We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (218)
Filter reviews
218 results
Traveler rating
77
107
28
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
107
28
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main bus extra towels communal kitchen budget hotel call button city box human interaction fuss free coin operated clean place to stay clean room and bathroom the ground floor check in process room card train station walking distance nice lounge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 218 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2019

The self check in was simple and easy. Room was not too small and beds were comfortable. However, there was nobody to clean our room or empty the bin during our two days stay. It was within walking distance to parks and museums and malls. There was a supermarket across the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sllim2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityboxBergen, Daglig leder at Citybox Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2019

Dear sllim2015,

Disappointed to read that you weren't all happy with your stay with us!

We understand that our concept is not for everyone as we know we are different. We try to be totally honest about what we aim to be, and we remove/reduce and minimize to keep our running costs low - and in return we offer a lower price than most of our competitors.
It is right that we don't service the rooms every day, but we are more than happy to help you with clean towels or an empty garbage bin if you ask us at the Citybox Host office in the lobby.

We hope that you would give us a second chance, should you ever come back to Bergen, and we wish you a nice day!

Best regards
Citybox Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2019

This is not the same "excellent" rating that I would give to a luxury resort with all of the amenities. Rather, I am evaluating Citybox Bergen on providing exactly the experience it advertised: a budget-friendly option in a notoriously pricey part of the world, and accommodations where the cost savings come from cutting frills and amenities but not basic quality. In the US, picking the cheapest hotel/motel usually means I'm worried about cleanliness (will there be stains on the sheets... or bedbugs?) and location (is it in a safe area? near a noisy highway?). Citybox Bergen was on a quiet street near a hip cafe, and our room was tidy and spotless. The bed was quite comfortable, and while there wasn't much in the way of decoration and storage, we weren't expecting that based on the marketing.

The automated check-in process was seamless, so we didn't miss the concierge either. The hotel is walking distance from parks, museums, and the historic waterfront area, so the combination of location and price point made this an exceptionally good deal. I hope this model is expanded to more cities and countries, as Citybox was perfect for a couple of students traveling on a budget who wanted to stay safe and be comfortable.

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 650julia2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityboxBergen, Daglig leder at Citybox Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2019

Dear 650julia2017,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a thorough review of our hotel!

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you felt that you got good value for money, as that is one of our goals :)
You are correct when you say that we are a self-service hotel, however, at any given time, there is a staff member at the hotel which can be contacted should there be anything you as a guest would like for us to help you with. It is also possible to chat directly with us on our Facebook page - and we have a digital concierge with a helpful Q&A about Citybox and Bergen, and recommendations for food, activities and events.

We hope you enjoyed your time in Bergen, and we hope to welcome you back someday!

Best regards
Citybox Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2019

For a 3-star hotel, I would expect to clean at least one time our room while staying there for 4 days. Nobody changed the sheets, the towels or threw out the trash. Also, it was too noisy to sleep due to the ventilation which we could not control and the vacuum cleaner they put in the hall at 0830 in the morning!! When somebody was closing the door of their room the whole 2nd floor of the building was shaking. Everything is built with very cheap materials with no noise insulation, so if you plan to relax in Bergen don't go there!

Room tip: Many rooms don't have any view of the city, room 231, for example, had a view to the back of a shop.
Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StavrosD1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityboxBergen, Daglig leder at Citybox Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2019

Dear StavrosD1924,

We are so sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us!

We understand that our concept is not for everyone as we know we are different. We are totally honest about what we try to do, and we remove/reduce and minimize to keep our running costs low - and in return we offer a lower price than most of our competitors.

Regarding the noice in your room, we do hope that you spoke to our Citybox Host so that they were able to help you with this? To be able to have enough rooms ready for check-in at 15:00, we do have to start cleaning at 8:00, but we are very sorry if we disturbed you!

We are also very sorry if other guests very being noicy in the hallways, we always try to maintain a quiet environment at the hotel, but we do rely on our guests to tell us immediately if there is a disturbance, so that we can take action right away.

As mentioned before, we totally understand that our concept is not for everyone, and we are aware that we are different from most hotels - and we are actually proud of it!
But stripped down simple and modern solutions is not for everyone, and if you prefer the old fashioned type of hotels - we can relate! Sometimes you want the full service experience, but unfortunately that solution is also more expensive! :)

Thanks for your feedback though, and we do hope your visit to Bergen was an otherwise pleasant one.

Best regards
Citybox Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2019 via mobile

My son and I stayed here for 1 night whilst travelling the length and bredth of Norway on a father and son trip. Citybox Bergan was a nice hotel and good value. I would describe the room as compact but clean and comfortable. Great budget hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityboxBergen, Daglig leder at Citybox Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2019

Dear Mark S,

Thank you for your kind words and your kind rating!

We are delighted to hear that our hotel was to your liking, and that you seem to like our concept :)

We hope to welcome you back some time, and we wish you a nice day!

Kind regards
Citybox Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2019 via mobile

we travelled to Bergen, Norway and stayed at Citybox for 5 nights. We had a large family room which was perfect, very clean and so quiet! the staff are there but not in your face, we were given a kettle for the room to save us keep going downstairs..
the Citybox is basic but ideal. it is in a perfect position for visiting Bergen.
what a great city... easy to get to from the airport.. will definitely return and stay at Citybox....

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank natalie732019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityboxBergen, Daglig leder at Citybox Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2019

Dear natalie732019

Thanks for your very kind review of our hotel!

We just love reading feedback from guests that seems to understand and appreciate our concept! We really do our best to offer a simple and modern solution at what we consider to be a fair rate, so when our guests feel we offer them just that - we are nothing but smiles


We wish you a nice day, and we thank you again for writing such a nice review!

Kind regards
Citybox Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews