward bathrooms dropped my score to a 3.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 31HomeGames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarstenJohannesen, General Manager at Hotel Oleana, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2019

Dear Stephen T,

Thank you for taking the time to gives us us your feedback - I am pleased to read that our decor and location lived up to your expectations!

We do use European standard and not US on our furniture so our queen size beds are 160cm, our twin beds are 90cm x 2. Also we do have king beds (180cm) on some of our superior rooms and all suites. But as you wright yourself, superior, deluxe and suites cost more then standard rooms.

I am glad you also enjoyed our breakfast, and found our staff helpful and friendly.

Welcome back at a later occasion!

Best Regards
Carsten Johannesen


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2019

Spent 6 nights at the end of March early April at the Oleana. Excellent Hotel,excellent staffalways ready with a smile and a greeting,perfect location,food was excellent in the restaurant and the breakfast is just amazing.Would rebook this hotel without a second thought.
Stayed as a couple.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PhilD1577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carsten J, General Manager at Hotel Oleana, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2019

Dear PhilD1577,
Thank you for your review of Hotel Oleana, im glad to see that you would rebook with us if you ever return to Bergen.
Im happy to let you know that we are now upgrading the menu in our restaurant - so the next time you come by, we have something new for you

All the best.
Carsten & Team Oleana


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2019

Loved our stay in Bergen. Hotel Oleana is in a great location and was everything we needed from a hotel. The staff were very friendly, excellent breakfast, excellent bar. We were lucky enough to have very sunny weather

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carsten J, Daglig leder at Hotel Oleana, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Dear Deborah D,

Thank you so much for your kind words, and that you took the time to give us your feedback.
Im glad our staff, breakfast and bar was to your satisfaction.

Hopefully the sun will be out the next time you visit Bergen!

Have a nice Easter and a good weekend when the time comes!

Best Regards
Carsten & Team Oleana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2019

Book this hotel if you are prefer superb and personal service, all in all this is the best hotel in the city of Bergen. The location is right in the center of Bergen City, and the staff are excellent.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NordicChoiceHotels.com
Thank 264magne_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carsten J, Daglig leder at Hotel Oleana, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2019

Dear 264magne_,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review of your last stay here in Bergen!
I am truly honored to read you review. I agree with you that our staff and location is excellent!
Hopefully you got to try our restaurant as well.
Welcome back to Hotel Oleana at a later occasion.

Best Regards
Carsten & Team Oleana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2019 via mobile

Nice hotel with a fun, modern feel. The girl at the front desk was super nice and helpful and made many recommendation for restaurants when we asked. Within walking distance from the train station and harbor, the location is just right.
The rooms were nice but I was staying with a friend and the partially see-through shower in the middle of the room was kind of awkward, and the glass door on the bathroom was a little awkward as well. Aside from that, I would say it was a perfect hotel for an overnight in Bergen.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank MonaxLisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carsten J, General Manager at Hotel Oleana, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Dear MonaxLisa,

Thank you so much for your review of Hotel Oleana - its always a pleasure to read feedback from satisfied guests.
Im glad to see that our front office staff found suitable restaurants for you, and I hope that you gave our restaurant a chance as well!

Even though the bathroom might feel a bit awkward, hopefully you got some good nights sleep when visiting Bergen and Hotel Oleana!

Welcome back to us at a later occasion!

Best Regards
Carsten & Team Oleana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews