We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
InCity Hotel and Apartments
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Dirty, run down, beds ready to fall apart that fit 5 ft people and worst of all totally misleading pictures, travel advisor should do something about this. Only good thing is it's location but it should be categorized under youth hostel as opposed to hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 155 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel is on a pretty street, centrally located in Bergen. They include breakfast which is served at the restaurant next door and fairly good, but not as good as other hotels we stayed at in Scandinavia. Our apartment was on the 7th floor and we had a nice view over the city towards the university. The bathroom was huge and the bedrooms were tiny, really tiny, there was an inch between the foot of the bed and the wall. But the eat in living room was a good size and the kitchen was well equipped and everything was clean. There was a windowless dining room in the middle of the apartment which was a waste of space. The bedroom windows opened onto an outside corridor. Unfortunately the Thon hotel which backs onto the Incity is being renovated so we had loud building noises in the early morning but not on the weekend. The best part about this hotel is the kitchen, we had already been touring Scandinavia for 2 weeks and we were bleeding money every time we ate out. There is a supermarket 2 blocks from the hotel and we were able to cook both nights, meals for 4 that cost less than a salad for one in a restaurant. It was worth every penny for that alone. We also managed to be there the first week the university was back and there was lots of loud drinking and singing into the wee hours from the bars and square below the apartment. The heavy rain helped block that out though. Don't be put off by the tiny lobby and front desk, remember the kitchen.

Room Tip: Save some money and eat in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cararmme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel is right in the centre of the city, close to the sights. It is well equipped with a small kitchen. Good size room and bathroom. Lots of cupboards and wardrobe. Breakfast in the restaurant next door. Close to parking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S70Kj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

The entrance looked like a disco, dark and dirty: the moquette was terribly stained and dusty, the staff cold. The elevator dirty, old and badly painted, just as if it was 50 years from last renovation. The worst was the aisle to bedrooms: it looked like a prison, with outside corridors faced the opposite building, with a sad courtyard with pipeline everywhere; the corridors looked libe to bring you in noone`s land. Our bedroom was fine, looked clean, but the noise coming from outside was incredible: it seemed that all young people were gathering there, in the square below, and screameng with non interrruption.The noise lasted till 4 in the night. It was hard to sleep. Breakfast: poor. Eggs looked like plastic. Price: very expensibe for the quality they give.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cristina393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

At NOK 1400 this hotel does not offer much, our room had an outdoor entrance which they don't show you on their website, you have to walk outside on each floor and it felt like a motel if not a hostel. The breakfast was a bit modest and poor supplied, people were waiting for the staff to bring more food, it was a bit uncomfortable. Then the service......we dealt with 2 different receptionist and they were both moody, snappy, and not helpful at all. We moved the second night to Grand Terminus Hotel in front of the train station, we only booked it because it was cheaper and was dissapointed with Incity Hotel. We we pleasantly surprised if not shocked of how amazing this hotel was. It is a historical building, nice upadated, it felt like Four Seasons hotel next to Incity, the rooms were fabulous, teh breakfast was sumptious and the staff was nice......ah and it was NOK 200 cheaper plus they had free computers and coffee and tea.....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bella134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed one night in a studio apartment. It was basic but spotless, spacious and comfortable. There was no wifi in our room, but the hotel was able to provide a Ethernet cable for a laptop. The hotel is in an excellent location, just a few minutes walk from Bryggen, and less than 10 minutes walk from the train station. Breakfast was fantastic, with a large selection of very good quality. Although not cheap, it was very reasonable by Bergen, and Norwegian standards.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank danielct156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank DKM0226
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bergen hotels
Scandic Strand
#36 of 49 in Bergen
731 reviews
Sentrum
Magic Hotel Xhibition
Magic Hotel Xhibition
#41 of 49 in Bergen
25 reviews
Sentrum
Hotel Oleana
Hotel Oleana
#4 of 49 in Bergen
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sentrum
Thon Hotel Bristol Bergen
Vågen
Bergen Bors Hotel
Bergen Bors Hotel
#16 of 49 in Bergen
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InCity Hotel and Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InCity Hotel and Apartments

Address: Oevre Ole Bulls Plass 3, Bergen 5012, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Hordaland > Bergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 49 Hotels in Bergen
Price Range: $132 - $214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Incity Hotel. Incity Hotel and Apartments is situated in the heart of Bergen. You’ll find us in the cultural main street of town with theatres and concert venues right outside your door. Our apartments are of high standard, modern and fashionable. Our rooms are fully equipped and include everything you need to make your stay as comfortable as possible. You can choose between Studio, 1 or 2 bedroom apartments. You’ll find something to suit all needs for business travellers, couples, families and so on. Stay for a day, a week or as long as you want! Please contact us for information and prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your InCity Hotel and Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Incity Hotel Bergen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing