We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bergen in April”
Review of Steens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Steens Hotel
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
“Bergen in April”
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

We were only in Bergen for one day and unfortunately it rained much of the time. The Steens hotel was a very nice spot to escape the weather. Our room was spacious and there was a beautiful skylight. However, our friends room was much smaller and their bathroom was very very small. The breakfast was great, a lot of variety. The staff was friendly. Overall we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank HikerGal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    74
    30
    20
    8
See reviews for
26
91
23
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkwall
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is situated a 5 to 10 mins walk up a steep hill. We got the SAS airport bus, slightly dearer than the other company. We were dropped off at a bus stop by the side of Bergen Storcenter on Fjosangerveien road. Please note that this bus only drops off there ( we nearly missed our flight home, waiting to be picked up) you have to go right around to the bus station to catch the bus back to the airport. From Fjosangervein road, walk up to the junction & turn left onto Stromgaten & follow the road right up to the top which is a dead end for vehicles. Here you find a slope & steps onto Parkveien, you will find The Steens hotel to your right. Press the bell to be let in, once you have your room key, they give you the code for the door.

The staff are young & friendly & helpful, this was noted in Bergen as a whole, every one was happy to speak in English, we saw very few old folk, made me wonder where they kept them or perhaps they move to a flatter area?

Our room was on the second floor, up two flights of carpeted stairs, with a balcony over looking the park. We had two single beds pushed together with a throw over to make it look like one bed. Single duvets, no fighting over it ! The room consisted of a T.V (most channels were in English with Norwegian sub titles) a small table, bed side cabinets, dressing table with drawers, wardrobe & another in built cupboard. Free WI FI which worked a treat.

The on-suite was very compact with a shower (pull the curtain right around, not to soak every thing) toilet, basin & built in hair dryer. The floor is tiled with under floor heating & dries really quickly especially after using the supplied window scraper. There is a shaver point, U.K residents will need a plug adapter.

Breakfast was between 7 & 9.30 AM on the first floor. No bacon & eggs but cereals, yogurts, cold meat & cheese with salad. Bread which could be toasted, fresh fruit. Apple & orange juice, tea & coffee which was on offer 24/7 via a ground coffee machine. The breakfast room had a church feel with its glass stained window & the adjoining sitting room over looked the park where you could observe the drug addicts ( we walked through the park several times & didn't get any bother, we also saw Police presence).

Unfortunately it rained while we were there. The University Museum is a short walk away, turn right out of the hotel. Every thing is with in walk able distance. Be aware that every thing cost three to four times more than the U.k or US. Our first meal - one course, a few drinks & a coffee cost around £120, take away, the following night cost around £22, with out drinks. Average one course meal £35 to £60, look around. Even one can of larger at the local co-op was four times the price & they don't sell wine.

The only thing I'd like to have had at the hotel, was a heated cloak room. We were hanging wet clothes in the bathroom & I felt guilty going up the stairs dripping every where.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Small and not too known hotel (even by the locals), close to the city centre and the University. Breakfast (eggs but no bacon) and rooms just above average, but it's in a quiet area of the city. Just be aware of the park outside is the place where the local drug addicts hangs out, They don't bother me, but might be scary at late night.Because of this the front door is always locked, and you need a code to get in. WiFi coverage was good in my room at the second floor (separate SSID for each floor)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtbNorway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

The house is nicely situated and not too far from anything!Nextdoor is a park which will make it even nicer in summer.There were strange characters hanging about...but one can walk the other way!
The tea-and breakfast room is very old fashioned pretty with dark woodpanelling and lovely old wallpapers.
The lady I was welcomed by was very friendly and thus I do recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Cornelia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in January. It's a 5-10 min walk from the railway station, and about a similar distance into town. There is a small supermarket about 3 mins away.

The hotel itself is quiet, clean and charming - and the staff friendly. They were happy to store our luggage whilst we went skiing in Voss over night.

Our room was a good size, warm, tv, sofa, small desk - it was actually really cute.
Ensuite was small but a wonderfully good, hot shower and underfloor heating which was wonderful for cold feet after a day spend exploring Bergen.

The breakfast was standard (cold meats, cheese, breads and yoghurts) and for the price, some hot food would have been nice to set us up for the cold days ahead - but the food which was served was fresh and tasty.

Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traceytravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic place! Tucked away in a beautiful building and a gorgeous view of a park ad lake! The people who run it are just lovely and although we weren't due to check in till after 12 , we got there at 7am when our train got in and he let us check in straight away and even gave us the option of breakfast which was already included in our price for the next two days! The room was lovely, warm and very cosy! Very spacious and all t yeah amenities! An area even to put wet shoes! They offer free tea and coffee all day! Great breakfast in the , morning and all very relaxed! A little gem iof Bergen!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rakhee s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oxford
Level 6 Contributor
368 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Excellent location and fantastic helpful staff. Very good breakfast and the building is beautiful. The downside is that the rooms are on the small side but certainly ok for a night. The stairs are steep. The receptionist let us lock our bags in a cupboard so we only carried necessities up the stairs- to be fair she also offered help to carry baggage. She also recommended a local restaurant and for this we are eternally grateful- just two blocks away and fish to die for. It's called Hanne pa hoyden. Best to book in advance - we were lucky to get a table.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GlinysW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Hotel Park Bergen
#2 of 49 in Bergen
542 reviews
Sentrum
Grand Hotel Terminus
Grand Hotel Terminus
#18 of 49 in Bergen
904 reviews
Vågen
Augustin Hotel
Augustin Hotel
#15 of 49 in Bergen
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#5 of 49 in Bergen
633 reviews
Sentrum
Scandic Byparken
Scandic Byparken
#19 of 49 in Bergen
885 reviews
Basic Hotel Bergen
#27 of 49 in Bergen
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steens Hotel

Property: Steens Hotel
Address: 5007 Parkveien 22, Bergen 5007, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Steens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Steens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steens Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing