We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice old hotel in hillside neighborhood”
Review of Steens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steens Hotel
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We took a taxi from the train station to avoid having to drag luggage through the streets, but this hotel is an easy walk to the harbor and city center without the luggage. Situated on the edge of a small, pretty park (which the taxi driver warned us might be a bit risky to be walking around late in the evening), the hotel is in an attractive older building and appears very well-kept, inside and out.
The staff are very friendly and helpful, although their directions on how to get to the airport bus were confusing and rather misleading (perhaps it was language translation problems). They sent us to the pickup point next to the train station through a "shopping center" parking garage which we would never have recognized as a shopping center without help (just looked like a big, gray, somewhat forbidding building, unlike the rest of Bergen). I think there is an airport bus pickup point nearer the harbor that might also be nearer to the Steens Hotel, worth checking on before you make the walk from the hotel.
The hotel room we had was very clean and neat, with everything we needed, but very small, on the third floor so it was very quiet (no elevators, though). We had to laugh at the bathroom, though, which we had trouble locating, as it was through a mirrored door that was up two steps that were positioned next to the bed as though the steps were a bedside table, which we thought it was until we looked up the side of the mirror enough to notice the door handle.
Easy to see that they had to get really creative to retrofit this old building (1890s) with proper plumbing, as the bathroom, in addition to being up two steps from the bedroom (watch this, could be tricky if you have to get up during the night), was efficiently tiny. It was basically a "wet room" with a drain in the floor and a shower curtain surrounding the shower fixture on one side of the room with the sink, and the toilet on the other side of the room. Shower worked fine, but the wet floor can be a bit slippery (squeegee tool provided).
The breakfast room on the second floor was old-style grand, with rich, dark oak paneling, original wallpaper, a fireplace in one corner, and a splendid, circa-1920s, stained-glass window with traditional hunting motifs showing game birds, wild boar, and hare. The continental breakfast was fine, with a typical selection of cereals, fruit, bread, some ham and cheese, soft-boiled eggs, fruit juice, coffee, tea, etc.
They had a lovely classical musical selection playing in the background, too, which set the mood perfectly until it was marred by another guest, who decided to treat us all to sharing his laptop viewing (and listening) to some birthday party or other (family?) celebration. Very annoying (never have seen someone do that before), and I think one of the hotel staff should have politely asked him to turn down the volume or to view it in his room.
Generally, the hotel was a nice experience, and the prices were reasonable, especially if you have the Fjord Pass (check this out, the savings in room price might be worth purchasing the Fjord Pass just for this).

Room Tip: If you don't mind stairs, the upper floors might be quieter than the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pseudonym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 197 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

This hotel is near to the train station, but up a slight hill so it has fantastic views. It is really easy to get to everything in town and the staff were super helpful. Breakfast was great and the tea/coffee machine was available all day free! The rooms were comfortable with room to move around and comfortable beds! I have already told all my friends to stay here when they come to Bergen.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AliceB311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Lovely quiet neighborhood; opulent dining/sitting room. Breakfast (self-serve buffet) is not lavish but adequate. As is common in Norway, you can help yourself to coffee/tea machine at anytime. Keep in mind that walk from train/bus station is uphill, so walking may not be best choice if you have lots of baggage.
My room was clean, comfortable but not opulent. Bathroom was clean but very basic-- no shower stall, just a curtain & a drain (& a squeegee to clean up afterwards). Not unusual for Europe, but may be a shock to Americans expecting a more luxurious bathing experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manningjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This friendly hotel, situated at the top of a steep road is an old Victorian house with steep stairs to first floor where our room was located. The small room was twin bedded, clean, comfortable and quiet with good wi-fi access. Shower room was very small but with nice hot shower and good quality toilet tissue, branded soap etc. The breakfast room was full of character with attractive stained glass window, comfortable and varied choice of breakfast. It was a bonus to have a coffee lounge, with excellent choice of teas, coffees, juices and biscuits available all day!

The view of park and pond with swans from coffee lounge window was delightful, but beware, it's not a nice place to go! I took a short stroll and quickly returned to the hotel, which has coded entry for security, upon discovering it was a meeting place for a large number of drug users, alcoholics, tramps etc. I was approached in seconds for cigarettes etc. and felt decidedly uncomfortable!

All the sights of Bergen and restaurants are a few minutes walk away downhill! It is of course uphill on the way back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We were only in Bergen for one day and unfortunately it rained much of the time. The Steens hotel was a very nice spot to escape the weather. Our room was spacious and there was a beautiful skylight. However, our friends room was much smaller and their bathroom was very very small. The breakfast was great, a lot of variety. The staff was friendly. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: April 2013
Thank HikerGal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is situated a 5 to 10 mins walk up a steep hill. We got the SAS airport bus, slightly dearer than the other company. We were dropped off at a bus stop by the side of Bergen Storcenter on Fjosangerveien road. Please note that this bus only drops off there ( we nearly missed our flight home, waiting to be picked up) you have to go right around to the bus station to catch the bus back to the airport. From Fjosangervein road, walk up to the junction & turn left onto Stromgaten & follow the road right up to the top which is a dead end for vehicles. Here you find a slope & steps onto Parkveien, you will find The Steens hotel to your right. Press the bell to be let in, once you have your room key, they give you the code for the door.

The staff are young & friendly & helpful, this was noted in Bergen as a whole, every one was happy to speak in English, we saw very few old folk, made me wonder where they kept them or perhaps they move to a flatter area?

Our room was on the second floor, up two flights of carpeted stairs, with a balcony over looking the park. We had two single beds pushed together with a throw over to make it look like one bed. Single duvets, no fighting over it ! The room consisted of a T.V (most channels were in English with Norwegian sub titles) a small table, bed side cabinets, dressing table with drawers, wardrobe & another in built cupboard. Free WI FI which worked a treat.

The on-suite was very compact with a shower (pull the curtain right around, not to soak every thing) toilet, basin & built in hair dryer. The floor is tiled with under floor heating & dries really quickly especially after using the supplied window scraper. There is a shaver point, U.K residents will need a plug adapter.

Breakfast was between 7 & 9.30 AM on the first floor. No bacon & eggs but cereals, yogurts, cold meat & cheese with salad. Bread which could be toasted, fresh fruit. Apple & orange juice, tea & coffee which was on offer 24/7 via a ground coffee machine. The breakfast room had a church feel with its glass stained window & the adjoining sitting room over looked the park where you could observe the drug addicts ( we walked through the park several times & didn't get any bother, we also saw Police presence).

Unfortunately it rained while we were there. The University Museum is a short walk away, turn right out of the hotel. Every thing is with in walk able distance. Be aware that every thing cost three to four times more than the U.k or US. Our first meal - one course, a few drinks & a coffee cost around £120, take away, the following night cost around £22, with out drinks. Average one course meal £35 to £60, look around. Even one can of larger at the local co-op was four times the price & they don't sell wine.

The only thing I'd like to have had at the hotel, was a heated cloak room. We were hanging wet clothes in the bathroom & I felt guilty going up the stairs dripping every where.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Small and not too known hotel (even by the locals), close to the city centre and the University. Breakfast (eggs but no bacon) and rooms just above average, but it's in a quiet area of the city. Just be aware of the park outside is the place where the local drug addicts hangs out, They don't bother me, but might be scary at late night.Because of this the front door is always locked, and you need a code to get in. WiFi coverage was good in my room at the second floor (separate SSID for each floor)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jtbNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#2 of 51 in Bergen
719 reviews
The Hanseatic Hotel
#11 of 51 in Bergen
634 reviews
Comfort Hotel Holberg
#24 of 51 in Bergen
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Scandic Ornen
Scandic Ornen
#10 of 51 in Bergen
1,408 reviews
Hotel Park Bergen
#4 of 51 in Bergen
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steens Hotel

Address: 5007 Parkveien 22, Bergen 5007, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 51 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $102 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Steens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Steens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steens Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing