We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (211)
Filter reviews
213 results
Traveler rating
77
104
26
1
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
77
104
26
1
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews main bus extra towels budget hotel communal kitchen call button city box human interaction fuss free coin operated clean place to stay clean room and bathroom the ground floor room card check in process train station walking distance nice lounge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 213 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2018

This is a new hotel concept with a digital reception. The machine at the entrance did was not always clear, some guest had trouble understanding it. Room are small, however clean and comfortable. Breakfast is not provided but you can go next door there a place that serves breakfast with a small choice of fresh breakfast. Eggs are made on demand so freshly backed.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank JeanPaulvR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityboxBergen, Daglig leder at Citybox Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Dear JeanPaulvR,

Thank you for your kind rating.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our concept, as well as our rooms :)
It is tru that we do not have breakfast with our rooms, and this is because we do not have a restaurant at the hotel. However, we have teamed up with our neighbour; Nedre Nygaard, where our guests get a 10% discount on breakfast and lunch if they show their room key. Guests also receive a 10% discount on pizzas at restaurant Hoggorm, when showing their room key :)

Thank you again, for taking the time to write a review. We wish you a nice weekend!

Warm regards
Citybox Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

As per my review of Otybox Oslo, this is a similar type of property. Well located, well priced, has similar automated check in which works well, friendly staff available for assistance if required..
A great small hotel with the necessary facilities without being over the top.
I would definitely stay again

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 157Paulf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityboxBergen, Daglig leder at Citybox Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Dear 157Paulf,

We just love reading feedback from guests that seems to understand and appreciate our concept! We really do our best to offer a simple and modern solution at what we consider to be a fair rate, so when our guests feel we offer them just that - we are nothing but smiles :)

We thank you for choosing Citybox, and we do hope to welcome you back one day!

Kind regards
Citybox Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018 via mobile

Pros - I loved the self check in, I love the fact that I didn't have to deal with anyone and I can just pay and stay in the room. The room was nice and had a lovely view. Shared kitchen was clean, had everything you need. Convenient place as it's close to shopping centre and across the museum. It's 15 minutes walk from city centre. Modern rooms and common areas.

Con - Microwave wasn't working.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank Xplorer_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityboxBergen, Daglig leder at Citybox Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Dear Xplorer_Adventurer,

Thank you for your kind rating!

We agree, we also love the self-service check-in machines, they are perfect for just the reason you mention ;) However, should one wish to talk to a human being, we do have Citybox Hosts available at the hotel 24/7, in our Host Office which is located on the first floor of the hotel :)

Unfortunately, our microwave just couldn't stand the heath any longer, so he decided to give up - the service industry can be tough!
However, we've splurged on a new and younger model, and we are impatiently awaiting it's arrival, and hopefully, this one decides to work with us a little longer than the previous one :)

We thank you for choosing Citybox as your hotel in Bergen, and we wish you a nice weekend!

Warm regards
Citybox Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2018 via mobile

Pros:
Great bed, good heater and amazing shower.
Cool stuff to have a self service checkin (specially for us that arrived late in the night).
Great location - you have a 7-23 supermarket in front of it, cool bars a few meters away and you’re really close to Bergen’s squares and harbor (around 10min on foot)
Cons:
The shower gets the bathroom a bit wet, so we had to get extra towels. You’ll eventually hear your neighbors opening/closing their doors and we had apparently a troll in the upper floor (the heavy steps can’t belong to a regular human being).

Having bad neighbors can’t be put on the hotel, so I still strongly recommend Citybox when in Bergen!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Patriciabrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityboxBergen, Daglig leder at Citybox Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2018

Dear Patriciabrm,

Wow, thank you for giving us a 5 out of 5 rating!

We just love reading feedback from guests that seems to understand and appreciate our concept!
We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our self-service check-in machines, as we are quite prouf of that solution :)

We are however, sorry to hear that you were unfortunate enough to have a Norwegian troll in the room above you, but you'll be glad to hear that we were able to re-locate him to a nice, spacious cave in the forrest on top of mount Fløyen ;)

We hope to welcome you back one day, and we wish you a nice weekend!

Kind regards
Citybox Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2018

WINS:
* Super easy check in - which was automated. Make sure you have your confirmation # so you can enter the hotel door then check in via the check in kiosk.
* Surprisingly super spacious rooms, with lots of power plugs - which was very convenient.
* Shared common spaces looked clean
* Grocery (Kiwimary) just across the street and several restaurants close by
* 3-4 minute walking distance to bus station - so quite convenient

FYI:
This is a hotel of the future - so don't expect the usual hotel with a front desk manned by at least 2 people. There is no front desk - but rather, a phone you buzz for any help you need

Laundry is available but closes at 8PM

Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Nicolejvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityboxBergen, Daglig leder at Citybox Bergen, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2018

Dear Nicolejvy,

Thanks for your kind review of our hotel!

We just love reading feedback from guests that seems to understand and appreciate our concept!
And as a part of that conept, we do not have a traditional reception, but we do have a Citybox Host available at the hotel 24/7, and he/she will magically appear when needed :) It is possible to contact our Citybox Host either by using the calling button, which is located next to the check in machines, or by calling/e-mailing/chatting. We also have an Host Office on the first floor fo the hotel, where our Citybox Host is available should one wish to talk to us directly.

It is correct that we offer a self-service laundry room, where guests can use a washing machine or a tumble dryer for 50NOK/machine. Washing powder is provided. The laundry room is open every day between 9AM and 9PM.

We thank you for choosing Citybox as your hotel in Bergen, and we wish you a nice week!

Kind regards
Citybox Bergen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews